We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Review - Bizarre Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Martinsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Martinsburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Foxcroft Ave., Martinsburg, WV 25401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Martinsburg
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Genuine Review - Bizarre Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am baffled by the rave reviews. The staff here ARE super nice, but the hotel - is bizarre. It is clean. And it seems the third room is decent. I sound high maintenance, but I am not - the first room, I asked to be moved since the couple across the hall kept beating their child so loudly that I could hear it. Not to mention the child screaming. Then, I was moved to the 5th floor, which is horrible.
The 5th floor 'used' to be the smoking floor, now it smells horribly of stale smoke. Then moved to the 4th.

I believe they rent out the rooms long term, as there was a guy in front of me asking about it. From the people who I think were homeless, to the elderly lady walking around in her underwear, to the guy who kept 'adjusting himself' in the lobby - it is definitely an interesting crowd.

The other reviews talk about lots of restaurants in walking distance - there is a Burger King, Subway, a quasi OK Mexican place, and a Sheetz. So, you make up your mind on that one.

It is convenient - right off the interstate - it is right beside it. Almost in the lane, or so the traffic sound would have you convinced.

The staff are the only reason this earned 3 dots, they are super nice. I I know reading a review like this you are probably thinking this must be a jerk. I am not mad or anything, just want people to be aware. I booked here based on these reviews.

Room Tip: Not the 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMRBWV, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your candid feedback about your experience at our hotel. I do apologize for the unfortunate circumstances which seemed to surround your stay.

Unfortunately, since we are unable to censor our guests, at times we may have people who stay that provide others with a less than enjoyable experience, and for that we, as a staff, apologize. We are sorry that your circumstances seemed to be a distasteful exception, as far as interaction with other guests which I assure you are not the norm. We do have the occasional long-term stay guest, of which the vast majority are business travelers.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff. I agree that they are the best asset to our hotel.

Again, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Martinsburg. We appreciate all guest feedback as it shines a light on the guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again sometime, to see how we have improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    44
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
38
34
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Martinsburg Holiday Inn on the 24th and 25th of April. The Holiday Inn is located in a great location right off the highway and within walking distance of several restaurants. It is also close to Harpers Ferry and Hollywood Casino. The staff are professional, courteous, and very customer oriented. We enjoyed the breakfast we had on Saturday morning and our server Brandon was very responsive to his customers. The hotel has a bar off of the lobby and the bartenders are also very eager to serve their customers. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying here again when we are in West Virginia.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMRBWV, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are so glad you and your wife chose to stay at Holiday Inn Martinsburg during your weekend getaway. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel, ammenities, and staff. The next time you are in the area, we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, West Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

The Holiday Inn in Martinsburg is a great hotel and reasonably priced. Best of all they are pet friendly, so your whole family can stay. Clean rooms, friendly staff, and easy access to restaurants, gas stations, and shopping makes this place a great choice. Their restaurant offers good food and friendly service too if you want to stay in.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMRBWV, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you, Dave B!

We appreciate your review of our hotel and we are so thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015 via mobile

Pet friendly, easy off and on highway, bad food, clean beds and it works for a stop on the way home from the south. Could not get coffee until 7 am... Found alternate means in a local gas station. Priced higher than one would expect for such accommodations. Our ground floor room needed a good deep cleaning.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMRBWV, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, April 16, 2015
Hi PlayaDelCarmenFreak,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Martinsburg during your travels home. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We apologize that you found some of the aspects of your stay to be less than satisfactory. Your feedback allows us to see areas of improvement, and we hope you will stay with us again to see how we have improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I recently stayed there for almost a week due to some remodeling at my house.The staff and service was great.I would say they made me feel at home while away from mine.The rooms are clean and cozy and close to near by stores and restaurants.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMRBWV, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, April 2, 2015
@3csandme:

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Martinsburg as your home away from home. We are so glad you experienced a comfortable stay while your home was being renovated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Checking in was a breeze! The Front Desk Clerk was helpful and polite. Our room was easy to find and clean. The beds were comfortable. The pool (viewable from the restaurant) was fun for the kids. The air temp in the pool area was HOT but that's great if you were swimming. Very comfortable hotel. Ample parking close to the door. Mall, Walmart, and restaurants were all extremely close by. This is the 2nd time we have stayed here. We haven't eaten at the restaurant but it looks nice.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMRBWV, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, April 2, 2015
Hello Stampinerin,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Holiday Inn Martinsburg. Thank you for choosing our hotel during your family travels. We appreciate your positive feedback and most importantly that you had a delightful experience with us. Please bring your family back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Asked for a room that would be easily accessible from the check-in front desk because I cannot walk any distance and my wheelchair was buried in the trunk with a lot of suitcases, bags, boxes, etc on top of it. They said they'd give me a room right on the 3rd floor just down the hall from the desk. (3rd floor because it is built on a hill and that is the entryway you drive up to). They neglected to tell me that it was quite a way down the hallway and there was a long long ramp that I had to climb to get to the room. The room itself was old and needed re-modeling but was clean. This hotel didn't have a complimentary breakfast but did have a restaurant and offered b'fast, lunch and dinner. We had b'fast there and tried the buffet. The staff was very friendly and the buffet was OK. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: beats me!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Martinsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Martinsburg

Address: 301 Foxcroft Ave., Martinsburg, WV 25401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Martinsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Martinsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Martinsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Martinsburg! This hotel is conveniently located off I-81 exit 13 in Martinsburg, WV. All 120 guest rooms including 10 two-room suites and 4 whirlpool suites are beautifully decorated with many amenities for the comfort of our guests. Each room offers free high-speed Internet and its own refrigerator and microwave. Our location is perfect for leisure and business travelers alike with its close proximity to the IRS Center, VA Hospital, Charles Town Races and Slots and Harper's Ferry NHP.Heatherfield's, our in-house restaurant, serves breakfast and dinner 7 days a week. An elaborate brunch buffet is offered every Sunday while a daily luncheon buffet is available Monday through Friday. Dine-in where Kids Eat Free in a casual family atmosphere or order from our room service menu. Enjoy a relaxing drink at our lounge which is open Monday - Saturday.The Holiday Inn Martinsburg offers a guest business center equipped with a PC desktop and printer. Fax and photocopy services are offered at the front desk. Maintain your exercise routine in our 24 hour fitness center or just relax by our heated indoor pool.Consider us for your next convention or social affair in our 3,872 sq. ft. ballroom or inquire about one of our many smaller private meeting and board rooms.We are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Martinsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Martinsburg Hotel Martinsburg
Martinsburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Martinsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.