We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egg white scrambled eggs were great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penny's Diner - CLOSED

Penny's Diner
6100 mid Atlantic Dr, @ Pierpont Landings, Morgantown, WV
304.413.0222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Clearwater, FL
Top Contributor
447 reviews 447 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Egg white scrambled eggs were great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Went on a Saturday morning it was slammed. I ordered egg whites scrambled, I knew they were busy but they did it with a smile. Others in our party had French Toast and really loved it. I must say the 'hash browns' were OLD SCHOOL! Real potatoes cut up and kind of fried. May not be healthy but it tasted G R E A T so you would have to put me down in the very satisfied category. We will be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    2
    3
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

way overpriced with inconsistent food, dont waste your money, 8 dollars for a breakfast is a total ripoff, i go zelionople for breakfast there 2.50 for a full breakfast delicious and they make plenty of money, if it says diner it skould have diner prices not ruth cris prices for breakfast

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love the diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011 via mobile

Have had several meals here and enjoyed everyone. Food is consitently good, service is fine and the place attracts a crowd. The Gyro's are great, as are the soups and breakfasts. Would recommend highly.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I was a little skeptical given some of the reviews on here, but decided to go given the convenience of location from our hotel. I am so glad we didnt miss this little gem!!
My husband had the burger, my two kids chicken tenders and I had lasagne. My husband said his burger, and I quote "was the best burger he has ever had in his life". My lasagne was very good as well, definitely home made. My kids liked their chicken fingers....but then again, they eat anything;) Hopefully the reviews don't scare customers away as I would love it to
be here next year when we come back!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great gyros and Greek salads!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This place is definitely worth a try! I have been to Penny's several times for either breakfast or lunch. The omelettes I have gotten were fabulous - my favorite is the spinach/feta. Their rye toast is the best - thick, chewy, and very tasty. I have also been served outstanding gyros and one of the best Greek salads I have ever had in a restaurant. Their soup, however, was not so great - not their specialty, I guess.

The only drawbacks to Penny's - the air conditioning is often too cold in the summer, and it tends to be drafty in some booths. Also, some of the wait staff is wonderful, but I've had some fairly disinterested waitpeople, hostesses, and cashiers, even when it wasn't busy.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny's Diner also viewed

 
Morgantown, WV
Morgantown, WV
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.