We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morgantown's best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Place Hotel to your Saves list
Waterfront Place Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Two Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501-5958   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
woodbine, MD
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Morgantown's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our daughter is student at WVU, and having stayed at MANY hotels in this area, the Waterfront is the front runner in in terms of location to the University (downtown campus).-it is not close to the stadium however so you need alternate transportation if you are coming for a football game. If you are a runner/biker, the paths that run in front of the river and run for I think over 50 miles are wonderful. There are also a couple of nice nearby restaurants within fast walking distance to the hotel to sit outside by the water. Rooms are comfortable and very roomy, staff (especially front desk clerk Haley Peters!) is wonderful to work with. We had a bathroom repair when we checked in and it was fixed within 10 minutes of us reporting it. It has a Marriott/Sheraton feel, which I believe it will become after it's renovation. Nice roomy lobby, across from the WVU visitors center. Only thing lacking was a refrigerator in the room. You can get one, but it is 10 bucks which I think is kind of petty for a hotel of this caliber. Hopefully the new owners will re-consider this amenity

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review your Waterfront Place Hotel stay. We truly value your wonderful remarks about the hotel’s location and accommodations, and we hope to see you again when you next visit your daughter at WVU.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    116
    46
    21
    8
See reviews for
93
73
24
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We booked this hotel to go to after a Class V white water rafting trip, and it was well-deserved. I knew we would need a good shower, which this hotel provided. We found the hot tub in connection with the pool to be fantastic and helped soothe my sore muscles. We were able to walk to dinner and tour Morgantown easily. The staff at the hotel was helpful and super friendly. The bedding was so comfortable, and we didn't hear anything from the neighboring rooms. The only thing I wish this hotel had was a plushy bathrobe. Other than that, it was fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Emma K.,
Thank you for your excellent comments in regards to your recent stay. I am glad to hear our guestrooms and amenities were soothing after your rafting trip, and I hope you will stay with us again the next time you hit the rapids!

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsboro, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at the Waterfront for our anniversary. The room was nice when we checked in and had a great view. When we returned on our second day we found that our room had not had maid service. We did not report it at this time and chose to tell them at checkout and all we got was "sorry". We will not let this spoil our trip and will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Lori V.,
Thank you for your recent review and for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and the view as well.

Please accept my apologies for both the lack of maid service your second day and the response you received. Both of the issues you encountered are below our service standard, and they will be addressed. Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to your return journey.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for a conference. The service was excellent! Rooms were great.... Spacious. Only thing I would recommend is a refrigerator and microwave in every room! Staff was exceptional. I was impressed with the entire visit. I totally recommend this place for future stays in the area. It is conveniently located close to anything you would need, but enough out of the way so you don't have to worry about the noise and traffic. The conference set up was great too. Valet parking a plus! Paid conference price... So I had a great deal. The view is amazing. There is a place to walk out back along the river. Check the Waterfront Place out!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Andrea C.,

We greatly appreciate your wonderful remarks in regards to your conference and hotel experiences. It pleases me to hear you enjoyed multiple hotel amenities during the conference, too. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to see you again at the Waterfront Place Hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very good service. Spacious rooms that are clean and up to date. Quiet, nice bedding and mattresses. Decent indoor pool with hot tub. Close to restaurants and bike/walking trail along the river. Good bar and restaurant on site. A very good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Waterfront Place Hotel. We appreciate your excellent comments, and we hope to see you for a future stay at the Waterfront.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frrdonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stopped here to rest for the night after driving for several hours with the kids. The hotel was definitely more than expected. I was both impressed and annoyed. The hotel sat along a gorgeous waterway and was enormous. Parking was a bit confusing and it cost 6.00 per day to park at their hotel. The room was clean and very spacious, but it didn't have a refrigerator. We had a view of the roof mostly with a peak of the waterway. The pool and hot tub were nice. The hot tub was very large and the kids loved it. The pool was also quite warm, but the floor felt gritty. The hotel offered a few restaurants to choose from, but we couldn't afford any of that with our 4 kids. It would be wonderful for a romantic trip though. The beds were cozy and comfortable. The hotel was bright and the staff were all inviting and helpful. It was worth the stop for the night.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Julie D.,

Thank you for the kind words regarding our hotel accommodations, services, and staff. I am pleased to hear your family was able to enjoy the indoor pool and rest for the evening, and I hope you will visit us again the next time you pass through Morgantown.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Morgantown is one of my favorite places and the Waterfront Place is my new favorite hotel in town. I have stayed there twice this year. Both stays were great; spectacular staff, modern look and feel and a complimentary shuttle to drop you off downtown.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review regarding your Waterfront Place Hotel experiences. We value your patronage and look forward to making your future stays just as enjoyable as past stays.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Place Hotel

Address: Two Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501-5958
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#3 Business Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Family Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Waterfront Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.