We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is in Morgantown????” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Finch - CLOSED

Golden Finch
330 High St, Morgantown, WV 26505-5502
304-292-0088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Wayne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This is in Morgantown????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Visiting grad school son and wanted a nice place but so funny and gracious waiter and the food - so wonderful, flavorful and not expensive by restaurant standards. Not busy but should have been as everything was excellent from service to food - so it could use a little ambiance - it's Morgantown. This is a MUST go to when in Morgantown as we have at least 4 more years there and we need this place to stay in business.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“ok place but not loving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

the service was prompt but the fish was undercooked (catfish) and the shrimp and grits was too salty. i am not sure i would go back again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Any one with good taste would love this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

From start to finish the experience was absolutly wonderful. This is one of the better atmospheres you will find in morgantown if you are looking for a nice quiet evening out with that special person this is the place to go. It is a small place with limited tables. They play very soft jazz music at dinner time. There is art work and paintings throughout the entire place. It has a very warm feeling . The food was absolutly wonderful. I would def reccomend the champaign trio for an appetizer. The service was perfect couldnt be any better. Save room for dessert cause the lineup is awsome. My new favorite restaurant in morgantown to take my lady is the Golden Fynch

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a light dinner on a business trip. Good food, nice atmosphere. I'm writing more than a month after the fact and don't recall what I ate. But I know the whole menu was appealing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Terrible and mean manager.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have tried this place more than once, three times, actually. The service is slow, despite good waiters, so it is a kitchen/management issue. One time, my lunch took two hours and the place wasn't even packed. The manager's response? "Well I could tell you what happened but it wouldn't do any good..." Please! If there is a problem, tell me!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Finch also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Finch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.