We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but Housekeeping a no show.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Coliseum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Coliseum to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Coliseum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3506 Monongahela Blvd., Morgantown, WV 26505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Morgantown
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Okay but Housekeeping a no show.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A large group of us (5 rooms) stayed here last Friday and Saturday. We were all in town for the WVU/Texas football game. There was a 2 night minimum, but at least they raise their rates because it was a home game weekend. Overall the hotel was fine. It is clean and adequate. Nothing fancy but certainly acceptable. It is located close to stores, restaurants and the football stadium. It was easy to find and easy to get around. They provide a simple breakfast (coffee, tea, muffins, juice, sausage and waffles), and there is a Shoney's right next door if you want something else.

The ONLY complaint I have is that Housekeeping didn't clean our room on Saturday. We left the room to go touring and tailgating at around 11 am and didn't return to our room until 1am. Unfortunately, the beds hadn't been made and the towels weren't replaced. There were plenty of towels for the two days, so it wasn't THAT big of a deal. But I really like to come back to my hotel room and have it freshened up. To me, that's one of the nice things about staying in a hotel.

The front desk was nice about it when I mentioned it at check-out. But there wasn't much they could do about it at that point. The housekeepers were cleaning rooms very early on Sunday morning as we were all checking out. So, maybe on Saturday morning they came by really early while we were still asleep and didn't bother to come back a little later when we were gone. Since football fans tend to be night owl partiers, they need to realize their guests won't be getting up early on Saturday morning and schedule their housekeeping accordingly (especially when the game isn't until 7pm that night. )

Again, this wasn't a BIG deal, but it was a little dissapointing.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room away from the breezeway or a second floor room. We were right next to the smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for relaying your experience while staying at our property. We sincerely apologize for housekeepings lack of cleaning. I will be sure to convey your message to them and immediately correct this problem. We hope that when your travels bring you back to the Greater Morgantown area, that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
North Tonawanda, NY
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Spacious room, divided dressing wash basin from toilet and shower, which makes dressing and showering easier when more than one person stays in the room. Rooms open directly onto parking lot. No interior corridors. May be a concern for women traveling alone. Clean but upholstered chairs were stained and the tv is old. Wifi signals were strong and internet easily accessed.

More paperwork than I'm used to at registration, which was further slowed by clerk taking a personal call while two of us waited to claim our rooms.

Room Tip: Request ground floor if you don't want to drag luggage up an outside stairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge for a WVU football game and would certainly consider it again. The location is perfect, with the exception of the sign that states no left turn out of the parking lot (the direction you need to go for the game). The rooms were OK. It certainly isn't the Ritz, but who spends a ton of time in the room on game weekends anyway? The beds were comfortable, the sheets were clean and the bathroom was clean. Continental breakfast was acceptable and offered something for everyone. The one thing that I was disappointed with is that my friends got their room for $50/night less, so I felt a little bit ripped off in that sense. We killed one stink bug, but who cares? Any hotel in America can have a stink bug make it's way into their rooms. Would I stay here again? Absolutely, as long as their rates remain competitive and it makes sense to do so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We look forward to accomodating you again during your return trip to the Morgantown area. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Arrived to find room not ready...good start! They did give me $10 off for my inconvenience...I had to ask though. Place was expensive and could not easily walk to town . The smell of urine in the hallways was unpleasant! It had an unsafe feel to it. Rooms were ok.... Nice big bed....had to kill a bunch of stink bugs! Pillows so uncomfortable. Shower was nice and warm but the water pressure could not be adjusted...like a power wash...not good. I did notice the cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. Just too expensive for a low quality hotel. Shoneys next door was great for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for expressing your concern about our hotel. We take guest satisfaction very serious. During you stay our rates where increased due to a special event-- WVU Football, and while I understand you were not here for the game, many of our guests were. I have read all of your comments and would like to speak with you personally about your stay at our property. At your convenience please give me a call. I look forward to speaking with you, and once again thank you for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morgantown hotels

Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here while a family friend was a patient at Ruby Memorial Hospital. The hotel is dated, and there were rips in the wallpaper in my room. But the room was exactly what I expected for the price I paid, and there were no bugs. I had a room right off the front parking lot. I had friends that got a room around on the back side, close to a wooded area. Unfortunately, we are having a bad season of stink bugs, and their room had quite a few. Even though the front desk clerk did his best to get them to another room, they decided not to stay. I am thankful I had a bug free room. And the night clerk was pleasant to all of us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krikevtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. We are currently experiencing a high amount of stink bugs in the Morgantown area. We have modified our cleaning to help keep them from our property, but being well lighted draws there attraction like no-other. Since your visit, we have sprayed the wooded area with a light pesticide to help lower the numbers, but we are hopeful that with the winter season fast approaching they should be eliminated quickly. Thank you once again for the review, and we sincerely appreciate the comment. We look forward to accomodating you again when your travels bring you to the Morgantown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We're football fanatics and dread going up and back to Morgantown in the same game day. So we decided to try the Econo Lodge Coliseum to make it easier. The location is about perfect...close to the exit, easy to get in and out of and very close to the football stadium (and even closer to the Coliseum as the name indicates...you can walk there!) During game weekends it's a two-night minimum but you'll pay less for these two nights than you would one night somewhere else! First of all, forget anything you might remember about this motel not being nice. It's been completely updated, with attractive furnishings, comfortable linens and beds and everything else you might want. Our room had a microwave and a small fridge which was an added treat. The rooms are large and roomy. The shower is hot and powerful! Breakfast was adequate. The coffee was hot and strong. They served orange juice, waffles, English muffins, pastries and some other little things. And don't forget if you want something more substantial, go to the Shoney's across the parking lot! The staff couldn't be nicer or more attentive to our needs. The dear woman who checked us out today has been with the motel for 16 years and was a real delight. The man who checked us in was likewise friendly and knowledgeable and warmly welcomed us to the place. I was hesitant to write this review, fearing my secret little getaway will be revealed, but that's the risk I'll run. This place was perfect for our needs and we will be back...every football weekend for sure. So see you there!

Room Tip: This is two-story hotel without an elevator. All rooms exit to the outside and an internal corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneDeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property. I will be sure to share this information with the staff. We really appreciate the comments, and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ended up stopping here at the midway point coming back from KY on the way to VA/DC. Had stopped at the Best Western, but they didn't allow pets. So ended up up the hill to this Econo Lodge, which did accept pets :-) Glad it worked out.

Larry Ford, the night desk person was very friendly. He said he used to play for WVU. Was a very nice guy and checked us in quickly. Told us what to expect in the morning re the bfast and the hours. Were happy it went until 10, as didn't check in until around 1 a.m.

Thought this was a hidden gem. Not a bad place to stay. The room had lots of space. Decent sized small refr. 1 King bed was decent. Convenient location to the highway. Shoneys was next door. The tub didn't quite drain as well as it should. I meant to mention that to the front desk, but forgot.

Morning staff were very friendly and nice as well. Cleaning staff were nice and friendly as well.
Bfast was no frills. Some packets of donuts, muffins, some cereal. Not a huge space for eating. Was more or less on the side of the lobby. Ended up skipping bfast to get a little more sleep. Room was nice and dark with curtains that blocked the light.

Liked that it was so close to WVU. If I ever come back this way again, would stay here.

Room Tip: Stayed in room #116 with 1 King bed. Was on the end. Was quiet and dark for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oquick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your stay. I am very happy to hear that Larry took good care of you. Being a former Mountaineer, he can be pretty intimidating and some of our guests are a little taken back by him, I will be sure to inform him of your comments. I am very glad to hear that we are able to provide you with an exellent experience while in the Morgantown area. We look forward to accommodating you during your next trip to Morgantown and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.6 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#3 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn
BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn
#15 of 23 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#6 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
2.4 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#8 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
1.2 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#7 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Coliseum

Address: 3506 Monongahela Blvd., Morgantown, WV 26505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Coliseum 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to WVU Coliseum, Ruby Memorial Hospital and conveniently located on the Evansdale Campus of West Virginia University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Econo Lodge Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Coliseum Hotel Morgantown
Econo Lodge Morgantown
Morgantown Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing