We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeview Resort April 2012” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505-9282 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Henrico, Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lakeview Resort April 2012”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Place is dated. Needs some renovations. They seem to care more about the golfers that flock to the resort and not the people staying in the Hotel. Staff wasn't very helpful at the front desk. We had a party of 4 attending a wedding and only had towels for 2, called and asked for more and they said they are being laundered they would have us extra by 2pm. Wedding started at 3:30 guess what they never bothered to bring the extra towels. When I brought it up at check out they could care less. Now the staff working the receptions was exceptional. KUDOS out to those people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald c, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
I apologize you did not experience the high level of service we have set as our standard of service for check in. Our goal is to treat all guests with the same high level of attention, golfers and wedding guests alike. Thank you for your positivie comments regarding our catering and conference services staff. We host almost 100 weddings a year and receive compliments like yours often. As mentioned in my reply to other reviews, please be advised that we are embarking on a renovation program this spring and fall that will address guest rooms and public spaces.
Thank you for your comments, they assist us with improving operations.
Sincerely,
Ron Cadrette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    79
    58
    53
    42
See reviews for
96
75
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ft. myers fl
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Having read several negative reviews we were not expecting much here, so we were pleasantly surprised during our one-night stay on Easter week-end. The staff was polite, friendly and helpful, the room was large enough and very clean and the food in the dining room was more than acceptable. The golf course was open. We didn't play but walked a few holes and it looked like a decent track in pretty good shape for so early in the year. All told, much more pleasant than many of the cookie-cutter places you find at highway interchanges. Some reviewers had trouble finding it, but our GPS took us right to the front door. It's only a five-minute drive to the usual chain restaurants if that's a requirement, and only 10 minutes back to I-79, which is the route we were travelling. No big deal, and a really pleasant change from the norm. One needed up-date: new TV sets. And, breakfast is not included. (see the 5-minute drive, above).We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor, facing the parking lot but with pleasant golf course and hill views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald c, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
thank you for the thoughtful comments. I have shared them with our staff who take pride in providing high levels of service. We look forward to your next visit
Ron Cadrette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Purchased a night at the resort on a hot deal from Hotwire. The resort is located 15 miles from Morgantown, which was three times as far as Hotwire specified it would be. The room was clean and seemed to be recently updated as opposed to some of the other comments posted. The beds are in need of replacing, they are very soft. There is a free continental breakfast which we just happened to figure out while walking around the resort the night before. There was no mention of this when booking or upon check in, which I thought was odd. Tried to use the fitness center, which looked incredible but it closes at 9:00 on Saturday and we arrived, dressed and ready to go @8:50. Again, it would have been nice to have been told the hours when checking in. Be sure to contact the hotel directly for directions. We were within less than a mile of the resort and there was a bridge out so had to backtrack and go a different way, which made the distance even further than anticipated and more frustrating. Over all we were happy with our stay, the front desk person just fell short of giving us vital information.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald c, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of Lakeview Golf Resort,
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit. I regret the bridge which is currently under
construction presented a challenge finding the resort. Using the GPS address 170 lakeview drive and using exit 10 solves this until the bridge is reopened in October.
We look forward to your next visit
Ron Cadrette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesage, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Spent a three day weekend at the resort attending the WV Lions Leadership School. Since it was winter, no one could play golf which is the main draw during good weather. The resort is an older one that has been upgraded. Much like a medium priced motel. Staff was friendly and catered to our every need. Food was included as a package deal and was good. Enjoyed relaxing in the room with the fireplace - complete with a small library. Our time was tightly scheduled so we didn't check out the pool, etc. The area is quite beautiful surrounding the resort which was a bit difficult to find due to a road that was closed. Would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: A room close to the elevators as the resort is quite large and requires a lot of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald c, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Granny Rose,
thank you for your kind comments. Our staff appreciates reading comments like yours,
especially when they relate to such a great event like Festival of Food and Wine.
We look forward to seeing you back next year or in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband and I attended the 28th annual Food and Wine Festival held at the Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa from January 20-22, 2012 and had a wonderful time! First of all, let me comment on the facilities. Despite the average and below average reviews on Trip Advisor, my husband and I were pleasantly surprised with the resort itself. Yes, it is an older place but it has been renovated and is very nicely appointed. The common areas are very nice, colorful and modern. The Fushion restaurant is upscale and serves delicious food. We had a Trip Across America Buffet the first night and everything was delicious and we had drinks in the Legends bar and it is very modern also. The banquet and meeting rooms are nicely decorated and accommodating. We did not use the pool, spa or fitness facilities so I cannot comment on these. As for the room we got, it was a H/C king sized room on the second floor of the main building. It was very spacious, had newer furniture, wallpaper and carpeting and was very clean. Yes, the bedspreads could be newer and they could upgrade the tvs and clock radios but we found the room to be fine.

As for the Food and Wine Festival, it was a wonderful event! This was our first time there and we will definitely go back. Kuddos to the Food and Beverage Manager, Mr. Murphy, and the various other managers, chefs, staff, visiting chefs and vendors. Friday night there was a manager's reception with delicious appetizers, beer, wine, soft drinks, followed by the first cooking demonstration. Saturday included a breakfast buffet followed by various cooking demonstrations, wine tastings, beer tastings and a vendor market. They had an Iron Chef competition that was both educational and entertaining. The evening was capped by a cocktail and appetizer reception followed by an exquisite dinner. Everything the chefs cooked and demonstrated on Friday and Saturday was set up in stations around the elegant Reflections Ballroom that overlooks Cheat Lake. The managers, chefs and staff were so attentive to everyone and the food was some of the best we have ever eaten. The evening ended with a drawing for prizes but we were not lucky winners. On Sunday, the event ended with a great chef's brunch. We talked to many people who attend this weekend every year and we can understand why. If you are interested in learning new recipes, cooking techniques, eating delicious food and just relaxing and enjoying yourself for a weekend, the Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa's Food and Wine Festival is worth going to!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald c, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa
during our Festival of Food & Wine event. Our team takes great pride in this event each
year. I also would like to share with you that we are embarking on a renovation program this
spring and fall. We look forward to seeing at next years event, or sooner.
Ron Cadrette, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amity, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband and I went to Lakeview Resort and Spa for the New Years Eve Package. We booked just for the one night. The front desk staff were all very nice. Our room, being that we booked late, we got 2 dbl beds. They were comfy. Also, got a refrig. for $10 and the delivered it immediatley. Room was very typical. It was clean and had a great shower! We also had an in room safe, full iron and ironing board, alarm clock, soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion full size hair dryer and make up remover wipes. They had a large, clean and warm indoor pool that went to 8 or 9 Ft and an older model hot tub that could accodimate prob 4-5 ppl. also indoor. They also have towels in the pool area so you don't have to bring towels from your room.
We had dinner (buffet) and breakfast (buffet) in their resturant (Fusion) both meals were excellent with a large variety of foods to choose from. Wait staff in the resturant were very nice too!
This resort wasn't 5 star. It's a very average hotel. More-so a hotel than I'd say a resort. It's a older property and is a bit worn and tired.
However, it was a nice time.

Room Tip: Request a lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald c, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa
during our New Year's Eve Event. Our team takes great pride in this event each
year. I regret you didn't have the opportunity to enjoy all of our wonderful amenities including Golf courses, indoor tennis courts, pools, hot tubs, rock climbing wall, Spa, steam room, fitness center, and saunas, Maybe next time!I also would like to share with you that we are embarking on a renovation program this
spring and fall. We look forward to seeing at next years event, or sooner.
Ron Cadrette, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

paid $60 on priceline for 3.5 stars,it's no better than any aging best western.located in a remote area,it's deceiving to call it a morgantown hotel.probably much lilier in the summer during golf season,not much doing in dec.

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald c, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa
in December. I agree that we are more of a resort than a typical hotel.
We offer many wonderful amenities including Golf courses, indoor tennis courts, pools, hot tubs, rock climbing wall, Spa, steam room, fitness center, and saunas. There were days even in December this year when we played Golf!
I also would like to share with you that we are embarking on a renovation program this
spring and fall. I hope you will consider visiting again in the future.

Ron Cadrette, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
6.1 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#2 of 22 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#3 of 22 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
6.7 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#5 of 22 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#1 of 22 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
5.9 mi away
Euro Suites Hotel
Euro Suites Hotel
#7 of 22 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Kitchenette, Bu...
Show More
4.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#9 of 22 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505-9282 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.