We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Morgantown Super 8 Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Morgantown Super 8 Motel to your Saves list
Morgantown Super 8 Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   603 Venture Dr., Morgantown, WV 26505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Avoid if possible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Positives were few: nice location right off interstate and very convenient to restaurants and some shops.
Lots of negatives: our reservation was for 3 people, and they orginally put us in a room with ONE king size bed. So, we called the front desk, and after a brief disagreement with the uninterested clerk, we were moved to a two-double bed room. The room was dirty, sheets had hair on them (so, we down to front desk and received "clean" sheets), bathroom was not clean (toothpaste stains in sink), and the peep hole on the door to the hallway was actually missing. We had to stuff a piece of tissue in the hole in the door so people would not be able to see into the room from the hallway.
The hotel in general is not very well maintained or clean. Several vending machines were either out of order or empty and appeared as if they have been in that condition for months/weeks.
Breakfast is an absolute joke! I never expect a lot from free hotel breakfast, but this one is the worst I have seen, and they should not even bother with it. There were three choices of cold cereal, coffee, juice and some mini-muffins. The breakfast area is similar to the rest of the facility regarding lack of cleanliness and poor maintenance.
Would not return to stay here unless there were no other options.

Room Tip: Best of luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    46
    58
    44
    53
See reviews for
91
42
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GRAND RIVERS
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Room very clean. Bed was way broken in but pillows comfy. Breakfast, not so hot. Was out of coffee on 3 occasions that I attempted to get some, finally went for hot water for tea and coffee came out of it. Not a good selection of foods. Toaster waffles-yuck. Cereal was okay though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The room is pretty small. They have a chair in it that should be taken out. We had just enough room for a travel pack n play. I doubt a full size pack n play would have fit. The placement of the furniture is odd. The tv is on the complete opposite side of the room from the TV. You have to crane your neck to see around the microwave to see the tv. The walls are thin. I could hear everything going on around me. The bed is uncomfortable, way too hard. The pillows are paper thin and the sheets are scratchy. The heater is loud. I think the worst part of the whole stay was coming back, with two tired kids to find that our room had not been cleaned. The guy working the front desk was nice enough to offer to clean the thicker blanket for me. Yes this hotel is convenient to Morgantown attractions, but I don't think I would willingly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RALEIGH
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Upon checking I was told (for the first time) that my credit card was charged for the first time on both rooms reserved. I was then charged again for the next night w/o my permission. I was told my card would be credited "right away" w/o any stipulations. Then I checked @ the front desk on Saturday AM (11/3) and was told it would happen first thing Monday AM (same person who checked us in and told me it would be done"right away") I said ok....so I checked Monday (11/5) AM & PM and nothing was credited to my card. I waited and check again today (Wed 11/7)....no refund. I have called my credit card company to dispute this BS.

Really....no clock in the room?????

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgantown Super 8 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgantown Super 8 Motel

Address: 603 Venture Dr., Morgantown, WV 26505
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Morgantown Super 8 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Morgantown Super 8 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgantown Super 8 Hotel Morgantown
Super 8 Morgantown
Morgantown Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgantown Super 8 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.