We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all the way around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Suncrest Towne Center Dr., Morgantown, WV 26505   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
WV
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great all the way around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed at the HGI for a night and I would have to say this is a great property all around. From the service received to the facilities, to the amenities. I checked in very late at night and they were ready for me, greeted me by name (process of elimination for those who still needed to check in) but still nice. The room was very clean and looked very new.

The breakfast in the morning is very nice and accommodates all dietary needs. The wait staff is very friendly and attentive. Front desk staff is very attentive as well. Parking is free and plenty. Several restaurants and other shopping amenities within walking distance.

The only things I would like to suggest is the signage for the hotel to be more visible from the main road or other signs directing drivers to the location. It is visible if you know where to look after you pass it the hotel if you are driving in from downtown Morgantown. At night it is very easy to miss. The hotel is somewhat difficult to spot if you are not familiar with the area. When you enter their location in most GPS units it will take you to a different area of town or it will not find the location as listed. One other suggestion is the water pressure. Somewhat low but not a major problem.

Either for business or personal travel I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    59
    33
    13
    6
See reviews for
90
49
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed for one night at this hotel.The place was fantastic and people courteous!The rooms were clean and tidy and food was good too.I was there for a business visit.
I will definitely stay here again and recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Here are my ratings on a scale of 1-5:

Hotel Location 4
Hotel Lobby 5
Hotel Restaurant/Breakfast 5
Hotel Customer Svc 5
Room Size 5
Room Carpet 5
Bathroom 5
Cleanliness 5
Cost/Value 5
Décor 5

Average 4.90

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel mid week on business. It is a bit hard to find but worth the effort. Parking is ample and free. The staff were attentive and extremely kind and pleasant. The small restaurant and bar on the property is remarkably good and the prices very low. The wait staff looked like WVU students but were eager and on the ball. The rooms were very clean with no antiseptic smell. This is a new place and they are bending over backwards to do everything right. It is secure, feels safe so even though I am male I'm sure women traveling alone would feel quite comfortable in this setting. It is near a number of chain restaurants but I ate there due to bad weather and once in I didn't feel like leaving again. Strongly recommend this Hilton.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

A little tough to find. A newer property. No problems. A safe bet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Do not stay in Room 427! We reported an issue with a leak through the bathroom ceiling fan - which was giving our bathroom a lovely urinal smell - to the front desk. The ceiling showed signs of past water damage - demonstrating that this was not a "new" problem. Can you say "health hazard"?

Four hours later - no one had attended to the issue (based on the puddle of dirty, smelly water on the lid of the toilet in our room) which prompted us to make another inquiry to the front desk for assistance.

The Maintenance Man - who also doubles as the shuttle driver - was unable to check into the issue while we were gone - since he was busy attending to guest going to and fro the basketball game.

By the time he did come up to inspect the issue - we were told it was "too late" to disturb the guests in the room above us (who's bathroom was the source of the leak). Their convenience was obviously more important than fixing the raw sewage that was leaking on our heads while we used our own facilities.

The hotel made no effort to address the situation - they could have comp'd something, thrown in some free breakfast, anything to acknowlege the inconvenince. But alas - they did nothing. I left a message with the hotel manager (voice mail) before checking out.letting him know they really need to address the issue. No return call or apology for the inconvenience.

Fellow Travelers - check your bathroom! If the ceiling fan shows visible water damage, get a room change before you unpack. Better yet - stay someplace else!!

Health Department - investigate this hotel.
If they allow toilets ot leak through ceiling fans onto the guests heads in room on the floor below - Lord only knows what the kitchen conditions might look like. Check the ice machines too.

Hilton Corp.- investigate your franchisee. See to it that they address this problem before renting out this room again and ruining the reputation of Hilton properties.

Room Tip: Look for visible water damage around bathroom ceiling fan!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 via mobile

The few negative reviews had me on my guard, but boy, were they off. I travel A LOT, have asthma and extreme allergies, so I know an excellent hotel when I see one - and this is it. NO bad smells or smoking trouble, EXCELLENT service and VERY clean rooms (212). Bonus: WVU stadium is 1mi from the hotel, and they have a free shuttle to boot In short: nicest place in town.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown

Address: 150 Suncrest Towne Center Dr., Morgantown, WV 26505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morgantown
#3 Family Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy many of the comforts of home while on the road at the Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown. With easy access to many of Morgantown’s businesses, the West Virginia University campus, nightlife, dining, shopping and more, this hotel puts you in the center of the action. While you stay, take advantage of free internet access, take a dip in the pool, order a cooked-to-order meal at the Great American Grill or heat up a microwavable meal from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry in the comfort of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown Hotel Morgantown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.