We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morgantown Motel

Save Saved
You added Morgantown Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Morgantown Motel
2 Smithtown Road, Morgantown, WV 26508   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
DuBois PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed here for over 9 months during the Longview project ( 2010 - 2011 ). It cost $200 a week.

At the time, the owners didn't seem to care too much about the property.
The room I was in, was alright, though the toilet didn't flush correctly.

- Bad Things about the place -
During the winter time, the parking lot was never plowed / shoveled, and I ended up getting stuck a LOT.
I had to buy a space heater, due to the in room heater not working very well.
The room was showing it's age.
Located at a very dangerous intersection.

- Good things about the place -
Very close to everything in Morgantown.
Kept clean.
Always hot water.
The older lady who worked the front was very friendly .
Good view of the river from the back.

Over all it wasn't a bad place to stay, and it was cheap for the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    7
    1
    11
See reviews for
8
1
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you're looking for a cheap & clean place to stay, Morgantown Motel is it. I stayed here due to the extremely low weekly rate. The customer service was OUTSTANDING. The young couple managing the desk were very cheerful and offered great directions to the local resturants and bars. The entire property is slowly being rennovated and has come a long from from my last stay a few years ago. The housekeepers are very detailed and thorough. Very quiet property and has a very "safe" feeling.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are somewhat quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed here last year and it was a complete dump, but low on funds I decided to give it another shot. I was completely amazed. Under new management and newly renovated rooms it was a very pleasant stay! The rooms have new marble bathroom tiling, and new hardwood floors in the room. The bed frames could use some work but they are comfortable brand new mattresses. The new managers are VERY customer service oriented and great to deal with! I plan on returning upon my next visit to Morgantown.

Room Tip: Most rooms have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

Surprise this real old fashioned motel was just the place we needed to sleep. Located right off the highway we found it being remolded and had friendly staff and clean room.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansford, WV
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We just stayed at the Morgantown Motel on Sept 23 & 24th, 2011 for the WVU/LSU game. Was expecting the worst but was very suprised when we got our room. The room had been recently renovated and had laminate floor and was clean. The owner was very nice with helping us ladies plan our day trip down to High Street for the pre game party. The morning coffee was decent and much needed. For the price folks come on you cant beat it and location is great for local cabs and bus to down town. I will return again for our next WVU Game.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

we paid after walking into the office. we deserve all we get. The carpets are filthy.The old guy at the desk had a hacking cough and he was dispatched with another tired looking person to spray our room because of the musty smell.There were dead bugs in the toilet - I think they committed kamakaze. The bed is apparently ok...my old man's asleep....lulled by the passing traffic and the drone of the drink machine outside our door. I'm using the free wi fi!! And chuckling at the only extra in the room besides a broken fire alarm. it's an envelope with a little message on it: "thank you for staying with us! ...Your housekeeper has tried hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible. this envelope has been provided if you wish to leave something for your housekeeper's efforts."
I reccomend you look elsewhere for a more diligent host.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NY
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The staff at this motel is very rude. The fioor in the rooms is slanted. This motel needs to be condemned by the local authorities.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morgantown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgantown Motel

Address: 2 Smithtown Road, Morgantown, WV 26508
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Morgantown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgantown Hotel Morgantown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgantown Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.