We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Morgan

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Morgan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Morgan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 High Street, Morgantown, WV 26505-5412   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Still a Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Morgan in Morgantown while checking our daughter into WVU. This older hotel is still very charming. Sure it has some minor things that could be improved but overall it's a great place. Maybe the best thing about the hotel is the service we received both at the front desk and in the hotel's eighth floor restaurant. The Montmartre is a jewel in downtown Morgantown with excellent dishes. Our server, Katie was terrific. She went out of her way to make sure our dinner was special. She even worked the lobby bar the next night and was a delight once again. we will visit our daughter many times in the next four years and will pencil in the Hotel Morgan again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    39
    22
    18
    4
See reviews for
31
24
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed for one night while we toured WVU. Hotel is in an old historic building on High St walking distance to many local eateries and shops in the downtown area. That's the best of it. The room was ok, missing Kleenex and no extra roll of TP, there were sheets in a drawer for the pullout but were musty, there was some peeling wall paper and the bathroom door didn't lock. Minor stuff (except for the TP!). HOWEVER. i needed wifi which the hotel usually has so we could research the area and some other stuff on the university. We were warned on check in that it was out but being worked on. The front desk admitted that they were "borrowing" free wifi from the museum next door. But it was only a good enough signal to use in the lobby which is not ok. By the next AM it was still out and they graciously offered a 25% discount on my room which was just fine. I graciously accepted....The breakfast was weak, ice cold butter and cream cheese, fridge kept, even during breakfast, would not spread, they did have a waffle maker and a toaster and some cereal but the OJ dispenser was not working or empty. The breakfast area is a dismal depressing fluorescent lit utilitarian room on a floor above the lobby. No TV for news etc. The Hotel itself has some gorgeous rooms with incredible woodwork, they could make a better breakfast area. The parking is free but in an outside lot across the street and down a block, there is a small area to pull over and drop luggage on High St., which can be busy, in front of the hotel so that helps.
All in all a little TLC and thoughtfulness would go a long way in this poor old hotel. We paid $109 before the 25% discount.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The Clarion Hotel Morgan is an older, largely unrenovated hotel right smack dab in the center of college town Morgantown. I picked it because it seemed to be a place from which I could walk around and see this terrific city, and that was very true. Service was quite good. The complimentary breakfast was just fine and a nice touch. My room was huge and comfortable. The only downside was a lack of air conditioning in the hallway on my guest floor and an odor on the floor (only in the hallway) that was noticeable and quite foul. That last comment should not deter you from a stay. I think Hotel Morgan is a great place to stay to see WVU and all that comes with it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, WV
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I usually enjoy the break from cookie-cutter, mid-range box hotels while staying at the Hotel Morgan. Conveniently located in downtown Morgantown, the historic hotel is close to several popular restaurants, and a short walk to the river trail and WVU. With free parking and wi-fi. and a moderate price it can be a bargain.

Unfortunately, it is not being maintained. The carpet is worn in the hall and in the rooms, the basement fitness center is hot and dingy, the breakfast room is stark and unmanned, and elevators and halls seem to have a thin layer of dirt. While bed and bath linens along with the bath were clean, the floor had not been vacuumed and the room air conditioner was running, but not keeping up.

Check-in front desk very welcoming - check out not so good. As another reviewer noted a mixed bag for sure - and on this visit the bad out-weighed the good for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a couple nights on business. It is one of the only hotels in downtown Morgantown, so you don't have much of a choice. The hotel is historic in both look and feel. The lobby brings you back to the early 1900's - which is what the rest of the hotel feels like as well. There is allegedly "complimentary" wireless Internet; however, the connection is so slow and sketchy that they might as well offer no internet at all. I could not get any work done from my room because the conncetion was so bad. Also, if you are thinking of ordering room service, you might as well order take-out from a local restaurant. The restaurant in the hotel is supposed to be open until 10pm, but if you call to place an order at 9;15pm you will be told that the kitchen is closed and all they can do is make you a cocktail. Umm, yea sorry I'm not an alcoholic so I won't be having a cocktail for dinner. The furnishings in the hotel are all old, they don't match, and they look like something you would find at a yard sale. Perhaps the best thing about the hotel was the friendly staff. Finally, the parking lot is located down the street and around the corner on a steep hill, but at least it's free. Overall, I would not pick this hotel for a business trip. It may be a nice place to host an event or wedding due to its historic nature, but that's about it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

When I checked in they had me booked in a smoking room, when I clearly stated non-smoking.
Ordered room service - The food came uncovered, no utensils to eat with, missing beverage, no condiments; had to call down for these; 15 minutes later was eating cold food with my fingers; guy finally arrived without beverage and condiments; called down again for beverage and condiments; guy arrived 15 minutes later with uncovered beverage, no ciondiments.
Was asleep (hard to do as I'm an insomniac) when phone rang, no one on other end. Got back asleep, phoine rings again - it's the restaurant - they need me to sign my room service bill so they can close out for the night. Wait 15 minutes for person to bring tab up for signing. Can't get back to sleep and spend the next 8 hours tossing and turning. Room service dishes still on desk when I return to room that evening. Incompetent twits! Asked to have restaurant charge removed from bill.

Room Tip: The whole place smells like stale cigar smoke; if you have allergies, beware. Bed is very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Arrived in town for a 2 day AAU sporting event. We had reservations as a group. We were there at noon and check in was not until 3 PM so we went to find the gym. We stayed at the gym, the others hung out at the hotel and checked-in later. We did not get back to the hotel until late, around 9:00 only to find that there were no rooms. My husband flipped out while I dealt with the desk.

Let me say that, the night shift attendants, Kasey & Zach were AWESOME!! They immediately went into crisis mode and hunted, searched worked hard. The made a phone call and found that someone was not coming and failed to cancel her reservations and...viola! we had a room. They really did a great job.

The hotel has a nice 1920's oldworld charm. Lots of dark woodwork in the lobby and dining room in the back. Marble staircase. It makes you feel quiet upon arrival. Remember, this hotel has been in operation since 1925 and it's an old hotel, but has been kept up very nicely and with pride. Hallways were nice and clean.

Our room was nice. It, and the bathroom were nice and clean. The bathroom is a good size, at least our was. We were in room 409. There is a mini fridge and microwave. Iron and blowdryer. Flatscreen tv was nice too.

Stairwell was nice and wide too. Vending machine on every even numbered floor and ice machine was on every odd numbered floor. Again, this is an old hotel, but well maintained.

The only drawback in this hotel is that their is NO laundry. There is a laundry mat, but it's about 2 and a half blocks away and is only open until 9:00 which did not work well for us because of our game schedule. By the time we got back, they were closed and it was a big hassle to get all the uniforms washed. Plus it's not somewhere to walk alone.

Also, because you are in the city, the parking situation is weird. They have 2 lots. One across from the entrance and one around the corner a bit. It's just a short walk. Make sure you have your tag from the hotel to park in either and if you use the one across the street, you CAN park where the meters are, just have the sticker and DON"T back in, pull because they will give you a ticket. (we asked the meter man that was on duty)

If ever back in Morgantown, WV I would stay again. Lots to do in such a small area. Lots of little store all with in walking distance. We did not get to attend any of the festivities because of our game schedule.

Breakfast was you usual, waffles, yogurt, boiled egg, cereal, toast, muffins. We did not stay the first morning, but did the second. It was just ok.

The only suggestion I have is....they should get a jar of Brasso Polish and buff the daylights out of the elevator doors, inside and out. That and think about installing a small laundry. :)

Room Tip: No laundry room. Make sure you hang your tag for parking, which is across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Morgan

Address: 127 High Street, Morgantown, WV 26505-5412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Morgan 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Expedia so you can book your Clarion Hotel Morgan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Morgantown
Clarion Morgantown
Morgantown Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Morgan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.