We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worse stay ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center to your Saves list
Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Saratoga Ave., Morgantown, WV 26505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Ranson, West Virginia
1 review
“The worse stay ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I have traveled across country and this is by far the worse experience we have encountered. Mold on the shower tiles, stained towels, dingy curtains and an overall feeling of not being clean. Please do yourself a favor and book somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    15
    13
    88
See reviews for
41
22
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have never stayed in a dirtier hotel. First of all, when we checked in, we were told that the air condidtioing is not working in the updated rooms. We were given keys to an updated room and a non updated so we could choose. We went to the updated room first and didn't even bother going to the nonupdated room because this room was awful! The floors have a synthetic wood on them and felt like they were covered in slime! The towels in the bathroom were stained and there was mildew all around the tub and on the shower curtain. There were 3 small pillows on the bed and it didn't even ave flat screen TV. Do not stay there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Had to put tiles in shower back on the wall. Everything was pretty scuzzy. Not a great experience. The staff was very pleasant. Certainly not in their control on how the place looks. capital monies are needed for upgrade.

Room Tip: Non of the rooms appeared to be good, so I have no tips to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Falls, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Do not stay here! My family needed a place to stay before a WVU graduation. I booked five months in advance and this was the only room I could find in Morgantown. That should have told me something. We will not stay here again unless we are desperate. The room was dingy and cold. They gave us the handicapped room - so after our showers there was water all over the bathroom floor - not a good design.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

When searching for cheap hotel in morgantown this one came up. We had just spent the weekend at the Kentucky Derby so we were looking for something cheap since we didnt win!! haha. In this case you get what you pay for.... I read some of the reviews (my mistake not to read them from trip advisor) and everyone was saying this was a nice place to stay... BOY WAS THAT WRONG!- I felt like a 4-Star person in a 1 Star hotel!
This place was soooooo incredibly skeevy that I just had to suck it up for one night and stay here. The one good thing was the front desk staff were friendly and accomodating because we had a problem with our first room.
Stinky, no carpet, bright green stucko walls, huge bulky tvs,,,, omg yuck!

Our room was supposed to be non smoking but it definitely had a musty smokey smell to it. We had to ask for another and even that new room smelled. The location of each of the buildings is not in a good spot. We were put in the very back and if I didnt have my husband with me i would have been very scared! It seemed like people were just living out of these rooms....

Do not stay here! Choose a little

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

I don't usually complain! This is my first review ever written. But I am trying to save someone some money. This hotel is HORRIBLE!!!!! Filthy rooms. First room we checked in smelled so bad like cigarette smoke even though they said all rooms were non smoking. They checked us into another one which still smelled but it was late and we were tired so we
Settled. We all went home with sinus infections from these rooms! There was a huge party going on in the parking lot all night, loud music and drinking. We couldn't even drive through the parking lot to get to our room. I have never stayed in such a nasty place before. Up side(and the only one) Breakfast was good. Would never ever stay again, even if it was free!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okmulgee, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We were staying there for a few weeks on the pipeline and they charged us 40 dollars extra a night on weekends and the rooms smelled bad and were completly outdated. Also when we asked for a vaccum to clean the carpet we were told the owners were from india and didn't believe in vaccuming. After checking out we were charged $150.00 two days later for a cleaning fee because there were crumbs in the floor. I called and asked them how i was suppose to get crumbs out of the floor when they didn't believe in vaccuming and they told me that was something I would have to take up with house keeping. DO NOT STAY HERE. I wish I could give it less than one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center

Address: 1400 Saratoga Ave., Morgantown, WV 26505
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.