We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great place to stay for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Morgantown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Morgantown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   605 Venture Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Beckley, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This is a great place to stay for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I typically haven't stayed at Holiday Inn chains, however, this place was very economically priced. Room was clean, staff was nice, I agree that the elevator is loud, but you can't object to the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    11
    3
    10
See reviews for
28
12
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prospect, Kentucky, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stopped in here for the night of 10/6/13, with no reservation. The first thing I noticed was the clean smell and great appearance of the lobby. Andrea, the desk clerk, was very helpful in finding a room that met my needs. Very comfortable bed and the high def TV's in the room were great. The free breakfast was about what one would expect. Not great, but, hey, it's free! The location of the hotel is great, with several restaurants within easy walking distance. If I ever find myself overnight in Morgantown again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Kycuzn,

We are happy to hear you had a great experience with your stay. We are always glad to hear positive reviews about our staff and property. We strive to provide the best accommodations to our guest that we can. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you again.

James Locklar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg MO
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stopped here on the way home from a CW reenactment, dirty, smelly and tired. Arrived late, but was given a nice room with no hassle. Slept comfortably, and had a good shower. Breakfast, typical HIE, was available early. No hassle checkout when I needed to get on the road. Had complimentary local papers available. Didn't have a chance to use other amenities. One comment - didn't initially see the sign in the shopping area where inn is located when coming off interstate - had to turn around & come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Check in was easy, uneventful. Pool was nice for kids to get out energy after being cooped up during long drive. Elevator made lots of noises while operating, some of them pretty scary sounding and causing vibration along with noises. Kinda freaky.

Room was clean and nice. Disappointed that the "couch" was not actually a couch, in the sitting area. We were hoping to use that couch to put a kid on (which os why we reserved the room with a "couch") but it's the size of an oversized chair although it has 2 cushions. The room is also considered "two room" but it isn't. It is, however, bigger than a standard hotel room with half of a wall creating somewhat of a separate space. There are two tvs. One in the "sitting area" and the other near the beds. In reality, they're about 15 feet apart and watching both at the same time would not work.

Air conditioner smelled a bit musty when turned on, but I've kinda come to expect this in hotels. Bed was kinda lumpy and not real comfortable. Same with pillows. Breakfast was okay. Coffee was pretty good. Check out was a breeze.

Overall, an acceptable overnight on a road trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear fiatlux28,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I am sorry to hear that you didn't find some items in your room to your liking. Our goal is to provide you with the best guest experience and we can only offer our sincerest apologies for we have failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Once again, thank you for your comments and rest assured that it will be used to improve guest services. We hope that you give us another chance and allow us to redeem your faith in the quality of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Comfortable bed I slept wella nice clean room. They had a great breakfast. It's in a great beautiful location. Enjoyed myself. I highly recommend the next time your in Morgantown W.V. you need to stay here. They have resonable pricing for the room you get. The next time I go to Morgantown I will be staying there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Usually a Holiday Inn Express experience is fine - especially for a one day stay on a cross country road trip. But this HIE was not up to par. To begin with our room door lock was not working and had to be re-keyed. When we told the desk clerk he seemed mildly perturbed that we could not access our room. It was only when he followed us to the room and saw first hand that the key did not work that he fixed the door by reprogramming it.

The room smelled stale. That was off putting but the hotel was full that night so we were not able to switch rooms. How can a room smell stale when it is a non smoking hotel - old carpet? Who knows. And the mattress was slaggy - we travel all over the world and a worn out mattress is simply unacceptable.

The price quoted on the website was $135 but we were charged $144 and with all the added taxes the bill was $161. Wow! That was the senior "discount" rate. I would suggest not staying at this hotel until necessary upgrades are done.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear NWBallardTraveler,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. Unfortunately, your account settings do not allow us to send you a Private Message. You are welcome to reach out to us via email at IHGCare@ihg.com or you may send us a Private Message through TripAdvisor to IHGCare including reference to your TripAdvisor Account Name so we can follow up on your experience.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Room with king bed was nice, had a refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom smelled a little like mildew, shower curtain doesnt stop water from going onto floor. Rooms are pretty quiet and breakfast was good, more gluten free options would be nice. Front desk staff very nice and helpful. The pool was a little cool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Morgantown

Address: 605 Venture Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Morgantown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Morgantown. We are a 68 room hotel that features many amenities such as a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool, spa and exercise facility along with meeting space for 40 classroom style or 60 theatre style. All rooms are accessed through interior corridors and feature a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, two-line speakerphone with data port, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and free high speed wireless Internet access. An elevator is available for access on upper floors. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel is conveniently located on I-68, exit 7 (Peirpont Rd/Airport) or from I-79, Exit 148 (I-68 East/Cumberland), exit 7 (Peirpont Rd/Airport). Stay with us and our friendly staff will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown Hotel Morgantown
Holiday Inn Morgantown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.