We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodations!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Martinsburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Martinsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Foxcroft Ave., Martinsburg, WV 25401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Martinsburg
Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great accomodations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I chose this hotel after reading all the travel advisor comments & am so glad! After a long day in Berkeley Springs, we headed for our hotel around 8:30 p.m. Expecting it to be only about 17 miles away, it was a surprise how over the hills and through the woods the travel would be! We arrived weary and hoping our late check-in promise was a true one as we saw a guest ahead of us in line, who said he couldn't find another room in the area, turned away. Thankfully, our reservations were holding for us as promised. The hotel looks new and our rooms were clean and well-appointed with comfortable king beds, granite bathrooms & great shower. Though my room was next to the elevator & vending machines, it was quiet. We had breakfast in the restaurant which offered a $5 buffet to guests and it wasn't bad. All in all a great stay for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Martinsburg25401, Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
@Whimsylou.... Thanks for the kind words and your business when traveling through our area. Our proximity to Berkeley Springs, Harpers Ferry, and even the Baltimore / Washington area makes our hotel great for guests looking for a place to sleep while on the road. We also are directly off of I-81 and a short drive to I-70 / I-68 which makes this area boom with corporate travel and industry. Thanks again for your stay and we look forward to serving you again at the Holiday Inn - Martinsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    35
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
28
27
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived on 9/8/12 for 1 night while traveling. Easy access off route 81. The grounds and lobby appeared well kept. Checking in was pleasant and quick. We had a room on the forth floor that had a nice view of the city/town. We had a king bed in a room that came with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom was good sized and had lots of little aminities The room was nice and smelled fresh. The hotel is about 1/4 mile distance from many resturants and the mall including Walmart. We would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My job requires me to travel back and forth to the Martinsburg area from time to time. I have stayed at the Holiday Inn on two separate occasions. Each trip was about two months long. The first time I stayed there, in June 2011, it was a very pleasant experience. I had a room with a king-size bed. The beds are very comfortable and soft. I was very impressed with the housekeeping staff on my first trip. The room was always very tidy and smelled nice after a day of work. I'm military and one day after I left my uniform hanging on a chair, I actually have the housekeeper leave me a note thanking me for my service.
The second time I stayed here, in January 2012, the housekeeping was not as good. This time I had a double bed room. During my two month stay my linens were never changed. I could tell this because stains I accidentally put on the bed from eating and writing were there until the day I checked out. I'm not saying that they should change them every day, but when you know a guest will be staying for an extended period of time I would expect them to get changed every few weeks. There also seemed to be a lack of effort as far as cleaning goes. The room would appear clean most days but the bathroom would still be dirty. At one point the bathroom had a foul smell and the toilet didn't appear clean. I had to close the bathroom door just to escape it.

The hotel itself is pretty nice. It has a decent appearance in the lobbies and the rooms. When properly kept up it is easily a higher end three-star hotel. The beds are probably the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The hotel also has a restaurant and bar. Due to the abundance of options, I didn't eat at the restaurant, but the bar was outstanding and reasonably priced. The location of the hotel is perfect. It is located at the end of a shopping mall that has several shopping centers and restaurants. Many fast food (Wendy's, McDonalds, Chic Fil A) are near by as well as many bar and grill type places (Buffalo Wild Wings, Outback, Applebee's) are within walking distance or a short drive away. Personally, I am a fitness guy and there are several basketball courts and a jogging/biking trail close by. This hotel is also close to the ANG base. About 17 miles down the road there is a town called Haggerstown, MD. This is a good spot for nightlife and shopping. I frequently visited the outlet mall in Haggerstown to buy clothes.

Overall, I enjoyed my stays at this hotel. I would stay there again if I was back in town. The location and the comfortable beds more than made up for the lack of housekeeping on my 2nd stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room in the middle of the front side of the hotel. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear BFree211,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I'm so glad you liked the fantastic location of our hotel, as well as the facilities we have on-site. Your comments encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I would like to offer my sincerest apology for the issues you had with the housekeeping you received during your second stay with us and any inconvenience may have caused you. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Martinsburg, WV.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights recently. The staff was friendly and the building pretty nicely maintained. I found it a little off-putting that the non-slip matt in the tub was curling up at the edges, and that the drain plug was disconnected and resting in the soap dish... but, overall, we were both satisfied with the accommodations. Comfy bed...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Room was amazing big beds very friendly staff breakfast was amazing our server was amazing very friendly the pool was great all around great hotel a bit overpriced tho Great view the ac and heat worked great free wifi clean high end soaps and shampoo in the rooms. Very calm and quiet place to relax

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was the best we had on our whole trip. It was clean and fresh. The breakfast staff in the restaurant was particularly good, especially to our granddaughter who was with us. She is three and loved going to breakfast every morning because the waitress gave her lots of attention. We stayed in another holiday inn in Pigeon Forge on our way home. It was not nearly as nice and certainly not as friendly, though it was clean. We came to Martinsburg for a family reunion and will stay at Holiday Inn again next year. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: We had a suite and that was great for our granddaughter because it gave her plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Martinsburg25401, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you SO much for sharing your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!!! We hope that you'll stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

It was an average hotel room. Pros: close to what I needed, dog friendly, good value, easy checkout, clean. Cons, by highway, ac wasn't strong, uncomfortable bed and pillows. The Holiday Inn fit what we needed with no major complaints. It didn't make me want to use that brand of hotels in the future though. I will probably try another hotel if I need to stay overnight in Martinsburg, WV again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Martinsburg25401, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Martinsburg, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review - we are pleased that you found our accommodations to fit your needs. We pride ourselves on being clean and friendly, and we are very glad we met those expectations. We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Martinsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Martinsburg

Address: 301 Foxcroft Ave., Martinsburg, WV 25401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Martinsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Martinsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Martinsburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Martinsburg! This hotel is conveniently located off I-81 exit 13 in Martinsburg, WV. All 120 guest rooms including 10 two-room suites and 4 whirlpool suites are beautifully decorated with many amenities for the comfort of our guests. Each room offers free high-speed Internet and its own refrigerator and microwave. Our location is perfect for leisure and business travelers alike with its close proximity to the IRS Center, VA Hospital, Charles Town Races and Slots and Harper's Ferry NHP.Heatherfield's, our in-house restaurant, serves breakfast and dinner 7 days a week. An elaborate brunch buffet is offered every Sunday while a daily luncheon buffet is available Monday through Friday. Dine-in where Kids Eat Free in a casual family atmosphere or order from our room service menu. Enjoy a relaxing drink at our lounge which is open Monday - Saturday.The Holiday Inn Martinsburg offers a guest business center equipped with a PC desktop and printer. Fax and photocopy services are offered at the front desk. Maintain your exercise routine in our 24 hour fitness center or just relax by our heated indoor pool.Consider us for your next convention or social affair in our 3,872 sq. ft. ballroom or inquire about one of our many smaller private meeting and board rooms.We are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Martinsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Martinsburg Hotel Martinsburg
Martinsburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Martinsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.