We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quiet stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Comfort Inn Drive, Morgantown, WV 26508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Rockwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a quiet stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay in the Comfort Inn in Morgantown. We weren't sure we'd made a good choice when we read the reviews but we had a good room with a king bed, frig and microwave - which we requested and got when we arrived and we had our 13 yr. old Wheaten Terrier with us too.
Apparently the inn is under new management and trying to live down the reputation they had. The inn is just off Interstate 68, just of Interstate 79 and in a quiet country setting. Our only complaint was tiny holes in the sheet and one pillowcase - but still very clean and well looked after!
It was an Easter Sunday so it was hard to find an open restaurant that did take-out - we don't leave our dog in the room - instead get take-out then re-heat in the microwave when we get back. We did eventually find a Shoneys that was open after trying the 2 restaurants that were recommended - by the clerk,Chris, forgetting it was Easter Sunday - he apologized the next day! and was glad we'd found something open.
The location is really nice - on a hill overlooking the town.
We'll definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M Shawn R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay here an the Comfort Inn Morgantown, we greatly appreciate the positive feedback on how our staff made your stay as comfortable as possible. We take pride in our hotel and strive to do anything we can to make it a clean and pleasant stay. Again thank your for choosing the Comfort Inn Morgantown and we look forward to seeing you again on your future travels to Morgantown!
Sincerely,

M. Shawn Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    21
    22
    29
See reviews for
40
18
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a terrible stop on a recent road trip. We should have been warned by the parking lot full of potholes--this place is just not well maintained. Checkin went fine, until we got to the room and found it unmade and unready. So we got moved to a second room--non-smoking--that smelled of smoke. After a long day, we headed to the hot-tub to find it puke-warm. Back to the room for a shower, and the thing backed up so that I was standing in three inches of water. Then I grab a towel and it is dirty. Relax for a couple hours, and get into bed, and my daughter's pillow has smelly stains on it. The sleep was poor with springs sticking into my back.

That all being said, the breakfast was good.

Would I repeat - not a chance!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M Shawn R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I want to thank you for staying with us. I apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. We are in the process of fixing the issue with the potholes on the access road to the property and we hope you will join us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

i havent stayed in very many hotels,but i asked friends to recommend a good place to stay.they all said you have to go to comfort inn in morgantown.i am so glad that i took thier advice,the room was perfect,the rate was great,and the staff was so nice and helpful.jennifer was very helpful in directing us to local resturants and the best place to get gas.she really made me feel at home.this was the best overnight stay that i've had.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Chris was fantastic!! He checked on a Room to see if it was ready to accommodate my request!! Unreal!! Great service and going the extra mile will get me back! Internet not too fast really slow! T.V. Channels not bad!! Hotel overall clean and alot nicer than it looks!! I will stay there again!Rate very fair!!

Room Tip: Get your coupon at the Rest Area or welcome center will save you a bunch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temika H, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to share your recent experience with us. We are happy that you were pleased by the service that you received from Chris and will pass along your comments to him. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Morgantown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

There is not much in walking distance but lots of things within a short drive. Only a couple of food delivery services. Some rooms have micro fridge, the fitness area is just a treadmill and couple of stationary bikes with a hot tub. The internet is very very slow so don't count on it to work. During the week there are lots of construction crews staying there so you might call ahead for a reservation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temika H, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were on a "road trip" weekend when we decided to stop for the night. The hotel staff was very friendly, breakfast was great, and the room was Super! We had a jacuzzi tub and the room was extremely clean. We would Definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Great Location, close enough to town, but far enough away not to be involved in the traffic congest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temika H, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent road trip. We are happy that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again on your next weekend road trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family of four stayed in this hotel for one night on road trip in July. We have stayed at many Comfort Inn hotels, as my husband travels a lot and we have loyalty points with the chain. I have to say I am surprised that this hotel is allowed to be affiliated with the Comfort Inn name.

Obviously, if you stay at a Comfort Inn, you are not expecting luxury, but you are expecting clean and reasonably well maintained, right? Well this hotel was neither.

Some of our complaints: Carpets were stained- not little stains but BIG stains. There was a big squashed dead bug on the ceiling, my 8 year old reported that the sofa bed mattress felt like she was sleeping on rocks (and she has lots of experience with sofa beds), the legs on the coffee table in the room were barely attached, one of cabinet doors was hanging on by one hinge, in the bathroom the towel rack was horribly bent and the towels all slid to one side... the whole room just felt gross.

This hotel seems like it has hosted too many college parties in it's life and is in need of refurbishment.

Look, I am not that picky and I am generally a "glass is half full kinda person", but this place is not what a person expects from a Comfort Inn.

I would NOT stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temika H, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to inform us of your experience in July 2012. It is unfortunate to hear about the problems that you encoutered and the inconveniences they may have caused. The hotel is currently under new management and the issues and problems that you experienced have been addressed and are no longer issues that you would encounter. On behalf of the entire staff here at Comfort Inn Morgantown we apologize for the problems you had during your stay and hope that you would consider stoping by the next time you are in the area to see the improvements being made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 225 Comfort Inn Drive, Morgantown, WV 26508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Morgantown
Comfort Inn Morgantown
Morgantown Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.