We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last resort motel? SLEEP IN YOUR CAR!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Morgantown Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Morgantown Motel to your Saves list
Morgantown Motel
2 Smithtown Road, Morgantown, WV 26508   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Staten Island, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“last resort motel? SLEEP IN YOUR CAR!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were bringing my daughter back to WVU to start her senior year. I have vacationed in WV my whole life and have stayed in many hotels. This is an embarrassment to WV. Morgantown should close this place down. There was no lock on the door, the sheets and towels were not clean and we found underwear under the bed. They were not cleaning or maintaining the rooms. If you are faced with with sleeping in your car or staying here, SLEEP IN YOUR CAR!!!

Room Tip: "You would be safer choosing to sleep in your car"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    8
    1
    11
See reviews for
8
1
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rumson, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

An employee walked in our room at 10:00pm, using a master key and not knocking. He didn't speak English. He motioned that he wanted a vacuum cleaner that was left in the room. The bathroom was filthy, with crud build-up along the fixtures, mold on the grout, and missing tiles on the shower wall. The carpets were badly stained. There were flying gnats in the sink. The TV didn't work. The next morning we had to ask for a second room. It was moderately cleaner, but stank of stale cigarettes. No soap, no shampoo, and just one towel---we had to ask for these items. The manager was surly and the front desk staff offered no apologies. There were no other rooms available in other hotels, so we were stuck. For the same price, go to Best Western. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the staff is friendly. This place is a dump and the health department should look into it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We ended up stranded in Morgantown late one night, and our tow truck driver dropped us off here. We paid $66 for a non-smoking room for one night, and ended up being awake the majority of the night due to the room being filled with cigarette smoke(we're both asthmatic); there were even cigarette burns on the bed sheets. There were kids running around the rooms well after midnight, with no supervision. There were gaps in the floor, and trash from previous guests left on the counters and in the drawers. The three ladies in the office were very nice when we checked in around midnight, but that was about the extent of enjoying anything during our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my second stay at the Morgantown motel and It was less than pleasurable!
The lovely young couple managing last year are gone and it has been taken over by a non English speaking couple who you DO NOT WANT TO HAVE TO TRY TO SPEAK TO!

-Good luck getting the new foreign managers to answer the doorbell OR speaking any English.
-They were RUDE!
-The rooms had bugs.
-Must be new housekeepers because the rooms were less than clean and the bed had HAIR in it.
-Guests looked like they were all on drugs. (Very scary!)

They need to burn this place to the ground and start over...in a new location.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked the Morgantown Hotel based on good reviews. After arriving at 11pm we rang the bell and there wasn't any answer after several tries. We had no choice but to go somewhere else. The next morning my husband went to the motel to make sure we weren't charged and let them know what happened. They said they know that the bell is not working and need to fix it. We would not be charged we were told as we hadn't even stayed. Well our Mastercard bill and you guessed it, we were charged. I called and they were frustrated that the mistake was made and promised we'd be refunded. After 3 months, nothing. So we've spoken in person and on the phone. I'll now try e-mailing them. If you won't be there before 8pm, don't book in advance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainfield
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was affordable and met our need for a place not far off our route. A decent shelter from the snow. I would have liked a rug or something as it was impossible to keep the floor clean (gross when going to the very basic bathroom -think gas station like, at night). I know it is cheap, and I would recommend it for a brief stay, staying it was the most "Spartan" room I have had for that price and I have traveled a bit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stopped overnight on our way to Florida. We were looking for a clean room that was moderately priced. This fit the bill. The room had been renovated, except the bathroom floor sloped. The front desk was extremely friendly and helpful, even late at night. The only drawback for us was it is located in town, not near the interstate.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgantown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgantown Motel

Address: 2 Smithtown Road, Morgantown, WV 26508
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Morgantown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgantown Hotel Morgantown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgantown Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.