We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added Waterfront Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Place Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Two Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501-5958   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel and attended a function at the event center. Every part of our stay exceeded our expectations. Every staff member went out of their way to be thoughtful and accommodating. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Morgantown.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Wilbea – Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Waterfront Place Hotel. It pleases me to hear everything—from the event center function to the hotel staff and accommodations—exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Morgantown.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    113
    43
    21
    8
See reviews for
90
72
23
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Always a wonderful place to stay. Haley and Toni are always brighten my day with their bright smiles and welcoming personality. Food is great - again wonderful service! You will not be disappointed selecting Waterfront Place Hotel.

Room Tip: Riverside provides you with an awesome view. But all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Chad S - Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation regarding our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future at Waterfront Place Hotel.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I attended a conference here for two days with the WVDE. The conference center staff was very accommodating. The rooms were clean and chairs comfortable. The hotel has WIFI throughout. Also, the hotel room was very comfortable, quiete and clean. The bed provided excellent sleeping. The buffet breakfast was reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator and ice machine if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for providing a review regarding your recent Waterfront Place Hotel experience. We hope you enjoyed the WVDE conference, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband had a business trip (reception) in Morgantown and I got to tag along. The Waterfront Place Hotel was lovely with very nice rooms, bathroom, comfortable bed and plenty of space. We thought the reception started at 5:00 but when we arrived we realized we had an hour to spare, so we went to the Ragatta Bar and Grille and had a cocktail. My martini was excellent. The reception food was also delicious and the breakfast buffet the next morning was great. There were several dishes to choose from but the made to order omelets were perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and had a nice view from our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We greatly appreciate the outstanding review you recently provided of the Waterfront Place Hotel. It pleases me to hear that you and your husband enjoyed everything about your stay!

All the best,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel multiple x's over the past four years. I feel pampered from the moment I step into this gorgeous, well-appointed gorgeous hotel. Michael at the front desk epitomizes five-star service!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your continued patronage, and we hope to make your future stays as enjoyable as previous stays.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have traveled to Morgantown several times in the last 15 years and had always wanted to stay at the Waterfront since it was being built while my brother was attending WVU. This past weekend was the first time we stayed two nights on a football weekend at the hotel and the Waterfront did not disappoint!

Upon arrival, the bell staff and front desk were very helpful and polite - quickly checked in to our room. The room was very spacious and modern - the beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was larger than many hotels. I also used their 24 hour gym (at 5am) which was much nicer than more hotel gyms - plenty of cardio machines (treadmill, elliptical, and stair master) as well as free weights and nautilus equipment. The Rat Pack bar/lounge was nicely appointed, had plenty of TVs for catching the football games, and great service. We also ate at the Regatta Restaurant for breakfast which they are offering a $10 special on their breakfast buffet - complete with Made to order waffles and omelets.

The waterfront offers free shuttle service, a small store for incidentals and food items, and a pool in the basement. There is a good sized conference center attached to the hotel which I did not use.

Overall: The Waterfront will be my first choice anytime I return to Morgantown.

Pros:
- Beds are super comfortable and the hotel is very clean
- Free shuttle to downtown
- Nice views of the Monongahela river

Cons:
- A little removed from the Downtown area (which can be viewed as a pro as well for some)
- Charge money for self-parking your car

Room Tip: Higher rooms give you a nice view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at the Waterfront Place Hotel! I am glad to hear our accommodations, services and staff exceeded your expectations. Hopefully we will see you again during future trips to Morgantown.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Place Hotel

Address: Two Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501-5958
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#2 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#3 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Place Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Waterfront Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.