We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Disgusting don't do it!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Coliseum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Coliseum to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Coliseum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3506 Monongahela Blvd., Morgantown, WV 26505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Disgusting don't do it!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Smell of urine outside door. Filthy rooms with dog hair on bed and carpet. Sleepless night with roaches. .....Just can't make this stuff up! Vacationers beware!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    15
    9
    13
See reviews for
24
12
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thomson, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

As attendees at Sawlex 2009, my husband and I were not interested in amenities like internet, pools, or special entertainment features at premium prices. We were there for the exposition. This location was the closest to Sawlex location at Mylan Park . We wanted a motel to provide the basics at a reasonable price. Our room was clean. The desk clerks were polite and helpful. The continental breakfast provided doughnuts, bagels, muffins, honey buns, apples, coffee, juice and condiments. There are people left in the world who just want basics and do not expect extravagance at economy prices. I hope that there will continue to be those motels that stirve to provide the basics for those who don't want to subsidize the "fluffy-poofy" extravagances for others.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

This is an older exterior corridor motel. It has been an Econo Lodge for quite some time, but I think it was part of another major chain a long time ago. The reason I mention this is because the rooms are much larger than what you would find in most economy hotels. Despite an outdated looking exterior, the room was renovated with new carpeting, micro/fridge, bedding, wallpaper, and fixtures. The bathroom was large and spotless with plenty of hot water and pressure. Even though this is an Econo Lodge, I have stayed at other higher priced chain hotels, that were not as clean as this one. Shoney's is literally steps from your room. Continental breakfast was standard fare, but okay. You are also very close to the coliseum and from several other restaurants. Only negatives were a malfunctioning heater and some noise from the road and parking lot - mostly caused by other guests letting their cars warm up for a half hour before leaving (!?!). However for the price, the room was fine. For the value, and the location, I don't think you can beat this hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, value
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything was okay
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

I was supposed to stay at another (more upscale) property that wound up being overbooked (!?!), and the only availability I could find on one hour's notice was this Econo Lodge. My experiences with EL have not been entirely favorable, but it was only for one night...how bad could it be for 60 bucks?

The answer is...not bad at all. This is a typical, older road side motel, two floors with exterior corridors. Desk help was friendly and efficient during check in and check out. Had a non-smoking king and it was a little dated but I had no ill odors as have been described here. AC was quiet, hot water was hot. The towels were quite rough and the illumination certainly could have been greater. The area seemed safe enough and though it is just off a 4 lane road...I heard no road noise. The in room wireless internet worked fine and the TV was adequate.

The continental breakfast was very limited, but there is a family restaurant (Shoneys) steps away. They even supplied a copy of the local Sunday paper.

Wouldn't want an extended stay here, but for a night or two...it is perfectly fine.

  • Liked — clean and safe
  • Disliked — very dated
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

I stayed here last fall and it was OK for 1 night - (ref my earlier review)

My Son is starting WVU in the fall and I was glad to find a resonble Motel close to campus - I had planned on staying here whenever I visited - it is a good location for the college

We stayed there again for Orientation last week and I can say I won't be staying there again - I reserved the room 2 months in advance Non-smoking. We checked-in and the place smelled like an ashtray - It was disgusting.

I immediately complained and asked for a non smoking room - The kid at the font desk tried to convince me that it was non-smoking - there is no way!!!

He said he did not have any other non-smoking rooms for us so he sprayed some kind freshener in the room - It didn't help

The kid had a very bad attitude and acted very put-out about the whole thing - that definitely didn't help matters any.

The woman who checked us out in the morning was very nice though

We made it through the night but I will be staying someplace else next time I visit my son.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room was disgusting
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

The words that come to mind are "icky," followed by "rip-off."
Probably one of the worst- smelling rooms I have ever stayed in- moldy, musty, old smoke smell. Dark, unrennovated rooms. Rusted fixtures. Stained, scratchy, poor quality bedlinens & towels. Mold & hair (not mine) in shower. Super loud heater. Bed hard as rock. TP like sandpaper. Rigid cancellation policy, 2 night minimum stay, and the nerve to charge $129 a nite for a room that's worth about $39.99. I don't expect the Ritz from an Econo Lodge, but I DO expect better for $129 a night. Spend your money wisely- stay somewhere else in Morgantown. If you are going to brave the Econo Lodge, pack your own Lysol, blankets, pillows & towels. Never again!

  • Liked — Checking out....
  • Disliked — The smell & the fact that it was WAY overpriced!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

We stayed here for one night for a WVU basketball game. While the exterior looks a bit dated, the room looked like it had been fairly recently renovated. The carpet was nice and clean, beds were comfortable. There was a mini fridge and 4 cup coffee maker. The only negative thing was that the bathroom ceiling had a little mold growing on it, probably due to the fact that it seemed the exhaust fan was not working. Also there is no high speed internet connection, wired or wireless, although this is not really a place to expect it.
All in all, it was a nice simple room for a decent price.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Coliseum

Address: 3506 Monongahela Blvd., Morgantown, WV 26505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Coliseum 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to WVU Coliseum, Ruby Memorial Hospital and conveniently located on the Evansdale Campus of West Virginia University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Coliseum Hotel Morgantown
Econo Lodge Morgantown
Morgantown Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Coliseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.