We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding party” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505-9282 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“wedding party”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

This was a wedding we attended. I booked two rooms on the phone, for three weekend nights. To summarize up front, I give it a barely average. The rooms weren't big, at 15x27, including bath and closet. The furnishing and beds were just average. Good news: there was a room safe, the bathroom fittings were above average, and the fitness center was big, free, staffed and very good. Bad news, the housekeeping staff was not up to servicing a full hotel. One example, the rooms were partly serviced at 10am but no clean towels appeared until we complained at 6pm. This is a mid-level golfers resort, and they, the golfers, dominate the lobby, mostly. I wouldn't recommend it for couples or family. OK for golf trips with buddies. Nice food and ambiance at the wedding reception, though.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    81
    66
    58
    46
See reviews for
106
81
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2006

My Family and I recently visited this local resort in WV and were totally WOW'D by the hospitality they had.
Upon contacting the resort I learned of the new renovations that had taken place and upon arrival I was very impressed by them. The newwly renovated restaurant Fusion is a must to every guest. They offer both breakfast and dinner and the food and service were, well remarkable. From check in to departure the experience was a very memorable one for the entire family. It was a visit we will chersih and hope to make a yearly event.

  • Liked — Everything was just remakable
  • Disliked — Nothing had a great time
  • Tips/Secrets — It is a must see
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

I didn't want to stay at Lakeview for the wedding, because I live in the area, but it was awesome! The reception was in Reflections Ballroom, which I think used to be a resturant. It overlooked Cheat Lake and the room was decorated so pretty with these great fall center pieces. The wedding was so elegant! the ceremony was on the golf course and it was so romantic. I had a wonderful time! The food was really good, although the twiced baked potatoes were dry. My room was super nice. The bedspread seemed new and the carpets must have just been put in. The staff was really helpful. I just had a wonderful time. I want to have my wedding there!

  • Liked — I felt really safe and it seemed like a lot of stuff was new.
  • Disliked — The elevators were a ittle rough.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you see the library and Reflections they are awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

I recently held a meeting at this property and would recommend it for your next meeting. The staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. We had our dinner in their newly renovated ballroom and it was great. It has a beautiful view of the lake. We were coming from Pittsburgh so a lot of our guests stayed overnight as well. Everyone seemed pleased with their accommodations. We have this meeting on a annual basis and will be looking at Lakeview for next years event as well.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

Had the opportunity of staying at this property during a conference and wasn't really looking forward to it because of a past experience several years ago.

What a nice surprise! Our room had been renovated since my last visit and a wonderful new restaurant had been added as well. The staff was friendly and very helpful, the hotel very clean and the golf course a delight to play. (It helped that our weather was great!)

The property had gone through several other up-dates to our meeting areas and definitely showed an improved attention to detail. We'll be back.

  • Liked — resort feel near a city
  • Disliked — distance from front desk to last rooms on property
  • Tips/Secrets — request one of the newly renovated rooms ... all rooms to be completed by 4/07
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

We stayed here for a wedding. Our "non-smoking room" smelled of butts and had an ashtray on the table; when we questioned this we were told that guests are permitted to smoke if they wish in non-smoking rooms, and would we like the room "ionized again"? Except for the main lobby, most of the resort is downright shabby. The wedding party prepared for the ceremony in a dank locker room that was also serving as a restroom for the golf clubhouse. Food was decent and service was friendly enough, but there is no attention to detail here and the whole place is in need of a month-long shutdown and reno.

  • Liked — Food was decent.
  • Disliked — Resort was in general state of disrepair.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at Waterfront of Clarion instead and just go to Lakeview for golf.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

I got a good rate via priceline $53.00 and stayed July 25th and 26th. The room did not smell of mildew as many have stated previously. We stayed in room #233. The rooms were well appointed and wireless internet access was FREE. I stayed here 2 nights. The indoor pool was a bit cold but the whirlpool was just right., The outdoor pool was a bit cloudy but plenty of towels and lifeguards. .Renovation must be complete but the bathrooms still need work....see picture. I would stay here again. Staff was fine. Never ate at any of the restaurants but this resort also has a golf course with a 19th hole which seemed reasonablly priced. Resort is close to mall. This place is *** rated and it is a true rating. I stayed here and rated this hotel May 12th also.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505-9282 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.