We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice....at first look” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Place Hotel to your Saves list
Waterfront Place Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501-5958   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice....at first look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

When we first arrived, I thought....wow, this is a nice place. Lots of conference space, a restaurant, parking buildings and a nice location.
However, a closer look found worn furniture, holes in linens, small stains in carpet & a room in need of a fresh coat of paint.

It was quiet and the location allowed us to walk the nice paved trail to very close restaurants along the water front & have a drink with not needing a designated driver.

We will stay here again in the future & recommend to others, based on the fact that it was very clean.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Brennon,
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at Waterfront Place Hotel. We are grateful for your recommendation to other travelers, and we look forward to seeing you again at the Waterfront.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    130
    51
    24
    10
See reviews for
104
84
26
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

What a wonderful hotel! Walking distance (along the river) to some wonderful restaurants (we went to Oliverio's) but hotel also offers a shuttle service. The rooms are large with large bathrooms; bed very comfortable with multiple pillows to choose from (very fluffy to nice and soft). Pool large with hot tub adjoining. The location is not far off the interstate and just down from the University of West Virginia. Antique shops a very short drive and we not only were browsers but also customers. The ONLY negative was the breakfast buffet and this is MINOR complaint. While there was a variety and a fresh omelet/eggs-made-to-order bar, it was a small enclosed space and only one person making omelets...long line. And take our advice and spend the extra for the river view!

Room Tip: The higher you go is not necessarily better...We were on the third floor so our river view was lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review regarding our river view rooms and amenities. We appreciate you taking time to review your stay, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is the 3rd time I've stayed at The Waterfront Place hotel. The beds are Comfy and clean. One of the main reasons I book here is because it has 2 great restaurants and bars. We had the prime rib and crab leg buffet and it was fabulous! We were disappointed that the Rat pack bar closed early all 3 nights. It's really the gem of the hotel. Our bartender told us about the free shuttle service the second night of our stay. We wish we would have known about it on other stays. Maid service was a little disappointing. We are late sleepers, so we put the do not disturb sign on the door. The problem was that they never came back later to tidy up and I had to ask for fresh towels to be brought up. My son ended up staying with us for 2 nights so we asked for a roll out bed and they don't have any. All minor issues, and overall we loved the hotel. I wouldn't however pay the $300/night they want to charge for graduation weekend. So we will be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Tina C.,
Your kind remarks regarding your recent stays at the Waterfront are greatly appreciated. Your patronage is incredibly important to us, and we hope to make your future stays just as enjoyable as your past stays.

Thank you for mentioning the issues you had during your stay. Guest comments like yours provide us the opportunity to continually improve the guest experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was here for a meeting; Staff were extremely accommodating and the rooms were in great condition! The bathrooms were very spacious, which is rare in hotels these days. Location was great, very easy to access and was within driving distance of WVU campus and other Morgantown attractions. The only negative I would say is parking. The parking garage is quite a distance away from the hotel and if you have a lot of luggage, could be difficult; however, there is valet parking if you're willing to pay for it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Michelle,
Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay. We value your polite remarks regarding our property, and we look forward to seeing you again at the Waterfront Place Hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is very easy to get to when traveling through the area. It is modern, very clean well appointed, the beds are comfy and the bathroom shower and linens very nice. It has a very acceptable restaurant, regatta and it has a separate bar/lounge. We enjoy the hotel, the staff and their professionalism and friendliness. Ir is a winner for us.

Mary Alice
Lewiston, ny

Room Tip: We get the suite, a great value, a larger bath room and a separate living. Both living room and bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Mary Alice,
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding our hotel accommodations, restaurant, and staff. Thank you for your excellent review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The beds were very comfortable and the staff was very nice. I just wish housekeeping hadnt started knocking on our door at 9am since we had the do not disturb sign up and were checking out that day. Seems unnecessary to bother us so early.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Erica S.,
Thank you for your recent review. On behalf of the hotel, please accept my apologies for the disturbances you encountered in the morning. Our Executive Housekeeper will address this issue with our Housekeeping team to ensure it does not occur again.

We hope to see you again at the Waterfront.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was in Morgantown for a conference and stayed here. The rooms were nice and clean. We had a great experience with the staff when an issue arose. However, there are little amenities for the price as others have noted. It is a short walk to several restaurants by the river and to the university campus.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review your Waterfront Place Hotel experience. Your kind words regarding our staff and rooms are appreciated, and we hope to see you again at the Waterfront.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Place Hotel

Address: 2 Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501-5958
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Family Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Waterfront Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.