We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location with Convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Place Hotel to your Saves list
Waterfront Place Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501-5958   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location with Convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed there 2nd week of November. Beautiful lobby, room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely view of the river. Many local pubs and restaurants were within easy walking distance and all were a good value! There was even a well stocked grocery store within a mile. The hotel had a well equipped gym, which I used a few times, and an indoor pool, which I did not get to use. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its convenience and cleanliness!

Room Tip: Either side of the hotel gives either a view of the city or the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Barbi0216 – We greatly appreciate the excellent review regarding your recent Waterfront Place Hotel experience. I am happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the fitness facilities. Hopefully you will have an opportunity to use the indoor pool during a future visit! We hope to see you again.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    119
    48
    21
    8
See reviews for
95
77
24
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Ok, the Waterfront is a nice hotel but it's a total rip off. My boyfriend, all his friends, and I stayed there last weekend for the Texas football game. We reserved two rooms for two nights last year when the football schedule was announced. We were quoted a rate and were happy with it. Well, when we showed up to check-in the rate had DOUBLED! Not cool. For all that money you'd think we'd get some complimentary breakfast or at least there'd be a microfrige in the room...nada! Also, they promised a complimentary shuttle to take us downtown to the bars and restaurants (since it's a ways away from all of that) and we waited and waited...and waited...and finally we just hitched a ride with strangers. However, there was free parking, I'll give them that. All in all, you can definitely find a cheaper hotel that's just as nice with much more amenities in Morgantown. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Kate S,

Let me apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our complimentary shuttle. If the shuttle was running behind, an estimated wait time should have been communicated to you. Unfortunately, traffic in Morgantown increases exponentially on WVU football weekends which may cause delays.

We value all guest reviews, both positive and negative, and we use them as a tool to provide the best guest experience possible. We hope you will allow us a second opportunity to provide the services to which our guests are accustomed.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Waterfront Hotel on October 19th after watching the Texas Tech - West Virginia football game and were treated to an extremely classy and terrific stay! The staff was excellent in helping us decide what restaurants to eat at near the hotel and also welcomed us warmly as out of town visiting guests. One of the things that caught our attention was the display of the WVU and Texas Tech flags in the lobby and the Texas Tech flags outside on the circular driveway which was really classy! We agree that this really welcomes any visiting football fans to Morgantown! Outside of the hotel, there is a jogging/bike path that runs along the river which takes you by several restaurants - we really enjoyed the local Mountain Top Brewery while waiting for a seat at the Italian place next door. Finally, we would heartily recommend the buffet breakfast for $10 at this hotel. In summary, I would strongly urge anyone coming to Morgantown to stay at this hotel - the atmosphere, hospitality, location, and friendliness just can't be beat! Thank you for a terrific weekend in Morgantown!

Room Tip: Views of the river are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
PrinceRaider – Many thanks for the kind words and compliments regarding your football weekend experience. We share all of our guest responses with our staff; they will be pleased to read your wonderful comments. Hopefully we will see you again the next time Texas Tech visits Morgantown.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great place for a meeting and football weekend. Service was excellent, facilities are first class. Highly recommend! Breakfast Buffet very reasonable and excellent. If you get a chance go to Table 9 for dinner just a short walk from Waterfront Place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Jeff B,
Thank you for your kind review regarding our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to your next visit to Morgantown.
All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We don't usually book hotel packages, but we did for an overnight stay here. The "Do Not Disturb" package -- dinner, including a bottle of wine and breakfast - was perfect for our needs, since we didn't know the area and were arriving late in the afternoon. Our King bed riverview room was very spacious and comfortable, with a terrific view upriver with fall foliage. Staff was nice, and dinner was good. Breakfast was very good. Only wish I'd known there was free coffee in the bar in the morning Given their proximity to the several extensive bike paths I'm surprised they haven't created a "Biker's Package with a bike rental." The hotel seems closely affiliated with West Virginia U (What in Morgantown isn't?) and this was an away football weekend. I'm sure it sells out on big sports weekends. We'd come again when we return for our biking in the Spring, but perhaps not the whole package since we discovered several interesting restaurants w/in a block of the hotel right along the bike path. Minor minor nits re: housekeeping. A used candy wrapper was sitting on a magazine when we arrived, and the bathroom toilet paper holder and seat needed repair. But otherwise perfect.

Room Tip: River view is a bonus, and in my mind worth the extra $$. Too far above 6th Floor and you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Kalpr – We greatly appreciate your recent review regarding your Waterfront Place Hotel experience. Our “Do Not Disturb” package is a popular choice, and I am happy to hear the package fit your needs perfectly. We look forward to seeing you again when you return for biking in the spring.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenswood
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I booked a room for Nov 1, 2014 just minutes ago when the WVU football schedule came out for next yr. I booked the room at the rate of $149 which was very cheap for this hotel I thought. However, when I got a confirmation email, it included a nice little surprise. I was being charged a non-refundable $150 since it was for a WVU game. Nowhere did it say anything about that when I was booking the room. The only deposit mentioned was for WVU graduations only. Then I call 3 diff times and Michael transfers me all 3 times. 1st time went to a voicemail. 2nd time I was on hold for over 10 minutes. 3rd time I finally told him, to transfer to me a person, not a voicemail. I get some guy who's not even at the hotel physically and says the reservation hasn't even popped up in their system yet. I just went ahead and cancelled the reservation. What a pathetic display of customer service from Michael who answered the phone.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Rick H,

It is inexcusable that our hotel staff did not assist you at the time of calling. We have taken corrective action with the employees who were found irresponsible with answering the phones yesterday.

The hotel was as surprised as WVU football fans to have the schedule posted already for 2014 home games. We hope that you will allow us the chance to win back your confidence.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel and attended a function at the event center. Every part of our stay exceeded our expectations. Every staff member went out of their way to be thoughtful and accommodating. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Morgantown.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Wilbea – Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Waterfront Place Hotel. It pleases me to hear everything—from the event center function to the hotel staff and accommodations—exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Morgantown.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Place Hotel

Address: 2 Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501-5958
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#3 Business Hotel in Morgantown
#3 Family Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waterfront Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.