We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend at Lakeview” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505-9282 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
“Wedding Weekend at Lakeview”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I attended a wedding recently at the Lakeview Resort and were blown away by the staff and the resort itself. So much so that I have booked another weekend in October to take advantage of the golf. Thanks the to team at Lakeview for seemingly anticipating all of our needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Lakeview is happy to hear that you had a great experience with your stay and wedding attendance, we pride ourselves on guest satisfaction and lasting impressions. We look forward to seeing you in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    80
    60
    55
    44
See reviews for
103
77
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I recently took my wife and family to a UVA football game and stayed at Lakeview Resort. Could not have asked for a better time! The Kids loved the food, my wife loved the bar and spa and I got to see my favorite team and play some golf with some old alumni buddies! This property has recently gone thru a nice renovation and I loved the improvements they made; the rooms were nicely decorated, comfortable, very quiet and extremely clean!! The staff was the best and provided not only quick and friendly service but offered great recommendations on the sites and places to see outside the resort!

Will be back soon for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Lakeview is happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay while here at the resort, as well as enjoying our activities. We look forward to your return in the future and hopefully you will have a chance to play both of our courses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We reserved a room for 1 king or queen room and was given a room that was old and moldy with 2 twins. There was paint and ceiling failing down in the room. The 80s called and want the phone and TV back. When asked to change rooms due to the odor and rhe atate of the room all I got was a sorry. The real kicker was that our ac unit started to smoke at around midnight and set off the fire alarm. Still no help except keep it off.

Let's just say we will not be back to stay here. I am very disappointed in what was supposed to be a nice establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Lakeview would like to apologize for any disappointment that you had during your stay, the resort is currently under renovation and in the process to get all of the rooms completed. We would love to get a chance to host your lodging needs in the future when you return to Morgantown so you can experience the changes the resort and rooms have gone through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This is makes 2 times we have been the this hotel in the past few months and I have to say that this was great. We when up for the game and because the first time was vary good we went back.we where not disappeared if is heard to work at that level all the time but thou have it going on. The staff was just as good if not better than the last time. We had a condo and that was nice we had more room for the FAM and the pools are great. We will be back in November for a game and I now that it will be great:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Lakeview is glad to hear that you have now made our resort your "home away from home" when traveling to Morgantown. We look forward to seeing you and your Family in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosela1088
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Lakeview over Labor Day weekend. We have stayed there several times before and have never been disappointed. This time we stayed in a condo. While we went to the football game out children had a blast swimming in the 2 outdoor pools. There is also an indoor pool in the hotel and a pool in the massive fitness center. They also enjoyed the playground. The condos are very well equipped. Dishes, pots, pans, coffee maker, washer and dryer, full size fridge. Everything you need! It was nice having the extra space so once the kids went to bed the adults could stay up and not disturb them. The food was also fantastic. Often on breakfast buffets the bacon is soggy, and the eggs are not fresh. But not at Lakeview. the food was all wonderful. The omelet attendant was also very nice.
If you are traveling to Morgantown Lakeview is the place to state. It's pretty, it's easy to get to, and the service is top notch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Lakeview is glad to hear that you and your family had a great long weekend here at the resort! We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your experience in the condos and enjoyed the amendies. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very quiet, and nice. Queen beds would have been nice, but we managed ok. I wish they would have told us how far away our room was from the main entrance. The food could have been better for the price for breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Lakeview's staff and management would like to thank youfor taking the time to write your review, we are glad to see that your stay was delightful. We also want to thank you for the suggestions we will be sure to make sure that our staff takes the extra strives to make sure they are giving helpful information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The first room we were given was disgusting. There was an odor of mold that hit our nose as soon as we opened the door. Once inside, only one light worked and we noticed ceiling droppings on one of the chairs. There were spots of mold all over the ceiling. I was like "hell no, I AM NOT STAYING HERE." The desk clerk was very helpful and gave us a new room. The new room was larger and one of the redecorated rooms they show on their website. I had my 83 yr old mother, 2 young grandchildren and my husband whom is recovering from a heart attack with me. I could not have stayed if they could not have offered an acceptable room. They do not have a refrigerator in the rooms but offer them at 10 $ per night. I explained we needed one to accommodate my husbands special diet. They did not have one avail the first night but brought one to us the next afternoon and did not charge us for it. The pools were great for the kids. The staff was
fantastic! The golfing was amazing (not mine but the courses and the views!). The bar was nice. We only stayed for one drink since I was the only one drinking - thanks honey! We did not eat there so I cannot comment but smelled great! All in all thinking about getting a group of girlfriends together for next year to come on down for a long weekend. Hope they get the remaining rooms cleaned up and remodeled!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and writing about your stay, Lakeview is happy to hear that we were able to have you stay in one of our renovated rooms. The resort is in the process of getting all of the rooms completed and will be done in plenty of time next year when you visit with your girlfriends for a long weekend! We look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505-9282 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.