We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Comfort Inn Drive, Morgantown, WV 26508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Huntersville, North Carolina, USA
1 review
“Great Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This Comfort Inn isn't new, and Comfort Inn's aren't supposed to be fancy. This one is a nice, older, lower-mid range hotel, located right at the intersection of 68 & 79. If you're looking for a cheap place to just spend a night or two, this is fine. If you're staying for a week or want a place with a nice lobby, go to the Waterfront. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean - not new, not decorated fancy - but clean and comfortable. With a new flat screen with a remote that doesn't reset to the stupid "hotel channel" that most do.

The staff is great. I talked with the house keeping staff both mornings about football and places to eat for 10 minutes. They then greeted me everytime they saw me. The breakfast staff helped me find a place to get my oil changed. The first time I stayed they were initially sold out and helped me look for a place to stay (before someone called and cancelled while we were working on this). I can understand this not being the level some people were expecting, but I can't believe the issues people had with the staff. Both times I stayed it was sold out and busy and everyone was happy and friendly.

The breakfast could use some work. Not very appetizing especially in that small old room. But the pink strawberry waffles were better than they look!

Thanks. See you again.

Room Tip: No elevator, so keep that in mind if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    23
    22
    31
See reviews for
40
21
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

When I stayed it was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at it was the dirtest place I set foot in an I suggust that nobody stays at this hotel because they might get sick from the mold its all over the place an the mangers are unfriendly an they don't no how to treat guest an the hotel should be shut down an that's the bottom line

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathie M, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Jolee22,

I apologize that you found your stay with us unsatisfactory. Unfortunately I did not have a chance to speak with you about your stay and try to make it satisfactory before you left. I would love to chance to speak with you further on the problems you had here. You can reach me at 304-296-9364 anytime.

Sincerely

Kathie Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in August 2011, after a family reunion in a neighboring town. We are a family of 5; 2 adults and three small children (ages 5, 4, and 2). We usually stay at Choice Hotels since they have a fairly good rewards program, so I'd say I've stayed in 30-40 different Choice Hotels locations in the last 10 years. This hotel was, by far, the worst hotel I've ever visited - when we arrived at the hotel the front door was filthy and remained so throughout our visit. Common areas were not air-conditioned, even though it was 85+ degrees outside. We asked why, and were told by one clerk that the air-conditioning had been turned off because of the weather (it was 90+ inside the hotel!) and by another clerk that the AC had been broken for 2 weeks. Hallways were dark, with carpet that was stained, dirty, and poorly maintained. There is no elevator in this hotel, so we had to cart 3 kids and all our luggage up a dark flight of stairs to get to our room.

The room is one thing I cannot complain about, however - the AC worked, the room was clean and fairly well-maintained (although the shower leaked) and there were double locks on the door.

The breakfast was also the worst I've seen at a Choice Hotels - there were several options (eggs, bacon, biscuits, bagels, etc.) but it appeared that food was stocked one time in the morning and then not replenished. We visited the breakfast area around 8 am and they were out of scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, butter, and milk! Luckily we managed to get (the last 2) boiled eggs and got some cereal, and since we were traveling with children we had some milk in our room. There are only 3 tables for breakfast (and none which seat 4 people) so we were unable to eat in the lobby, which didn't matter much since it was 80+ degrees in the common areas at 8 am.

Overall, I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone, and we will not stay there ever again. There are many nicer choices in the Morgantown area for a similar cost.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

My company paid for me to stay in this hotel, and I'm glad they paid because I would have never paid for it. I was put in room 102 and the smell of mold was so bad that I asked to be moved. The person at the front desk was so rude and said they had no other rooms available, so I asked to talk to a manager and she said she was a general manager. I then went back to the same room, decided to go and get something to eat. When I came back to the hotel, I thought I would need my card to get into the back door, but however, I didn't need a key, the door didn't seem to shut properly. I then started thinking that anyone can enter that hotel through the back door. I decided to make sure my door was locked and went to take a shower and found that I had black mold growing inside the shower door. When I called the front desk, I didn't get an answer, so I had to go back down and talk to that rude lady again. When I told them about the shower, she wouldn't give me a direct answer. So, I really had no choice but to go back to the room and try to avoid breathing in the discusting smell of mold. I would never stay there again. If that lady was a general manager they need to retrain her in customer service, because she was the rudest person I have ever come across.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed at this location on Sunday 8/14

I should have know better to stop in after trying to make a phone reservation and hanging up after waiting 9 minutes for someone to never answer the phone.

The desk help was unfriendly and not willing to make any calls when the wireless was out of order, I was told at 400pm that it would be out for about an hour. When I went to bed at 1100pm it was still out.

The room smelled musty and the air conditioner was really dirty.

When checking out the desk clerk gave me a bit of atitude when I asked to have the safe rental fee removed from my bill.

All of this for $89.00 per night!

I will spend my money elsewhere the next time I go to Morgantown.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding weekend in August 2010. The construction/renovations didn't bother me, but it didn't feel very clean. I was hesitant to take a shower because of the way the bathtub looked and the breakfast area was far too small and didn't feel very clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Awful hotel. Maintenance needed everywhere, from door frames to stairs to rugs and wallpaper. Breakfast awful. We left.
Never going back, and suggest you avoid at all costs. Did not feel safe at all. Lousy neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 225 Comfort Inn Drive, Morgantown, WV 26508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Morgantown
Comfort Inn Morgantown
Morgantown Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.