We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Built for Conventions, But Great for a Private Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Place Hotel to your Saves list
Waterfront Place Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501-5958   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Built for Conventions, But Great for a Private Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We don't usually book hotel packages, but we did for an overnight stay here. The "Do Not Disturb" package -- dinner, including a bottle of wine and breakfast - was perfect for our needs, since we didn't know the area and were arriving late in the afternoon. Our King bed riverview room was very spacious and comfortable, with a terrific view upriver with fall foliage. Staff was nice, and dinner was good. Breakfast was very good. Only wish I'd known there was free coffee in the bar in the morning Given their proximity to the several extensive bike paths I'm surprised they haven't created a "Biker's Package with a bike rental." The hotel seems closely affiliated with West Virginia U (What in Morgantown isn't?) and this was an away football weekend. I'm sure it sells out on big sports weekends. We'd come again when we return for our biking in the Spring, but perhaps not the whole package since we discovered several interesting restaurants w/in a block of the hotel right along the bike path. Minor minor nits re: housekeeping. A used candy wrapper was sitting on a magazine when we arrived, and the bathroom toilet paper holder and seat needed repair. But otherwise perfect.

Room Tip: River view is a bonus, and in my mind worth the extra $$. Too far above 6th Floor and you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Kalpr – We greatly appreciate your recent review regarding your Waterfront Place Hotel experience. Our “Do Not Disturb” package is a popular choice, and I am happy to hear the package fit your needs perfectly. We look forward to seeing you again when you return for biking in the spring.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ravenswood
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I booked a room for Nov 1, 2014 just minutes ago when the WVU football schedule came out for next yr. I booked the room at the rate of $149 which was very cheap for this hotel I thought. However, when I got a confirmation email, it included a nice little surprise. I was being charged a non-refundable $150 since it was for a WVU game. Nowhere did it say anything about that when I was booking the room. The only deposit mentioned was for WVU graduations only. Then I call 3 diff times and Michael transfers me all 3 times. 1st time went to a voicemail. 2nd time I was on hold for over 10 minutes. 3rd time I finally told him, to transfer to me a person, not a voicemail. I get some guy who's not even at the hotel physically and says the reservation hasn't even popped up in their system yet. I just went ahead and cancelled the reservation. What a pathetic display of customer service from Michael who answered the phone.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Rick H,

It is inexcusable that our hotel staff did not assist you at the time of calling. We have taken corrective action with the employees who were found irresponsible with answering the phones yesterday.

The hotel was as surprised as WVU football fans to have the schedule posted already for 2014 home games. We hope that you will allow us the chance to win back your confidence.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the hotel and attended a function at the event center. Every part of our stay exceeded our expectations. Every staff member went out of their way to be thoughtful and accommodating. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Morgantown.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Wilbea – Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Waterfront Place Hotel. It pleases me to hear everything—from the event center function to the hotel staff and accommodations—exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Morgantown.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Always a wonderful place to stay. Haley and Toni are always brighten my day with their bright smiles and welcoming personality. Food is great - again wonderful service! You will not be disappointed selecting Waterfront Place Hotel.

Room Tip: Riverside provides you with an awesome view. But all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Chad S - Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation regarding our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future at Waterfront Place Hotel.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I attended a conference here for two days with the WVDE. The conference center staff was very accommodating. The rooms were clean and chairs comfortable. The hotel has WIFI throughout. Also, the hotel room was very comfortable, quiete and clean. The bed provided excellent sleeping. The buffet breakfast was reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator and ice machine if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for providing a review regarding your recent Waterfront Place Hotel experience. We hope you enjoyed the WVDE conference, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband had a business trip (reception) in Morgantown and I got to tag along. The Waterfront Place Hotel was lovely with very nice rooms, bathroom, comfortable bed and plenty of space. We thought the reception started at 5:00 but when we arrived we realized we had an hour to spare, so we went to the Ragatta Bar and Grille and had a cocktail. My martini was excellent. The reception food was also delicious and the breakfast buffet the next morning was great. There were several dishes to choose from but the made to order omelets were perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and had a nice view from our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaDonnaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We greatly appreciate the outstanding review you recently provided of the Waterfront Place Hotel. It pleases me to hear that you and your husband enjoyed everything about your stay!

All the best,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.6 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#4 of 23 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#6 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#2 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#13 of 23 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#5 of 23 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
2.4 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#7 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Place Hotel

Address: 2 Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501-5958
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Waterfront Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing