We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a mud hole ...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Springs Resort
Save
You added Elk Springs Resort to your Saves list
#14 A Dry Branch Resort, Monterville, WV 26282   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monterville
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a mud hole ...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

River was muddy , they tried to blame it on logging but we went upstream and saw no logging anywhere . They tried to call them wild fish LOL we watched them stock the night before we fished. ac units hanging outside windows , Drunk waitress , flyshop closes when they want to. Not a place im going back to

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank p s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Long Bottom, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here while on a ATV riding trip with my son and his friends who have a camp just down the river. I've visited this lodge a couple times in the past when in the area. So when I wanted a nice place with hot water and WiFi on this trip, figured I would give it a try. Well worth the drive back in the woods to find it. Warm spacious rooms in the main lodge, satellite TV, internet, pool table, kitchen, and much more. Restaurant and bar on property. As far as the fishing, couldn't tell ya, was a great place to make base camp for a few days of riding in the hills. Will probably stay here if skiing too, if you don't mind the didn't a short drive off the mountain. Very affordable and clean. Would have given 5 stars but don't want it to be booked up next time I call....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenr34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Hill, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the lodge which was quite breathtaking. Our room was large with a sitting area. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tab and washer and dryer. We were very comfortable and frankly hated to leave when our time there was over. The restaurant served up the most delicious rainbow trout ever.

Room Tip: The Safari Room is beautiful. Perfect for a couples retreat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thelmaharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the Elk Springs Resort for two nights with my husband, young son and parents. My husband and father were the fly fishermen. My husband had never been fly fishing before and is now hooked! He and my father went out all day with one of the guides, Dave, and had a great time. They caught several trout.

We stayed in a cabin, very clean and newly built. We also ate our meals at the restaurant, Ellie May's Old Mill Restaurant. They have an optional meal plan available for $35 per person for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This is a great value in my opinion. There is also a top notch fly shop upstairs from the restaurant. The staff there are very friendly and accomodating as well.

I'm originally from WV but have been living in GA for 10+ years and miss the mountains and changing of the leaves. The property is beautiful! We plan on making this an annual family trip! They also have stocked ponds where you can fish for trout and keep them. They charge $3 and/or $5 per pound for the trout.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annabelle4595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

While on vacation in West Virginia our family stopped by the fishing lodge to fly fish and do a little hiking. Getting to the lodge is a drive but worth every mile. The staff was excellent and very accommodating going out of their way to make our two kids have a great time. The kids fished in the ponds in the evening, even my six year old daughter caught rainbow trout. The next morning my son and I went fishing with our guide Dave. We caught plenty of fish and Dave constantly put us in casting distance of huge trout. Our family had a great time and the kids talked about the fishing trip the entire way home.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiamiReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had the pleasure of spending 3 nights and days at Elk Springs with wounded warriors. The staff went out of their way to accomodate the Warriors and assure their fishing experience was awesome. Many smiles on the warriors faces, and all said they wish to return. beautiful lodges cabins, great fishing, food and cabins.

Room Tip: cabins by the water are secluded, shaded and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PEGgrubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have stayed here a couple times now. The new restaurant/fly shop is TOP NOTCH! The staff is very helpful and want to make sure your stay is very comfortable and enjoyable. I will continue to return as long as I can. I have stayed in the Fishing Room in the lodge and in a couple of the cabins. The Lodge is wonderful. I go with a large group a couple times a year and I have heard not one compliant from anyone that comes. This is the place to go to if you just want to sit back and relax, fish, read a book, or just enjoy the mountain side.

Room Tip: If you want new or an updated setting choose a room in the lodge. The cabins are fine though if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterville
0.0 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harman's Luxury Log Cabins
0.0 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#9 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Springs Resort

Address: #14 A Dry Branch Resort, Monterville, WV 26282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Monterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 22 acres of fly fishing fishing and relaxation on Nationally acclaimed Elk River, You can choose from luxurious island cabins, themed spacious lodge rooms or mini cabins with a modern shower house.. Enjoy our full service restaurant with your favorite legal beverage and shop in our fully stocked Fly Shop. The largest in the mid-atlantic states. We are centrally located among West Virginia's top ski resorts and popular year round attractions. Guided fly fishing trips with the most experienced guides in the state of West Virginia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk Springs Hotel Monterville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing