We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Springs Resort
Save
You added Elk Springs Resort to your Saves list
#14 A Dry Branch Resort, Monterville, WV 26282   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monterville
VIrginia
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

We had a great time in one of their log cabins. Spent a day on a guided fly fishing tour with one of the managers, John, had a fantastic time, and even though the fish weren't interested we still managed to catch a few. He was more than happy to get us started the day before, and spend a few hours with us to teach us the basics too. The cabins were clean, well-kept and very roomy with everything you could need to enjoy the stay, not to mention the river ran right past our cabin. We couldnt have asked for a better location. The managers were extremely friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. Great food and even better company. They have a great set up for trout fishing with creeks for beginners and rivers for the more advanced. Plus for those not fishing the managers are more than happy to help you out with nearby trails and other attractions (snowshoe mountian nearby). We have booked to go back again in april and are counting down the days.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing it was great
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you book a fly fishing tour - you will have a great time and great memories
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
8
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

Elk Spings Resort was one of the most beautiful places I have seen. It reminded me of one of those places one sees in a movie. Our trip was in the winter to go skiing. Our family of five reserved a suite and we were upgraded to a gorgeous cabin located by a beautiful picturesque running stream. The price was great. The service was personal. The managers, John and Marcia, were extremely accommodating. Because of a long road trip our family took to get there, we arrived late at night to check in and the office was closed. A note was left at the office door with the keys to our room. The note said to knock on the door of the manager (who lives on the site in a house near by) if I needed anything. We knocked to make sure we had the right keys and to inquire about any chances of eating something. The manager was very friendly and said the kithchen was closed but he would be more than glad to cook for us if we wanted. We said we didn't want to impose, he gave us a bag of food more than enough for the five. This kind of service is rare to find anywhere. Not only was Elk Springs beautiful but the service and people were great. Loved IT!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Very beautiful
  • Disliked — No open resaturants near by
  • Tips/Secrets — scenery, adventure,
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

My nine-year old son and I spent a weekend at Elk Springs Resort this month. This was a well researched Father’s Day present from my wife. Neither my son nor I had ever fly fished, so Bill was our guide for two days as we learned the most important basics of fly fishing. The host and hostess, John and Marcia, were wonderful and made us feel right at home with their hospitality and home cooked meals (my son misses their dog already)!! Like me, they found peace in this rural part of West Virginia along the Elk River (but were smart enough to move there). My son and I stayed at the recently opened lodge. It’s a spacious lodge with beautiful rooms. The cabins, however, offer the best view (and sound) of the river, since they are pretty much right on top of the river.

We had a hard time leaving. On one hand, my son didn’t want to stop fishing the springs, which provided ample trout and a wealth of learning for both him and me. For me, the river, mountain with perfect fall colors, fish, and just as important, peace and quite made this trip memorable. As a new fly fisherman, I couldn’t compare Elk Springs Resort to anywhere else. I would have to say that it would be very hard for me to try anywhere else in the likely scenario of being disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington WV
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2006

My stay at the Elk Springs was simply just too short. I only got to stay for one night on OCT 14,2006 and had a blast!!! Everything was tremendous there including the hosts of the property. The level of hospitality that we received on our stay was WONDERFUL! The food was excellent, the grounds were spectacular, the fishing was great and the lodging was unmatched in our state. This is truly a gem of WV, in fact, I am planning to return to the Elk Springs Resort before winter sets in.

  • Liked — The Lodging and Hospitality
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Use a guide if you want to fish.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

I came to fish, not sure what else to expect. I left after the weekend with memories that will last a lifetime.

As a trout bum, when I travel, be it business or pleasure, I always look for a place I can get to the water for some me time. It's how I unwind, it's where I spend quality time with God and where I get rid of the rat-race mentality that will trap us if we let it. We all need to find places where we can take off the masks and just be ourselves. Elk Springs Resort is such a place. They allowed me to set my own pace, fish when I wanted to fish and just relax and let the world drift by for a day or two; and I did.

For the fly fishing fanatics (like me) they have a private spring creek that runs through the property that is FULL of big honkin' fish. I'm talking bruisers that waste no time letting you know that they'll be calling the tune if you don't focus on business. I caught several fish on 'the creek,' four over 20" and one over 24" and then I went to the river that borders the property. I caught several 'lesser' fish of 8"-10" and, just at dark, during that sacred time that all fly fisher's know is THE time when the big boys come out, I tied into the biggest brown of my life! We were all over that river and it was coming in to the net for picture time. He had one more dogged run in him and just as he shook his head, the drag on my reel stuck and BING! and just like that he was gone.

For me, vacation is about head-clearing and making memories for the winter ahead and I did that at Elk Springs. They are a non-pretentious kind of place with rustic luxury, great food prepared simply and the kind of warm and friendly service you get too rarely nowadays. John and Marcia greeted me like kinfolk, took good care of me and let me know they'd love to see me again - not like a customer, but like family. Yep. I'm going back. I have a grudge-fight with a brown trout that kicked my tail-feathers - this time. And, I'm going back to talk with John and Marcia, eat one of John's steaks and let the rest of the world fade away for a few days.

Don't expect to see a uniformed wait-staff or silky, frilly doo-dads at Elk Springs. If falling asleep to the lullabye of a river that's headed somewhere, scenery that reminds you that only God can make this kind of beauty and big fish on the line doesn't get your engine revving, maybe you should go back to google and keep on lookin. Tell them the fishing pastor sent you!

  • Liked — The location and the warmth of John and Marcia (the managers)
  • Disliked — That I had to leave too soon
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't expect frilly or pretentious at Elk Springs. Don't expect a french chef. DO expect great food and a great location with wonderful hosts.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

We are trout fishers, and visited ESR in May. Had a wonderful experience. Our Guide, Bill, led us into about 5 rainbows over 20" and a bunch over 15 " in a two day period - all catch and release.
John and Marcia, property managers, proved wonderful hosts, and competent cooks/bartenders.
Recommend you NOT stay at the Ellie May cabin, which has no running water/toilet facilities. There are two "island" cabins that should be very comfortable, and there was a new lodge under construction which would provide a number of rooms for rent (but we did not see the rooms).
We would rate this facility WELL above average - with improved menu/bartending, it would be excellent.
[--] Tight Lines!!

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2006

Elk Springs Resort is situated on the Elk where the river emerges from a four mile hiatus in underground caves... thus, the water is a trout friendly 55 degrees year round. The trout were rising the entire two days we were there and the staff did a great job figuring out what they were eating. The staff really bent over backwards for us and made us feel welcome. It was this hospitality that gaurantees my family and I will be back to visit the gang at Elk Springs Resort as often as we can!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elk Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Springs Resort

Address: #14 A Dry Branch Resort, Monterville, WV 26282
Location: United States > West Virginia > Monterville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 22 acres of trout fishing and relaxation on Nationally acclaimed Elk River, where the trout live happily ever after. You can choose from luxurious island cabins, themed spacious lodge rooms or electrically serviced campsites. Enjoy our full service restaurant with your favorite legal beverage and shop in our fully stocked Orvis Fly Shop. Centrally located among West Virginia's top ski resorts and popular year round attractions. Your wedding, corporate retreat and vacation destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk Springs Hotel Monterville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.