We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place with an accomodating staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Morgantown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Morgantown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   605 Venture Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Fairfax, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A nice place with an accomodating staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is pretty nice physically. The beds are good, the mini-fridge and other amenities all worked well. It was pretty clean too. There was nothing fancy but certainly adequate. The better thing about the hotel was the staff. The lady at the front desk was very accomodating and informative and the lady overseeing the breakfast buffet worked very hard to keep the buffet stocked and clean. The buffet itself was pretty standard fare but adequate for folks who want a quick bite to get a running start on the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    11
    3
    10
See reviews for
28
12
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Not a bad place to stop through. Bed were comfortable and breakfast was typical of the Holiday Inn Express with pancakes, eggs, and biscuits and gravy. Love the hot cinnamon rolls. They did pack up early and didn't keep it refilled if you went too close to closing time. Worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Rather nice HI with some upscale furniture. Great location right off the interstate with plenty restaurants in walking distance as is a shoppin center. Great place to sleep but the storms messed up thd sat tv reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Coinerjpo2014,

We want to thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate all comments our guests leave us, it only helps us improve our service to you. I am glad to hear our location worked out great for you. However I do want to apologize for any problems you experienced with our TV service. I would have to say our weather has been crazy this year and when we get storms they have tended to be pretty harsh. Again thank you for your time and business and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Thanks

James Locklar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way home from Kentucky. The staff was friendly. Our room was clean and the bathroom was very nice. This hotel is close to the highway and several restaurants which was nice after a long drive. The mattress and pillows were too soft for our taste. There were lots of outlets for charging cell phones and laptops. We even had a fridge and microwave in our room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Lisa L,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We take all of our guests comments and only improve on them. I am glad to hear you have a wonderful stay with us, however I do understand your issue with our pillows, good news is we recently replaced all of our pillows with new bigger and some firmer ones to accommodate our guests wishes. We strive to provide great service and accommodations to our guests. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Again thank you.

James Locklar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdese, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had read some of the reviews after making our reservation and seriously thought about cancelling. Glad I didn't. I'm not sure what some of the others expected from the hotel but it was not anywhere near as bad as reviewed. It was clean, didn't need to be painted, the beds were not bad or old, the hot tub works and the pool was clean. The only thing that I read that did seem to be true was the noise from the elevator...that was all. If you were expecting the Ritz-Carlton....then yes, it was probably a let down but it's not a terrible place to stay as others have said. The staff is also very friendly and accommodating, as one night we let our young son swim, and afterwards he wanted a banana like they have for breakfast, so I asked the young lady if there was any way possible to get him one....she not only came back from the kitchen with a banana but also an apple. Very nice place to stay, and if in the area again, will stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Gabe_and_Tab,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your business and all the great comments about our property and our staff. We like to hear how our guests see our property and how your stay was.

Thank you again,

James Locklar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

It seems like the only competent desk person working was the one working over night, his name tag said Robert. When we checked in the girl working wasn't at the desk and didn't have a sign our anything up. We waited for several minutes and then we saw her come out of the bathroom. Her eyes were glossy, she was sniffing a lot, and she was kind of rude. She stumbled around with papers and apologized she forgot to put a sign up when she left the desk but she seemed like she was out of it or had just snorted something. The rate we had agreed to want the rate we were charged and we ended up going down to the desk around midnight. That's when the night person was working and he adjusted our rate and explained about an authorization charge that would drop off of our account. He also ended up printing us directions and helped us with everything we asked. We told him about the girl working before and he apologized and assured us their staff was great especially the assistant and general manager. In the morning we got breakfast and even though the breakfast was slammed the young brunette girl working was friendly and kept everything well stocked, and the food she made was also delicious. She seemed kind of stressed because every seat was filled and people were standing in line waiting and some people were even standing around eating but she kept her composure and was still smiling and being sweet. Overall or stay was great, the rings were nice, breakfast staff was good, and the night staff was excellent, but I think the evening staff needs a little work.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

OK, not my choice to spend my weekend, but I had to attend the WVU graduation this May. First off, $240 a night with AAA is a bit steep, but it is a college town and it was graduation weekend. Well this hotel isn't worth the $40 of that room rate. Generally the hotel is run down. In need of a complete overhaul. We had a two queen bed room on the 2nd floor. The room appeared to be clean, but had a musty smell to it. Finally got the A/C to work and the freshened up the place a bit. The elevator needs work. It is old, slow and a disaster waiting to happen. I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel just because I was running late. My wife and kid did and said it was typical HIE. Now the beds... THAT WAS THE WORST BED I have ever had in a hotel. It was worn out 10 years ago when it was installed.

-- Benefits -- A bunch of outdoor 120V outlets for charging your Electric Vehicle or plugging in a block heater in the winter. Close to shopping, restaurants, etc... Friendly front desk staff. Alexis was VERY HELPFUL.

-- Drawbacks -- Dirty, Poor Furnishings, needs paint work, pool work, elevator work and probably a change in corporate flags will be in order soon. OVER PRICED TOO... They suck you in cuz it is in a college town and they know they gotcha...

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Paul_da_Bulldog,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, and the opportunities to work on. I am happy to know that you were pleased with our staff and amenities.

You have identified issues in regard to the room and overall condition of the hotel. With that, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. As our valued guest, we thank you for your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to serving you again in your future travels.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Morgantown

Address: 605 Venture Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Morgantown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Morgantown. We are a 68 room hotel that features many amenities such as a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool, spa and exercise facility along with meeting space for 40 classroom style or 60 theatre style. All rooms are accessed through interior corridors and feature a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, two-line speakerphone with data port, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and free high speed wireless Internet access. An elevator is available for access on upper floors. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel is conveniently located on I-68, exit 7 (Peirpont Rd/Airport) or from I-79, Exit 148 (I-68 East/Cumberland), exit 7 (Peirpont Rd/Airport). Stay with us and our friendly staff will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown Hotel Morgantown
Holiday Inn Morgantown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.