We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would only stay here again if I had NO OTHER OPTIONS !!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Saratoga Ave., Morgantown, WV 26505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I would only stay here again if I had NO OTHER OPTIONS !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed here "once" a few months ago and the room was dirty, the bathroom ceiling tiles filthy and falling down, the microwave did not work and was not fixed/replaced even after I told the front desk, this place is just falling apart and the little remodeling that is being done is not enough to help this place!! The only positive things that I can say is that it is cheap to stay here and the breakfast room staff was very nice and friendly......STAY AWAY

Room Tip: Go to a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    12
    12
    81
See reviews for
37
21
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the Quality Inn when we dropped our daughter off at WV University. This place looks like it was closed for ten years and reopened as a set for a low budget horror film. The carpet is thread bare, the bath tub has rust spots, the bed was likely 40 years old with a big depression in the middle, the bedspread was stained....get the picture? If there are no hotel rooms available in Morgantown stay at a campground or couch surf.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel was disgusting. I have never said that about any hotel, ever...We only stayed one night and will never stay again. When we addressed out complaints to the management they told us that they were the cheapest hotel (which they are not) as if that is a reason to be disgusting. Seems like they have no intention of improving. We heard other people at the front desk saying that they had to go out and buy sheets because theirs were so nasty. The pool was empty in August! Too bad because the location is convenient to WVU and we will be traveling there a lot over the next 4 years.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our room was located on the lowest backend of the facility, and what looked to be the sorriest side of the property. On entering, the room was filled with a musty odor and felt like you were in someone's damp, dingy basement. On removing our shoes, the entire carpet was wet, including the bathroom floor, which was tiled. You had to force the bathroom door past the toilet to use the toilet or shower.
The price we paid for this pathetic accomodation was $155...criminal and outrageous! And on top of it, the manager was completely rude and unprofessional when I expressed my complaints. Stay away from this place! It's not worth $50/night...

Room Tip: stinky, musty, dingy room with wet carpetting
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Dirty; mirrors were water spotted and another cleaned with a dirty rag; excessive mold in the shower, and a commode that would not stop running unless you lifted the lid and fixed it. Towels were threadbare and one still dirty. Perhaps the dirtiest hotel room of my life experience! We had prepaid for two rooms and arrived late so had few options; the other in a different area was better than this one. Perhaps that explains the variation in ratings. Never again will we take this risk, nor should you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

First of all, this is no longer a Quality Inn - it is called the Morgantown Hotel and Conference Center.
The first room we were given wasn't even made! The second room (in a different building) had mold actually hanging from the bathroom ceiling - on several tiles...the crack in the outside door (between the door and the frame) was large enough for small animals to come through...the carpet was ripped in several places...the room stunk of heavy mildew...and, there were lots of hairs on the sheets.
We asked for another room (3rd one) and were given one in yet another building. By this time we were exhausted from the whole ordeal, plus driving all day, so we took it. It had a faint mildew smell and you could see that mold was beginning to form on the ceiling. We asked the young man escorting us to the room about the mold and he said they had a big problem with mold and had trouble keeping up with changing the ceiling tiles so that the guests wouldn't know about it!
The front desk person could barely speak English and didn't seem to care about us or anything else. We overheard him answering the phone several times (while we waiting to get another room) and on a few occasions he was downright rude to people!
The only bright spot to the entire experience was the lady working in the breakfast room. My husband and I enjoyed talking to her and appreciated her kind help.
Stay away from this place - we would not go back even if it were free!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Pool was closed, stains on sheets, hair in tub, ceiling leaked, food left in fridge, broken glass on walkways, dog crap everywhere, employee in breakfast room very rude...pushed my husband aside, grabbed waffle maker from him and it landed on the floor. Stay away!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center

Address: 1400 Saratoga Ave., Morgantown, WV 26505
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.