We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Springs Resort
#14 A Dry Branch Resort, Monterville, WV 26282   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Monterville
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Rural retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you are looking to get away from cell phones, computers and traffic for some peace and seclusion this is the place to go. Elk Springs Resort is a hidden getaway.

Rooming:
We stayed in one of the Hippie Units. It was very clean, nice, new, organized and efficient for our needs. There is a microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker and washer/dryer for guest use. The TV is specifically for VHS or DVD use only (you might want to bring your own supply of movies if you're expecting a rainy day), no cable...our screen had tracking issues. The bed was comfortable and there is a second floor (although the lights weren't working) that had a futon bed and privacy for a second couple or children.

Restaurant:
The food was good and
the meal plan is definitely the way to go if you are staying for one or more full days. Make sure you try the trout chowder and the peanut butter pie, both are delicious. Don't be in a hurry though as the atmosphere is laid back.

Fishing:
Definitely a getaway for fly fishers. Everything on the property is fly fishing, catch and release only. It is a hatchery so you can see all of the trout in the ponds on the property. If you go down the road 2+ miles there are sections where you can keep what you catch. Although the farther from the resort the fewer the fish. But there is a very nice scenic area with beautiful waterfalls that you might want to check out.

As a couple we were looking for a remote, secluded location to get away from the hectic pace of every day life and we found it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
7
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Joined a group of guys for a fly fishing, white water rafting and golf trip in the mountains of West Virginia and had a great time. Stayed at the Broadwater Lodge in the Elk Springs Resort and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The kitchen amenities are okay, somewhat limited on the glass, silverware enough where we had to bring additional supplies. Rooms nicely decorated with a theme for each one. I stayed in the Oldies Room which was okay, kind of dark though. One thing I did bring to management's attention was the back door from my room to the entry way to the back deck does not lock. It is a very safe area to be in, but a bit concerning that the door does not lock? Overall the experience was great and would recommend to anyone especially if you like to fly fish which is fantastic. We did not eat in the restaurant though I heard it was good and you can have fresh caught Rainbow Trout from their stocked streams/ponds or catch them yourselves! The restaurant which is a short walk from the Lodge offers a $35 per day meal plan if you don't want to cook which is a good value to include 3 meals/day.

Room Tip: The Safari Suite and Sea Suite are excellent rooms. The Oldies Room is dark and the back door does n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great getaway! Elk Springs Resort located in Monterville WV was the setting for a fly fishing trip for disabled veterans sponsored by Wounded Warriors and Dominion Transmission, Inc. The sponsors, the staff, the guides (mostly employees with Dominion Transmission, Inc.) were superb! The restaurant at the resort was very good. They served up fresh trout caught right on the site. They raise trout, as well as stock the streams and the Elk River. You can choose from fly fishing in their stream fed ponds or step over about 25 feet and fish right in the Elk River!!! The Fly Fishing Shop located above the restaurant is one of the largest in the area. I even purchased a handmade wooden bowl made by the restaurant's chef, Jerry Strawderman!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdalele, Florida, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went over for the day from Snowshoe for grandfather/grandchildren fishing outing. The buildings are about 2 years old, the property is very well maintained. Best part is the fishing set up for the little ones. They have stocked ponds which have fresh spring water flowing through them alongside the river. Instead of having twin 6 year olds being turned off by fishing in the river with little chance of catching anything (not to mention the prices other places in the area charge for river fishing), their introduction was basically guaranteed excitement and fun, and only paying for the fish caught. Will definitely return since we want them to enjoy fishing & making it a lifelong activity.

Wonderful staff. Well stocked fly shop, restaurant was nice and the restrooms were spotless.

Room Tip: Took a look in the lodge & will definitely be staying there on future trips to WV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at Elk Springs Resort for 2 nights. Mostly I was flyfishing, but I took time to enjoy the scenery too. Great place, clean rooms, lots of extras, and good food at the restaurant.

My room was in the "Hippie Rooms", a $100/night room with 2 beds, refrigerator, coffee maker, washer/dryer, in-room bath, a.c., and much more. Very nice.

The people were all very friendly and accommodating, including the fishing guides. I didn't hire a guide, but they offered advice and showed me around the fly shop and grounds. Fun time.

Room Tip: My room didn't have a ceiling fan, but most did, so I had to run the air conditioner all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upperville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I brought my girlfriend to Elk Springs Resort to see if i could get her excited about fly fishing and with the help of our enthusiastic guide RJ and the surreal mountain setting it was a perfect success. Not only did we slay fish, but my girlfriend and i really got to unwind and enjoy each others company in the gorgeous, rustic, and accommodating environment that Elk Springs Resort catered for us. Again, I could not give enough praise to the guide service staff. Not only did RJ give my girlfriend Caitlin a solid foundation for which she could build confidence and truly enjoy herself, but he provided me with a comprehensive lesson on the local hatches and techniques used that will be a priceless asset on my many returns to the area.

Room Tip: I haven't stayed in the lodge, but it looks notable. All the cabins have clean comfortable beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

River was muddy , they tried to blame it on logging but we went upstream and saw no logging anywhere . They tried to call them wild fish LOL we watched them stock the night before we fished. ac units hanging outside windows , Drunk waitress , flyshop closes when they want to. Not a place im going back to

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Springs Resort

Also Known As:
Elk Springs Hotel Monterville
Elk Springs Hotel
Address: #14 A Dry Branch Resort, Monterville, WV 26282
Location: United States > West Virginia > Monterville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Monterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 22 acres of trout fishing and relaxation on Nationally acclaimed Elk River, where the trout live happily ever after. You can choose from luxurious island cabins, themed spacious lodge rooms or electrically serviced campsites. Enjoy our full service restaurant with your favorite legal beverage and shop in our fully stocked Orvis Fly Shop. Centrally located among West Virginia's top ski resorts and popular year round attractions. Your wedding, corporate retreat and vacation destination. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Elk Springs Resort to your Saves list