We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It served the purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505-9282 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“It served the purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were in town for a wedding and stayed at the Lakeview especially because of it's convenient location. Because of that convenience and the fact that we had a bed to sleep in and a place to use as our home base for the weekend...it simply served it's purpose, otherwise...it was not up to our standards of quality that we look for in a hotel. In a couple words, I would describe it as outdated and dirty. First of all we had been talking with the hotel daily for the week prior to verify our reservations and the fact that we would be checking in late, so they only had "one room left" ehrn we finally checked in and the roll away bed hadn't even been delivered yet. Upon entering the room, there was an empty yoplait yoghurt container on the desk. The tv's were small and the old boxy style, not flat cressn and the channels were very limited. We were looking for the remote and when checking under the beds, you could clearly see that the vacuum stopped at the edge of the bedcovers...there was food and wrappers...ughhh..the lights over the bed did not work in our room...there was a ledge up into the bathroom and we all kept tripping over it and finally a parent's worst nightmare, our 6 year old tripped and almost went head first into the toilet porcelain..thankfully he missed it by a hair...on that note..there were hairs all over the bathroom...our toilet kept running at night so we had to keep taking the back off to jiggle the toilet guts and outside of our room at the ned of the hallway was a very loud air conditioner...with a high pitched rattling sound all of the time..thankfully we didn't spend much time here...just ti sleep at night. I will say that when we got to the room and there was no roll away bed, we called and it was delivered within 10 minutes..and we were given extra towels...and then on our last day there we called and they were kind enough to give us an extra hour to check out. Also, Spa Roma associated with the Resort was amazing and so therapeutic and professional...worth checking out...So, service was good, cleanliness and quality could definitely improve.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    80
    61
    56
    46
See reviews for
103
78
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at Lakeview this past weekend for a wedding. Had a great time. I dont usually write reviews and dont believe in them either way but had to thank them for a great weekend. the wedding was alot of fun and the food was great for a hotel. we went to the bar afterwards andthe deck bartender was a hoot, she made sure we all had fun. I understand that the hotel is going to be rennovated after overhearing a clerk at the front desk tell an upset guest because the size of his TV was too small. honestly, my room seemed clean to me. Overall we all hareat time. we will be back, actually made a reservation in October to play golf.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

On a one night trip to Morgantown we pricelined a 3-star room for a decent price and got Lakeview. What a mistake! The hotel rooms are very worn, very dirty, the TV was a 12" size with very few channels. There was hardly any water pressure in the shower and there was visible dust on the carpet in spots that signified that those spots hadn't seen a vacuum in a long time. Very disappointing and not at all a 3 star place! Avoid this place if you can!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I would have to agree with some of the other posts regarding the resort being a little bit outdated. With that being said, it is to my understanding that the entire place will be remolded by next year. However, when I go to a resort the most important thing is not how BEAUTIFUL the rooms are, but how the establishment is all around. The staff, including management, went above and beyond. They over delivered, not over promised. The food was tely amazing. The porions were genuorous, yet not overpriced for the quailty of food. This is really hard to find no days. I am giving then an excellent grading simply because of how wonderful the staff was with our family. I have been to several other resorts where the rooms were fabuous, but the service was horrible. Thanks to the Lakeview staff for making our stay so enjoyable!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here as part of an annual golf weekend getaway with a bunch of friends within driving distance of Pittsburgh. Needed somewhere with two courses. This place is like a step back in time - dated rooms and overall ambiance. Service is generally non-existent b/c it's either college students or 70 year old women. The golf course at Lakeview is just awful - we played there and Mountainview, and let me just say that Mountainview was a pleasant surpise, why it's materially cheaper than Lakeview is beyond me. MOuntainview is in better shape, is a better layout, is more challenging, and is more aethetically pleasing. Mountainview is just an all-around better course. In addition, at Lakeview there always seemed to be random people walking around all over the course. Just strange.

In addition, the golf starters and clubhouse people at Lakeview were generally aloof and didn't care about anything. Sure they're college kids, but at least act like you care about your job - that's what the real world is like. I played twice on Saturday as part of a golf and stay package, and i found out at 8pm after my round i was supposed to pay $24 for a cart fee separately for my second round. Oops. I shouldn't have been able to get on that course without some sort of slip if anyone cared. So i find myself $24 richer today.

Food was actually pretty good in the main dining area, so that was a plus. The outdoor bar overlooking the 18th hole was also awesome. The Food and Drink keeps this place at a 3 out of 5. If you're a serious golfer, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sports33, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologize for your golf experience. Golf is one of our greatest features at the resort and has always yielded a positive experience for our guests. I hope you will give us another opportunity to provide the true Lakeview experience.

Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here because we were playing golf at resort. Rooms were extremely dated. Hotel and room was clean but furniture and bedding looked like it was from the 80's. Ice machine didn't work. Golf course nice but not worth the money

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sports33, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize for your negative guest room experience. We are about to embark on a major rennovation that will restore Lakeview to its original charm. We are very excited about this hope you will give us another opportunity with our rennovated product. This will be finished in early Spring of 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, mi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The poor quality of this hotel motivated me to write my first review. The rooms (3), were run down, dirty, and my rooms ceiling had water damage and the paint was falling off. The grounds are very spread out and not easy to get to lobby/eating area. The 19" tv needs to be upgraded. For the price, $200 per night, this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. I also assumed that breakfast would have been included in the price...never assume.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sports33, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for the constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. The guest experience has always been our number one goal. I do apologize that we fell short in providing a lasting memory. We are about to begin a major rennovation (October), that will restore Lakeview to its original splender. This will be completed in early Spring of 2013. I hope you will give us another opportunity to provide the true Lakeview experience.

Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505-9282 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.