We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel to stay at for WVU football games” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505-9282 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel to stay at for WVU football games”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This is makes 2 times we have been the this hotel in the past few months and I have to say that this was great. We when up for the game and because the first time was vary good we went back.we where not disappeared if is heard to work at that level all the time but thou have it going on. The staff was just as good if not better than the last time. We had a condo and that was nice we had more room for the FAM and the pools are great. We will be back in November for a game and I now that it will be great:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Lakeview is glad to hear that you have now made our resort your "home away from home" when traveling to Morgantown. We look forward to seeing you and your Family in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    82
    66
    58
    46
See reviews for
107
81
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
rosela1088
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Lakeview over Labor Day weekend. We have stayed there several times before and have never been disappointed. This time we stayed in a condo. While we went to the football game out children had a blast swimming in the 2 outdoor pools. There is also an indoor pool in the hotel and a pool in the massive fitness center. They also enjoyed the playground. The condos are very well equipped. Dishes, pots, pans, coffee maker, washer and dryer, full size fridge. Everything you need! It was nice having the extra space so once the kids went to bed the adults could stay up and not disturb them. The food was also fantastic. Often on breakfast buffets the bacon is soggy, and the eggs are not fresh. But not at Lakeview. the food was all wonderful. The omelet attendant was also very nice.
If you are traveling to Morgantown Lakeview is the place to state. It's pretty, it's easy to get to, and the service is top notch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Lakeview is glad to hear that you and your family had a great long weekend here at the resort! We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your experience in the condos and enjoyed the amendies. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very quiet, and nice. Queen beds would have been nice, but we managed ok. I wish they would have told us how far away our room was from the main entrance. The food could have been better for the price for breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Lakeview's staff and management would like to thank youfor taking the time to write your review, we are glad to see that your stay was delightful. We also want to thank you for the suggestions we will be sure to make sure that our staff takes the extra strives to make sure they are giving helpful information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The first room we were given was disgusting. There was an odor of mold that hit our nose as soon as we opened the door. Once inside, only one light worked and we noticed ceiling droppings on one of the chairs. There were spots of mold all over the ceiling. I was like "hell no, I AM NOT STAYING HERE." The desk clerk was very helpful and gave us a new room. The new room was larger and one of the redecorated rooms they show on their website. I had my 83 yr old mother, 2 young grandchildren and my husband whom is recovering from a heart attack with me. I could not have stayed if they could not have offered an acceptable room. They do not have a refrigerator in the rooms but offer them at 10 $ per night. I explained we needed one to accommodate my husbands special diet. They did not have one avail the first night but brought one to us the next afternoon and did not charge us for it. The pools were great for the kids. The staff was
fantastic! The golfing was amazing (not mine but the courses and the views!). The bar was nice. We only stayed for one drink since I was the only one drinking - thanks honey! We did not eat there so I cannot comment but smelled great! All in all thinking about getting a group of girlfriends together for next year to come on down for a long weekend. Hope they get the remaining rooms cleaned up and remodeled!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and writing about your stay, Lakeview is happy to hear that we were able to have you stay in one of our renovated rooms. The resort is in the process of getting all of the rooms completed and will be done in plenty of time next year when you visit with your girlfriends for a long weekend! We look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Love this place. The beauty of WV mountains and lakes shine here. Recently stayed in a condo at Lakeview for a girls weekend. We all had a blast. All the staff we encountered, especially one of the managers, Justin Reedy, went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Our place was clean and tables set up as we had requested for scrapbooking. They even provided us with cold drinks. We even watched a beautiful outside wedding that was going on a the resort. If you ever need a place today, a relaxing weekend away, even if you are from the area, this is the place to go. Thanks Lakeview staff.

Room Tip: Ask for Justin Reedy, he will make sure you receive the best accommodations to fit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Lakeview would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your enjoyable experience, Justin was happy to hear that he made a impact on your stay. Anytime you are in Morgantown to stay over night or just a day visit, please stop by and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Dropped my son off for his freshmen year at West Virginia and needless to say it was very difficult to get a good hotel room. Booked the Lakeview Scanticon at the last minute and it was the best decision I made. This place was great, service was awesome, food was very good, huge fitness facility with basketball court. Oh and did I say golf course as well can’t wait to go back and visit my son again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Lakeview is happy to hear that your travel experience was one to remember, and we were able to relieve some of the stress of dropping your child off at college. We look forward to hosting your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at Lakeview earlier this year during a trip to Morgantown. The resort is nestled quietly on Morgantown's Cheat Lake and about 10-15 minutes away from WVU's main campus. Upon check-in, I was informed that I was going to be upgraded free of charge to the Governor's Suite, which, as you can imagine, was a pleasant surprise. I immediately took notice of the pleasantry of the entire staff. They all went out of their way to make sure my stay was a pleasant experience, and they were more than helpful with anything I needed. The golf course is pretty nice and the sports bar and deck had a good atmosphere the weekend I stayed. It is true that some of the amenities are in need of updating, but I understood that is in the works. If you are interested in a nice, scenic, quiet getaway, perhaps visiting WVU, and enjoy a nice round of golf, there's no better place around Morgantown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind words, Lakeview staff and management take pride in our guests experiences and make it our quailty of service to go above and beyond. We look forward to hosting your needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505-9282 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.