We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet spot with good sushi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ogawa Japanese Restaurant

Ogawa Japanese Restaurant
2920 University Ave, Morgantown, WV
304) 598-8338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 227 Restaurants in Morgantown
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Appalachia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Quiet spot with good sushi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This spot was very quiet for lunch with a friend. There was only one other table in the restaurant. Our server had some difficulty understanding us, or vice versa. The manager (?) brought us a complimentary side/appetizer, which I found to be very welcoming and great customer service. The sushi was well constructed and tasty at reasonable prices. My one complaint is parking for this establishment. There are a few spots out front; however, the small parking lot adjoins the busy University Avenue. This means there is no room to turn around and you must either back into or out of your space directly off of or into University Avenue. At peak traffic times, this is nearly impossible. There is a sign indicating additional parking in the rear; however, I circled the building and nearby streets twice and couldn't find this area. The only other parking I found was for nearby rentals or other businesses with signage indicating others would be towed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown
2 reviews
“Not as Good as Volcano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I couldn't help but compare this sushi place to the other newer sushi restaurant called Volcano. The prices weren't as good here nor was the service. I felt rushed by the waiter, who wouldn't stop coming up when we clearly weren't ready, and he took plates too soon. They were friendly however, and the atmosphere was nicely decorated with Japanese masks, figurines, etc.

The sushi tasted good, but the price wasn't too great. I personally recommend going to Volcano instead for lunch specials at least, but Ogawa can take 2nd place in Morgantown.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfordsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

While there isn't a huge selection of sushi beyond the 'normal' stuff, they do offer some interesting Korean dishes. I had the seafood hotpot and it was delicious, sizzling, and wonderfully aromatic. The baked mussel appetizer was very tasty, and the service was great. The older gentleman who seems to run this place was always coming over to make sure our large party was taken care of.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Very good sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

we've enjoyed Ogawa on several occasions when visiting family in Mo'town. very good sushi at reasonable prices. A nice find.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great sushi/sashimi and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I lived in Morgantown for ~2 years and came here about 10 times. It was probably my favourite restaurant in town.

It has a nice atmosphere and plenty of interesting Japanese art and objects on the wall. They have these great Japanese drama masks - all different expressions and some are pretty funny. There's an old Japanese man who always yells something at you, when you enter - I assume he's saying 'hello' lol.

The food was always good - I esp. liked chirashi - a selection of different fish fillets. I think it was $18?

Sushi restaurants can be a bit expensive - I don't mind paying if it's good, but've had plenty of mediocre sushi for inflated prices at some. I always got great food at Ogawa and never begrudged the price tag.

The wait staff were friendly and they serve a nice sake and Japanese beer selection.

Will miss this place, now that I've left town.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ogawa Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ogawa Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ogawa Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.