We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms at good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Coliseum

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Coliseum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Coliseum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3506 Monongahela Blvd., Morgantown, WV 26505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
pittsburgh
1 review
“nice rooms at good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

had nice rooms a great price and i found the staff to be very helpful and very iformital about the area

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    11
    6
    12
See reviews for
20
10
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenore, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

This is a clean hotel. Good value for the price ($72.00) Good location, FRIENDLY staff, they allowed me to check in an hour and a half early. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, it's clean, not the Hyatt, but, not as expensive as the Hyatt. For the money, it was an ok place, the MAIN THING IS IT WAS C L E A N... Close to ALL WVU STUFF/EVENTS, TONS of restaurants ...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We were hesitant booking an EconoLodge after a disappointing experience in Charlottesville, Va., but my husband was scheduled for early morning surgery at Mon General and we decided to go to Morgantown the night before. This hotel was the least expensive we could find; everything else that was available cost twice as much.

We were not at all disappointed. The room was clean and quiet, the bed comfortable and the desk staff courteous. It's nothing fancy, of course - a little shabby, even - but you're not going to get upscale for $65 (including an acceptable breakfast).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

My family stayed here because my mother had to have surgery at Ruby Memorial Hospital, everything was booked because of bike week. This was the only option with a non-smoking room, (2/4 people in my family smoke)! The rooms were fairly old, the beds were broke and leaned down hill, they also had stains all over them, and we found food in the beds! The staff was very helpful and tryed to make the stay better for us. Depending on what side of the hotel your on, the ice machine is right beside the lobby which is a good ways away from the last room on the opposite side of the building. There was basically no where to park. But overall it was not the worst room, but I would defiantly recommend looking elsewhere first!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Smell of urine outside door. Filthy rooms with dog hair on bed and carpet. Sleepless night with roaches. .....Just can't make this stuff up! Vacationers beware!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomson, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

As attendees at Sawlex 2009, my husband and I were not interested in amenities like internet, pools, or special entertainment features at premium prices. We were there for the exposition. This location was the closest to Sawlex location at Mylan Park . We wanted a motel to provide the basics at a reasonable price. Our room was clean. The desk clerks were polite and helpful. The continental breakfast provided doughnuts, bagels, muffins, honey buns, apples, coffee, juice and condiments. There are people left in the world who just want basics and do not expect extravagance at economy prices. I hope that there will continue to be those motels that stirve to provide the basics for those who don't want to subsidize the "fluffy-poofy" extravagances for others.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

This is an older exterior corridor motel. It has been an Econo Lodge for quite some time, but I think it was part of another major chain a long time ago. The reason I mention this is because the rooms are much larger than what you would find in most economy hotels. Despite an outdated looking exterior, the room was renovated with new carpeting, micro/fridge, bedding, wallpaper, and fixtures. The bathroom was large and spotless with plenty of hot water and pressure. Even though this is an Econo Lodge, I have stayed at other higher priced chain hotels, that were not as clean as this one. Shoney's is literally steps from your room. Continental breakfast was standard fare, but okay. You are also very close to the coliseum and from several other restaurants. Only negatives were a malfunctioning heater and some noise from the road and parking lot - mostly caused by other guests letting their cars warm up for a half hour before leaving (!?!). However for the price, the room was fine. For the value, and the location, I don't think you can beat this hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, value
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything was okay
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Coliseum

Address: 3506 Monongahela Blvd., Morgantown, WV 26505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Coliseum 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to WVU Coliseum, Ruby Memorial Hospital and conveniently located on the Evansdale Campus of West Virginia University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Coliseum Hotel Morgantown
Econo Lodge Morgantown
Morgantown Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Coliseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.