We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Facts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505-9282 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Amity, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Facts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband and I went to Lakeview Resort and Spa for the New Years Eve Package. We booked just for the one night. The front desk staff were all very nice. Our room, being that we booked late, we got 2 dbl beds. They were comfy. Also, got a refrig. for $10 and the delivered it immediatley. Room was very typical. It was clean and had a great shower! We also had an in room safe, full iron and ironing board, alarm clock, soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion full size hair dryer and make up remover wipes. They had a large, clean and warm indoor pool that went to 8 or 9 Ft and an older model hot tub that could accodimate prob 4-5 ppl. also indoor. They also have towels in the pool area so you don't have to bring towels from your room.
We had dinner (buffet) and breakfast (buffet) in their resturant (Fusion) both meals were excellent with a large variety of foods to choose from. Wait staff in the resturant were very nice too!
This resort wasn't 5 star. It's a very average hotel. More-so a hotel than I'd say a resort. It's a older property and is a bit worn and tired.
However, it was a nice time.

Room Tip: Request a lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald c, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa
during our New Year's Eve Event. Our team takes great pride in this event each
year. I regret you didn't have the opportunity to enjoy all of our wonderful amenities including Golf courses, indoor tennis courts, pools, hot tubs, rock climbing wall, Spa, steam room, fitness center, and saunas, Maybe next time!I also would like to share with you that we are embarking on a renovation program this
spring and fall. We look forward to seeing at next years event, or sooner.
Ron Cadrette, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    82
    66
    58
    46
See reviews for
107
81
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

paid $60 on priceline for 3.5 stars,it's no better than any aging best western.located in a remote area,it's deceiving to call it a morgantown hotel.probably much lilier in the summer during golf season,not much doing in dec.

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald c, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa
in December. I agree that we are more of a resort than a typical hotel.
We offer many wonderful amenities including Golf courses, indoor tennis courts, pools, hot tubs, rock climbing wall, Spa, steam room, fitness center, and saunas. There were days even in December this year when we played Golf!
I also would like to share with you that we are embarking on a renovation program this
spring and fall. I hope you will consider visiting again in the future.

Ron Cadrette, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We have beent to Lakeview several times. The location is great and the surroundings are beautiful. Very close to WVU and the center of town but still feels like you are secluded. Golf course is beautiful. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is dated but clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald c, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review. Our team takes great pride in providing excellent
service and our location off exit 10 on US RT 68 is very convenient. I also would like to share with you that we are embarking on a renovation program this
spring and fall.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Ron Cadrette, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

company christmas dinner was held here and rooms were blocked off at a discount price for anyone wanting to stay the night. my wife and i booked one of the rooms for $69.00. what i thought was going to be a great room at a resort for a price like this turned out to be only average room that was outdated. rooms need painted and new carpets installed. heater was loud and didnt regulate temp very well. this should be their regular price all the time for a room of this caliber. the dinner/dance was nice. food was good, but we could have used more room for a party as large as ours. would probably only stay again, if our party is scheduled there again next year, dont think i would just book a room to stay there for relaxation. definitely would not pay high price.

Room Tip: dont know about choosing a better room, but i will tell you that it is hard to find this hotel when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald c, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa
in December.
Our location off exit 10 on US RT 68 is very convenient and then follow the signs for Cheat Lake
and Lakeview Resort. I apologize if this was confusing.
I also would like to share with you that we are embarking on a rooms and public space renovation program this spring and fall.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Ron Cadrette, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I got a room here off of Priceline for $150 a night. What a dump! We were so angry. It was listed as Morgantown and was actually in another county and took him a half hour to get to the stadium to watch the game. It was cold, so I stayed to watch it in the room, and it wasn't on. Instead I took a nap and got ate up by bedbugs! There was a dirty wash cloth from the prior guest still hanging on the shower rod that fell into the tub when I opened the curtain. There was a sock from another guest on the floor near the bed. Carpet was torn, elevators were nasty dirty, the place stunk like dirty socks. It was filthy. Hair in the sink and tub. We had already wasted our money and had to fly out the next morning, so we stayed. If I'd known about the bedbugs, I'd have slept in the car. The food in the bar was trash. They burnt my sandwich and served it to me anyway. Expensive and not edible. This low class dump should go for $39 a night at most. We will never use Priceline again over this fiasco. Run fast in any direction away from this rat hole.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald c, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa
in October.
Lakeview Resort & Spa is located on Cheat Lake in Morgantown which is in the county
of Monongahela.
I apologize our accomodations didn't meet your expectations or our standards.
Our rooms are inspected for cleanliness and sanitation and I can assure you we do not
have bed bugs.
Travel to the foot ball stadium can take up to 30 minutes for most locations and at certain times during WVU football games. Again please accept my apologies.
We are embarking on a rooms and public space renovation program this spring and fall.
Ron Cadrette, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I had my wedding at Lakeview and can say overall I was pleased with how organized and helpful the event staff was. The rest of the facility could use some help. The rooms were a little outdated for the price we paid- and we even stayed in a luxury suite. Complimentary breakfast was in no way spectacular, just the normal bread and cold cerial. The biggest complaint I have is upon loading our car the following day, we discovered our room key was no longer working. When I went back to the front desk, the entire 2nd floor was there complaining about the same thing. At that point, one would think to maybe call for some technical advice, but instead they kept handing us new keys every time we went back down. Eventually a maid let us back in our room. Not sure how the other guests on the floor were able to enter their rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald c, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review. Our team takes great pride in providing excellent
service, especially for special occasions like your wedding.
I apologize you experienced problems on check out day with the electronic keys. They are program to expire 2 hours after check out time and perhaps this explains the challenges. In any case we invite you back to celebrate your anniversary compliments of the resort.
Please contact me personally so I may assist in this important occasion.

I also would like to share with you that we are embarking on a renovation program this
spring and fall.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Ron Cadrette, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

The place is not as nice as pictures show. the staff is clueless about what it means costumer services.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald c, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
I apologize you did not experience the high level of service enjoyed by so many of our other guests. We high standards of service for our resort and I regret this was not what you encountered.
Please contact me directly and I would be happy to discuss with you in greater detail.
Ron Cadrette, General Manager 304-594-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505-9282 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.