We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Generals Tso's chicken ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peking Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Peking Restaurant
139 S Queen St, Martinsburg, WV 25401-3315
304-263-6544
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #13 of 128 restaurants in Martinsburg
Cuisines: Chinese
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Generals Tso's chicken ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The Peking is an all around awesome place to eat, or to hang out in the bar area. The buffet is small, but the quality of the food makes it the best buffet in town. The staff is the friendliest you will find. In the bar area, Kane, the bartender, can not be beat. His drinks are delicious and his service and hospitality are the best. Be sure to have a "Kane special" while you are there.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    10
    9
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Buffets turn me off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I prefer my Chinese food freshly made and not sitting in a steam table for hours. Most dishes were far too rubbery and covered in too much sauce.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgesville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Nice family chinese restaurant. Full bar. Pleasant staff. Love the egg rolls. Not like the big buffet restaurants. They do have a small buffet on certain nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fair price for average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

A bit out dated, but not a bad place to eat. The food was hot and plentiful.The buffet was just under $10 and included dessert.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane Lew, West Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The best chicken chow mein I have ever tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I have been to this restaurant many times over the past 35+ years. The chicken chow mein is the same recipe they have had all that time, and it is fantastic. I have stopped ordering chicken chow mein in other restaurants because nothing comes close to tasting as good as Peking's. My wife enjoys the chicken and broccoli. I almost always get the chow mein, but my family and friends have enjoyed the other menu items.

I have always had friendly, efficient service.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peking Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Peking Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peking Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.