We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest for the weary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Martinsburg

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Martinsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   975 Foxcroft Avenue, I-81 Exit 12, Martinsburg, WV 25401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Martinsburg
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rest for the weary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

After a great night's sleep in the quiet, clean, spacious room (the bathroom was a good size too) followed with a breakfast that was delightful (oatmeal, fruit, eggs, waffles, muffins, sausage, gravy, juices, and LOTS more) we were prepared for another adventerous day of travel. THANKS H.I. !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear marescottk,

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! We are so pleased that you had a great experience when you stayed with us at the Hampton Inn Martinsburg! I will share your comments with all employees and I know that my breakfast hostesses will be ecstatic over your comments. They try to make sure all guests are nice and full before they venture out for the day:)

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Martinsburg! Thank you for being a part of the Hampton Inn Martinsburg family.

Yours in service,

Team Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    41
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
30
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Martinsburg earlier this month. I've had great experiences with other Hampton locations in the past and this was no exception. Everything was super clean, huge TV, comfy bed, delicious breakfast. Also, it's located right across from a buffet which was a reasonable price and had great food, so if you're looking for food that's a great option. Finally, it's right next to the highway so you can't beat the location. Thanks for a relaxing evening, Hampton!

Room Tip: The walls are kind of thin, we had a lot of noise from two very badly behaved children. If you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
mmyers89,

We are thrilled that you are a loyal Hampton Inn traveler and that you have come to count on consistency and quality when you stay with us. I am glad that our hotel in Martinsburg measured up to the others.

My apologies about the the noise from another room - but I am glad that it didn't take away from your experience.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Martinsburg.

Yours in service,

Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beafort south carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed in this Hampton after a long 11 hour trip from South Carolina in a heat wave, hotel is right off the interstate which immediatly got rid of the stress of the trip. Everyone was very nice and accomadating. Room was very clean with everything that we needed. The room has a safe in the closet which was a nice touch. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear mountaincrazy,

Thank you for sharing your Hampton Inn Martinsburg expereince with the Tripadvisor community. If you were able to have a relaxing, comfortable night in a great bed and then turn around and have a good breakfast experience - then we have done our job.

Thank you for becoming a member of our Hampton Inn family,

We hope to see you again in the future!

Yours in service,

Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn when we lost power at our house due to a terrible storm. I found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious. It was nice having a fridge and microwave in the room. The hotel is close to many restaraunts and shops. The continental breakfast was very good and well stocked. We all found something to our liking. During a hectic time I was impressed at how well the staff handled everything and kept smiles on their faces! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear mlesznar,

Thank you so much for sharing your Hampton Inn Martinsburg experience with the entire Tripadvisor community. I am so glad to know that even though we were extremely busy - my staff was able to succesfully ensure that your stay was unaffected. It is also a great feeling to know that we were able to help so many local residents - including several of our employees. Hopefully the next time you stay with us - it will be under different circumstances.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we thank you for becoming a memeber of our Hampton Inn family.

Yours in service,

Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The room was nice, hotel was located in close vacinity to many restaraunts and stores. My biggest complaint was noise off the highway. Try and get a room on the backside of the hotel if you can.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear remphish1,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay in Martinsburg with the entire tripadvisor community! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I agree that we are in a great location and it is nice to have restaurants within walking distance. I apologize that you were bothered by highway noise. It is an issue for us, especially when we are sold out and unable to move guests. I know that we will see you again - so if you can - call ahead and we'll make sure to reserve you a room on the other side of the building.

I'm glad that you stayed with us and became a memebr of our Hampton Inn family! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours in service,

Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were looking for a non-smoking hotel in the Hagerstown-and-south area while traveling on a busy holiday weekend, and found a room here. We were surprised to find that most of the places we checked in the area have both smoking and non-smoking rooms, and in our experience that works out the same as swimming in the non-peeing side of the pool!

Thank goodness we made a reservation, because this was the day the mid-Atlantic region got clobbered by a huge thunderstorm. The hotel was very busy (and fully booked) when we arrived, but our room was waiting for us. We had requested a quiet spot on the side away from the highway and that is what we received. The desk clerk at check-in was very personable and friendly, and gave no indication that he had probably been though a heck of a day. He offered us dinner suggestions and made us feel very welcome upon arrival.

In the morning, the breakfast area was extremely busy, but everything was well-stocked and nicely presented, and the staff was attentive to the guests.

Unlike other reviewers, we had no complaints about elevator noise or highway sounds (due to room location). We noticed that we could hear our neighbors through the wall in the morning, but it was not an issue. I suspect that noisy neighbors could have been a problem, but we didn't hear them at all during the evening hours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Ken M,

Oh my goodness - can you please work in our PR department! Thank you so much for your great comments regarding your stay at our hotel. What an unexpected crazy time we had last weekend. What was supposed to be a slow weekend turned into - well you know because you were here. But it gives my great pride to know that we did not drop the ball and that our guests felt taken care of and where able to fully enjoy all that the hotel has to offer. All of us are very focused on guest service and ensuring that we are 100% there for you.

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and I hope that we wil see you again in the future. Thank you for becoming a member of our Hampton Inn family.

Yours in service,

Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a reservation here and arrived just minutes after a terrible storm had swept through the area. When we arrived, this was one of the only areas that still had power. There was a line of locals and travelers trying to get a room for the night due to the storm. Everyone in front of us received a room, and though we arrived late around 11:30pm, we still had our requested room.

The staff handled things with the onslaught of guests very efficiently and with compassion. Even with the full house, breakfast the next morning was well supplied. And the housekeeping staff that had come in that morning were very courteous and even asked in the elevator if everything was too our liking.

The hotel itself is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
MobileALFamily,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay in Martinsburg with the Tripadvisor community. It was certainly a hectic time, but I am more than pleased to know that my staff handled the situation and ensured that your stay was unaffected.


I hope that we will see you again soon and we thank you for becoming a member of our Hampton Inn family.

Yours in service,

Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Martinsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Martinsburg

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Martinsburg Hotel Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg Hotel
Martinsburg Hampton Inn
Address: 975 Foxcroft Avenue, I-81 Exit 12, Martinsburg, WV 25401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Martinsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Martinsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Martinsburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Martinsburg is conveniently located off of I-81 in the charming city of Martinsburg, WV. Close to local businesses and historical landmarks, yet close enough for a visit to the Blue Ridge Mountains, this hotel is perfect for leisure and business travelers alike. Whether taking in the historical sites or enjoying a scenic drive through the mountain roads, there is something here for everyone. Don’t forget to take advantage of free internet access and hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Martinsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Martinsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.