We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice suite for Xmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Place Hotel to your Saves list
Waterfront Place Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501-5958   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Nice suite for Xmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This was a great place to stay for a family get together . We hosted a small 7 people dinner in room And it was a perfect size. Indoor pool inside, and a few walk to restaurants. I absolutely would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    120
    48
    21
    8
See reviews for
95
78
24
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Waterfront Place Hotel offers a number of room designs and prices that can fit many budgets. Though we live in Morgantown, we've often stayed here following special events and find them very friendly and accommodating. Our river-view standard room was quite nice at
$129 and had what you need for a short stay. The Regatta restaurant is lovely and relaxing and the buffet is a nice option if you don't want to order a la carte. Valet parking is complimentary if you're eating at the Regatta.

The location is convenient, but you'll need a car no matter where you're heading in the Morgantown area.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your wonderful comments about the hotel and your river view accommodations, and we truly value your continued patronage.

We look forward to making your next stay just as enjoyable as the last and wish you Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at the Waterfront Place Hotel in November, 2014, and we were far from impressed.

We got a room with a view of the river, and it was pretty basic with most of the expected amenities. (No in-room fridge or mini-bar.)

The hotel was really poorly designed. The parking (which hotel guests pay for on a daily basis) is on the other side of the conference center. We had only one meal at the hotel restaurant, breakfast, and it was really greasy. The staff were uninterested college students. The bar in the hotel was closing when we wanted to go on evening.

The pool and gym area were nice, and the internet (no wifi) is fast.The hotel is located within walking distance of the downtown area, which is a bonus.

I think the hotel could do much more to improve the experience for its guests. Better food in the restaurant, complimentary parking/valet services, etc.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedBird1985, General Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Virginiafgreen,
Thank you for your feedback and taking time to review our hotel. You will be happy to hear we have an upcoming room renovation starting this summer. Refrigerators will be added to all guest rooms. The fitness center will be expanded with all new equipment. We will also be adding an Executive Lounge as an upgraded experience.
Hope to see you again on your next trip to Wild and Wonderful West Virginia!
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice and clean property. Excellent staff at the front door, front desk, and the bar ...very courteous and attentive, especially Stacy! Very reasonably priced with nice rooms and close to downtown Morgantown.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedBird1985, General Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Gingerbreadmanwv,
Thank you for staying with us on your trip to Morgantown. I will share your comments with the team. Stacy is an outstanding team member and takes great care of our guests. Hope to see you soon.
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As upscale as you are going to find in Morgantown. All of the visiting Big 12 teams stay here and it is very nice. The breakfast buffet is a favorite of mine. Very nice all the way around. Just a great upscale hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedBird1985, General Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear BrianN3,
Thank you so much for the kind comments. We are proud of our University and our Conference. Thank you for your business, we will see you on your next trip to Morgantown.
Warm Regards
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A very nice hotel with fairly reasonable prices. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. The staff is very friendly and generally knowledgeable. The restaurant and room service are good. Overall, a comfortable stay

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind words regarding our accommodations, restaurant, and staff. We have a wonderful team and are proud of the experience they provide. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to making your future stays just as comfortable.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly Knowledgeable staff. immaculant Hotel. Rooms were clean, Fresh and Modern. Hotel Bar was nice. defineately the place to stay in Morgantown. Would recommend this to all of my Friends. Check out the Hotel Bar for Good Food and Drinks

Room Tip: Had a 4th Floor King suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Brian B.,

We appreciate you taking a moment to comment on your experiences at the Waterfront Place Hotel. Your wonderful comments, and recommendation, regarding the hotel are truly valued, and I will be sure to share your words with our entire team.

We look forward to seeing you again at the Waterfront Place Hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Place Hotel

Address: 2 Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501-5958
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#3 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#3 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waterfront Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.