We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Campus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Morgantown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Morgantown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Morgantown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1053 Van Voorhis Road, Morgantown, WV 26505   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Meadville, PA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Convenient to Campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn while visiting our niece who is a student at WVU. The Hampton is so convenient to her area of the campus. It is also near restaurants. The breakfast was very good with a good selection. The woman who took care of the breakfast went out of her way to make sure everyone had what they wanted. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a double bed room and it was very nice and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morgantown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hampton Inn. I always enjoy reading the comments from travelers like yourself. Feedback from our valued guests allows us to constantly look for ways to do things better. Thanks for confirming we are on the right path.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    62
    35
    15
    10
See reviews for
68
50
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marlinton, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

When I called to book my reservation the front desk clerk by the name of Chavis hung up on me. The second time I called, I was rudely interrupted and put on hold by her. Thirdly, I finally was able to book my stay but she was extremely rude and short with me. Not a pleasant stay and pardon my french, but the staff were complete and total pricks. I would NEVER recommend anyone staying at this hotel, unless you would like to be disrespected. In comparison to the other Hilton properties, I would rate this as a 1. The staff and service was just terrible and inexcusable. Especially me being a Hilton Honors member...extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: Just dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morgantown, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I first want to apologize for your experience with our staff. As General Manager I take your comments very seriously and promise you a thorough investigation. In addition I would appreciate it if you could contact me and allow me to hear the particulars as it relates to my staff. I promise you that your experience was not a typical Hampton Inn Morgantown experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay the night at this location coming back from Ohio. Room was clean, had fridge & microwave, bed and couch were comfy, and great view out window. Breakfast was hot and tasted great and the staff were great folks. They told us to park by side door and got us a king room just steps from the elevator which is nice being I am handicapped and use a walker.
Kudos again to Hampton Inn!! Decor in room was nice. Very large, great tv and night lightning in the room make it a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morgantown, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hampton Inn. It is your kind words that keeps the staff here energized. If you have the opportunity to return to Morgantown please feel free to contact me for your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed overnight here and were pleasantly surprised with this Hampton Inn. The room was very clean, beds were comfortable. The complementary breakfast was a perfect start to our road trip the next day. Only complaint - full-size beds. Wish that both beds were a bit larger to accommodate a family of 4. Overall, a good quick overnight experience. If we make the trip again out to WV, we will stay here again. (btw-old furniture doesn't bother me).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morgantown, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to offer your comments about the Hampton Inn Morgantown. Without feedback from our valued guests we could not continuey to improve the guest experience. Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn, We Love Having You Here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Room not ready on check-in so we settled for a different room type than what we reserved. Upon opening the door we were totally overwhelmed by a cloud of fragrance. They spray every room down with Febreze!! This is an effort to cover up the obvious lack of cleanliness. The carpets are filthy, the bathroom had not been cleaned adequately, signs of mold in the shower, dirty air vents in dining area, etc. If a room is clean than it would not be necessary to spray a perfume product everywhere. The poorly painted rooms are what they call "updated". We were able to find another room that had not been fumigated with Febreze and had to wait again for it to be "cleaned". The housekeeper told us that you have to actually tell them to make a notation that you do not want chemicals in your room. Really? "Don't pollute my room with chemicals, please". Non-smoking or smoking? Chemicals or none? Really?

The evening front desk staff was less than professional (college kids goofing off). Had we not been there for a family event we would have checked out. Speaking of, on check-out they had us confused wtih another room. The breakfast is average and there is complimentary coffee in the lobby (forget the missing cookies-never out there).

I hope Hilton addresses the Febreze and if they are going to use Febreze in lieu of actually cleaning they need to make a "non-chemical" room an option during the reservation process. Asthma and allergies are recognized as a disability by the American Disability Act. The non-chemical room should be a choice in addition to bed choice or an accessible room. To me, it would just be easier to clean it properly than cover up smells with a liberal saturation of Febreze!

Room Tip: If you don't want chemicals in your room (Febreze) you have to ask during reservation process (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morgantown, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your evaluation of the Hampton Inn Morgantown. I would like to personnaly apologize for your experience. I do have to take this opportunity and explain that we do not Febreeze every room in our hotel. We on occasion spary a light spritz and give the room a chance to sit before checking someone in. I have also taken this opportunity to train our staff on reservation procedures as the Room Attendant gave you some misinformation and for that I am sorry. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this situation further. Please feel free to contact me at the Hampton Inn Morgantown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed a night here in mid July with my wife and kids. Used a $79 coupon from a hotel coupon book for a 2 bedroom double room. Really wanted a room with 2 queen beds but they didn't have that. Place was obviously dated. Dirty carpets in the room, poor flushing toilet, slow elevators and old furniture area bit telling. My family would have slept better if the beds were queen. Breakfast was cold scrambled eggs (go figure ), sausage, cereal, toast, and self prepared waffles. Not very appetizing. Stay was ok, but not what I would expect from a Hilton hotel.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morgantown, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
I want to personally take the time to say thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and will I certainly share your concerns with the staff and management team so that we can continue to find ways to please our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Seems to be an older property, but still well maintained. Rooms were clean, but only had double beds, not queens. It is advertised as a completely non-smoking property, but I detected a slight smoky odor when I entered my room. Not enough to put me off, but if you are very sensitive it might.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morgantown, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Guest feedback is very important to us. I will make sure to share them with our team so that we can continue to look for ways to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Morgantown

Address: 1053 Van Voorhis Road, Morgantown, WV 26505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Morgantown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Morgantown is conveniently located next to the Evansdale Campus of WVU. We are just minutes away from sporting events, major medical facilities and entertainment venues. All 107 of our guest rooms are newly renovated and feature Cloud 9 Bedding, 32' inch flat screen televisions, workstations with roll around desks, ergonomic desk chairs and lap desks for your comfort. Our additional amenities include free wireless, high-speed internet access, complimentary breakfast daily 6:00AM-10:00AM, 24 hour business center, and a brand new fitness facility! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Morgantown Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Morgantown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.