We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun parent's weekend/ WVU” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505-9282 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun parent's weekend/ WVU”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Wanted a place my daughter and I could play golf and visit for WVU parent's weekend. Not the best golf weather - wet but did eventually clear for a nice evening of play. Room was nice, wifi easy to connect. Used the hot tub/indoor pool facility and buffet for dinner. Needed extra towels, called desk and they were delivered within five minutes which was very appreciated. Very nice two day visit. We had a lot of fun staying here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    82
    66
    58
    46
See reviews for
107
81
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for my sisters wedding. Rooms were over priced and outdated. I would not stay here again. They messed up almost everyone's reservation. We had a condo reserved and when we went to check in they gave us a room w a connected room because they didn't have a condo available. The connected room had a pull down bed that felt like you were
Sleeping on a board. After the first night I slept on the love seat because it was more comfortable. The toilet when flushed sounded like it was about to fly off. That was in every room. Room service sucked and the workers especially bartenders were very rude. The only nice workers were the front desk. I would not recommend a room or as reception area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Calling this a "resort" is a stretch. While the fitness facility (not attached, but down the street) was phenomenal, the rooms were lackluster and outdated-- old wallpaper, old furniture, dirty looking bedspreads. The photos on this website are clearly of the luxury suites, not the regular rooms.
I ordered room service for breakfast, and only half of it arrived. The fruit on the fruit plate looked lovely, but tasted old. Lakeview is a letdown, which is a shame because Cheat Lake is so lovely. Do yourself a favor and stay in one of downtown Morgantown's several Marriott properties.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have chosen Lakeview for our annual fraternity reunion for the past 5 years or so. We are very well taken care of by the staff, who now comes to expect us every September. Very accomodating to the golfers in our group and very tolerant of 40 somethings who show up very year and pretend they are 20 for a weekend.

Looking forward to next years trip already

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

legends sports bar and deck are great. front desk staff, bar staff, golf staff are all fantastic. golf course was great. the views are awesome. state of the art fitness center. convenient to route 68. stayed there many times for football(season ticket holder) and I won't stay anywhere else. the waitress's in the restaurant and sports bar are GREAT with my kids.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The golf experience was great. The cottage was very roomy, clean and comfortable. Meals were generally very good, other than ribs at the bar. Overall, a very enjoyable time for a first visit to the U.S.

Room Tip: Cottages are great for a larger group or family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence Forge, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We have been to this resort several times. Service has always been excellent and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Food at the restaurants is great; the chiefs and staff try to do their best to make you feel special. They have a great food and wine fest in January, and also great Valentines, Mother's Day and other activities year round. Great for golfers, food enthusiasts and families. Would highly recommend to friends and family, have done so several times.

Room Tip: Have been there several times and never had a problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505-9282 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.