We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Pleasant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Morgan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Morgan to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Morgan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 High Street, Morgantown, WV 26505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Morgantown
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Pleasant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Nice downtown Morgantown hotel. Has an old time feel with a modern update in each room. Not the Ritz but nice! Gives a great opportunity to experience THE WVU life! Certainly wasn't a disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    31
    23
    4
See reviews for
42
34
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I've stayed at the Hotel Morgan several times and had varied experiences but my most recent stay was vastly improved in many regards.

The Hotel Morgan is not for people who like shiny, metal and glass and modern, lifelessness in a hotel. This place has character and that's because it's 85 years old people. It has charm and grace and history and is full of craftsmanship that does not exist anymore.

My room was very tasteful and comfortable. They have improved the bedding and cleanliness of the place and added down comforters. My room also had a sitting area and two beds which were very comfortable. But the best part was the bar and restaurant. What a fabulous place full of charm and grace and original decorations and fixtures. I went for a special occasion and I and my guests had a truly memorable all around stay. I've also been to the restaurant and bar several times and highly, highly recommend it.

I also want to send special compliments to the staff, especially the valet, for their wonderful service. The staff was enthusiastic and wonderful and complied very quickly to my requests. It's nice when someone seems to genuinely want you to have a good time.

Thanks so much Hotel Morgan! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Decor is really bad like a batman yellow theme everywhere. Plus the headboards and mirrors have a weird batman look to them too...kinda hilarious.

Staff wasn't rude but certainly not friendly or helpful

maid never showed

heater worked but no ac so it was either bruning hot or nothing in the room constantly had to get up and change settings

breakfast was pretty nubsy

2 items broken in the room which I told the desk clerks to send someone up after we checked out but they sent them up while we were up there.....welp that's about it.

Also parking is really akward in this area but you can walk to bars

Should've stayed at Hampton

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
153 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have stayed here before and liked the hotel just as well this time. There is no better location if you like to experience Morgantown. You feel like you belong to the town. We stayed for 3 days and felt so relaxed and comfortable when we came back to our crib. The bar is tasteful and the drinks are tasty. The rooms are cozy and warm. Great TV, fast wifi, efficient and friendly staff, valet parking if you want, and the most comfortable beds. Next year in Morgantown -- I'll book again.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were travelling from NC to Toronto and usually stay in Morgantown. The last several times we were not able to get a room right off the highway so I was happy when I found this available as it was getting late. The staff was very helpful, room was nice and spacious, price was right, parking good, etc!!
The only problem we had was FINDING the place!! lol!! The Hotel sign does not say Clarion and we kept getting confused with the one way streets, not sure who was worse, us or the GPS!!! After I realized the HOTEL MORGANTOWN(big red sign on top of the building) was the Clarion we realized we had passed it about 10 times!!! but now I know for next trip!! :-) :-) :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This old fashioned hotel was a nice place to stay in this little town. I stayed here three times over a three year period visiting my sister at WVU. The place is old. It sometimes smelled old, but not dirty. Very clean, Beds were comfy. Continental breakfast was served, including make your own belgium waffles! Yum! Always a plus at a hotel! Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife & I were driving from Atlanta to Pennsylvania for a reunion. Started looking for a place off the interstate beginning at Clarksburg, WV. Everything was booked between Clarksburg & Morgantown due to a convention & football game. Frustrating stopping at every exit with no luck until we hit Morgantown & the Morgan Hotel. Then our luck changed. Great price, good service, comfortable room, everything immaculate, terrific restuarant on the 8th floor. On future trips we will book a room at the Morgan in advance for sure.

Room Tip: call in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#7 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#3 of 23 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#2 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#1 of 23 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
2.1 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#5 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Morgan

Address: 127 High Street, Morgantown, WV 26505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Morgan 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Clarion Hotel Morgan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Morgantown
Clarion Morgantown
Morgantown Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Morgan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.