We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tokyo Steakhouse
5724 Hammonds Mill Rd # F, Martinsburg, WV 25404
(304) 274-1333
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 129 restaurants in Martinsburg
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
“never again...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Check the health department records, they were caught red handed bringing in a deer that was road kill.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    5
    3
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Small but exquisite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

One would never expect to find such incredible sushi and hibachi at this tiny restaurant in the outskirts of Martinsburg, West Virginia. The service was superb, the sushi was incredibly original and flavorful and then our entree was creative and delicious! If it were not a day's drive from home, we would be going back!!!

A local friend took us there and goes frequently. Being from out of town, we had not read any of the reviews or seen any news about the health inspector's report. We did not get sick (:-)) and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Maybe they have learned from their mistakes.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Sushi Decent Portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have been here twice and the $3 Sushi rolls are very good.The green salad is large but the dressing is mustard based rather that the "normal" Mayo based pink salad dressing at other Japanese places. The calamari is HUGE, looks like an order of onion rings and is almost inedible due to size it is like eating rubber bands. The Red Dragon 3 miles up 81 in Falling waters is much better overall.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing sushi on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

As stated before, the $3/rolls are absolutely phenomenal. The seaweed salad is one of our fav's here as they provide you with an ample serving for a reasonable price. They have a standard sushi/sashimi selection to chose from. However, on the back side of said sushi/sashimi menu they offer a wide selection of specialty rolls. Also, by the sushi bar area is a whiteboard with chef specials that are out of this world.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
“love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

At first i was wary of the sushi being only $3 for a regular role like it was going to be smaller than the average or not as good. This was awesome sushi! and less than half the price you can find anywhere else. I was just getting takeout and the service was great. Sushi was better than the well known Kazoo in Shepherdstown, WV.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.