We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and Inexpensive wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forks of Cheat Winery

Forks of Cheat Winery
2811 Stewartstown Road, Morgantown, WV 26508
304-599-8660
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Activities in Morgantown
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
USA
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
143 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Amazing and Inexpensive wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We've been on various wine trails in several states, and have never found a better place for fruity, sweet wine. Their Niagara is the best EVER. Bad Cat rocks, and the Blackberry - well, make sure you buy more than one bottle! Now with an award-winning distillery. Make a day of it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    7
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice scenery/wine is secondary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We drove a bit to get here and the wine was just OK, the service less so (little explanation of the grapes, varieties, etc). But there is an interesting upstairs gallery and gift shop.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quaint and quite good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The winery is nicely decorated and appointed. The wine tasting was a pleasant experience. Their staff was friendly and informative. We bought several bottles of wine along with some other food items they offer for sale.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I have lived in Morgantown my entire life and one if my favorite things to do us go enjoy a glass of wine on the FOC winery deck! I would recommend this to anyone that might be visiting the area! The service is amazing and so is the wine! Omg, did I mention the Apple Jack!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Unfriendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We walked into the winery and the man working there acted as if we were interrupting his day. He gave us a few wine samples reluctantly when we asked but didn't offer any kind of suggestions or information. When we asked if we could taste on the deck he said "I don't do outside tastings." The wine was very good and the view was beautiful but the extreme rudeness overshadowed the good points.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forks of Cheat Winery also viewed

 

Been to Forks of Cheat Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forks of Cheat Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.