We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near luxury in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added Waterfront Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterfront Place Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Two Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501-5958   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Near luxury in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I was very surprised by the Waterfront Place Hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was roomy and very comfortable, with all the amenities you would expect. The gym was much nicer than the average hotel gym. You can't beat the location, right on the river and offered a great place to run. I attended a conference and couldn't believe how attentive the staff was or how I enjoyed the food. It's pretty hard to serve a large group delicious meals. In addition, they had free shuttle, free parking and really acted like they appreciated our business. I highly recommend the Waterfront Place Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    111
    43
    21
    8
See reviews for
87
70
23
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This was my third time staying at the Waterfront Place Hotel, and the hotel and the staff there have yet to let me down. Front the time I pulled up to Valet to the time I left, I felt like they were glad that I had chosen their hotel to stay in.

The room was nice and well-appointed and the bed was as comfortable as they come. The location is convenient and easy to get to, and the location is smack dab on the Monongahela River that runs past Morgantown.

Enjoy a meal in the Regatta Bar and Grille or a cocktail in the Rat Pack Lounge.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

The Waterfront is filled with surprises. You might see Jerry West, U.S. Senator Jay Rockefeller, the Governor or any of hundreds of the movers and shakers of the state of West Virginia in the lobby or restaurants. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and consumer friendly. The only thing I would add -- and this is a pet pieve -- is free WIFI on all floors. I just cannot imagine not offering free WIFI in this age where travelers want and need to stay connected. It appears that the hotel is owned or, at least, operated by the University. I spoke to many of the staff and they seemed to have a great handle on what it takes to keep hotel users happy. The Waterfront does just that. It is an oasis among lesser hotels and motels centered around West Virginia University. You do need to be aware that there are a lot of University activities and meetings held at the hotel that push availability. For instance, on football game weekends, there is a two-night minimum stay required; even if you could get a reservation, which you cannot unless you books at least a year in advance. That can be troublesum for those traveling long distances and wanted to be part of the action related to WVU. But non-game reservations are much easier to book. The restaurant and bar operations are first class. You just don't expect the wide food menu. There are two bars: one a sports bar and the other catering to connecting movers and shakers to a singular place to gather. There are several nice riverfront eateries within walking distance from the hotel; but you won't go wrong in quality or price at the hotel's restaurants and bars. We absolutely adore this hotel and make axcuses to stay there. Try it. You will love it!

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have the best view of the river and locks
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, MI
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I was very satisfied with my stay at Waterfront Place.

Check in was handled by a friendly professional desk agent. I was assigned a room on the 9th floor. The elevators were lightning fast. The lobby and guest room hallways were well furnished and very clean.

The room was very nice. The carpeting was newer and in great shape. The large flat screen tv was a pleasant surprise. The bed was super comfortable and equipped with great bedding (including the former Radisson bed skirt). The room was very large and I had a great amount of space to spread out.

I've read the prior reviews about there only being wired internet in the guest rooms. I found a strong, dependable and fast wireless connection in my 9th floor room so perhaps this was added recently?

The location was great with a miles long blacktop riverwalk featured. In addition to the highly rated on-site restaurant there were numerous other restaurants easily walkable via the riverwalk.

The bathroom was the only thing that kept me from giving Waterfront Place a full 5 stars. The bathroom was huge and for the most part attractive with marble countertops. But there was one of the sconce lighting fixtures around the sink that was flickering constantly and made shaving a headache inducing endeavor. The grout in the shower also had a bit of mildew and didn't look quite as nice as the rest of the room.

All in all it was a very nice stay and I will definately stay here again when and if i'm in the Morgantown area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. The pizza from room service was delicious. The hotel staff was very friendly, and the hotel shuttle would take you anywhere you needed to go. There is free wired internet in the rooms, and the work desk is huge. I definitely recommend the hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

First stay at this hotel and it was wonderful! Enjoyed dinner and breakfast at their restaurant and some cocktails in the bar. Beds were very comfortable, nice linens, and bathroom was nice and clean. Good food, great service, and nice accommodations make it a perfect stay. Would love to go back again, but for pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationmom103
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

After 4 visits to this hotel in the past year, I'm overdue for a review. My son is a student at WVU, this hotel is the PERFECT location for me as I enjoy walking to town via the riverwalk or having the hotel courtesy car give me a ride to my destination. The hotel exceeds all my needs; clean, safe, contemporary and comfortable, oh and affordable too. The rooms are spacious; I've stayed in double rooms with a riverview and city view. Recently we reserved a king suite; this room had a full dining room table and empty mini-fridge. No microwave or kitchen - which I consider a plus (nothing worse than other guests cooking a full meal near your room). There is a coffee maker/did not use. A pullout sofabed and adjoining king bedroom, two flat screen tv's. The hotel has room service, we ordered desserts late one night while watching a movie, I found the fees resonable. Service in the hotel is outstanding, the employees are very polite and accomodating, they seem happy to work at the hotel. The night front office manager (Michael?) is the best I've ever encountered, just gracious and welcoming. The hotel has a spa, pool and gym, none of which I utilized, but it's nice to know they have the services. The Morgantown Event Center is attached to the hotel, it's a gorgeous facility for convention services. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Morgantown.

Room Tip: All floors seem good, recently I was by the ice machine and staff room. The ice machine was not a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterfront Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Place Hotel

Address: Two Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501-5958
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Family Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Place Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Waterfront Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.