We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY THERE AT ALL ITS PATHETIC” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Inn

Save Saved
You added Heritage Inn to your Saves list
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Inn
1024 Winchester Avenue, Martinsburg, WV 25401-1668   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Martinsburg
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
“DON'T STAY THERE AT ALL ITS PATHETIC”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

DISGUSTING, GROSS,will never stay there again.. WOULD rather stay in the car.. the most bush league' place I have ever stayed at period.. IT was a terrible experience and only had an hour of sleep if that. . I wanted to leave the minute i opened the door . But Significant My other was tired than i was . This place made me want to VOMIT all over the room .

Room Tip: the whole place is pathetically gross
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I had traveled 12 hours straight and all the nice world wide hotels were booked and I had no where to go till I saw this Heritage Inn place in Martinsburg,WV. I checked in at 10:17 pm by a grumpy rude man and went to the assigned room and was grossed out. There were earwig bugs, flys, the box spring had a gapping hole in the sides, sheets had cigarette burns and the air conditioner looked like a fire hazzard. The towels and was h rags, were literally rags, shredded. I was so tired from driving and had to get sleep. I did manage 4 hours of sleep mainly becuse I wanted to get the hell of of this slum room. I can not believe a room is 'rented' out to anybody. I do not recommend anybody to stay there, It is thoroughly disgusting and dirty and gross.. They got the so-called furniture from a dump site!

Room Tip: Do stay there, its is pathetically disgusting, dirty, and gross.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

Parking lot is a bit dark. Indian run but what hotel isn't these days. Nice and friendly. Old but clean. We just needed some sleep so we could finish our trip up to Connecticut. Didn't want to drop $70-$109 on 6the hours of sleep.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We checked in and within 5 minutes there shady guests going from room to room partying. There was also a very loud buzzer that sounded every time the office door opened. We didn't feel safe and asked for our money back. The manager said NO even though we had only been there for 5 minutes - we left anyway! Absolutely the worst motel experience in our 12 day Eastern US road trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011 via mobile

Good enough for the price. It's a cheap place to stay. Located near a mall and several restaurants. If your low on budget I recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

I will have to recommend that you avoid this motel unless you need to save money or other places are full. It is very old and not well kept and arriving after dark will not inspire confidence. The Relax Inn next door looked even worse; its parking lot was full of contractor trucks and men drinking beer, which is why I paid more for the Heritage. Check in was smooth, but they do not accept credit cards for payments under $40, which is likely if you have a coupon. Also, this is the only motel I have stayed in that insisted on photocopying my driver’s license. The room was very small, but this is the type of place where you check in late and leave early. First, I saw no smoke detector in the room. Second, the door did not lock when I closed it. If you are inside, you can throw the deadbolt, but if you leave, you must slam it hard enough to shake the building. I did not know this and thus left the door unlocked while I shopped. Third, the last straw was that water pressure in the shower was so low that it came out as trickle. On the other hand, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the AC/heat had a very smooth sound. I was not bothered by noise during my mid-week, 12-hour stay. It was nice to save a few bucks, but I think most people would be uncomfortable staying here.

scopoper47’s top tip: On this stretch of I-81, there are a lot of motels. Those in northern VA and MD are cheaper than those in WV and southern PA with the same range of quality.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Address: 1024 Winchester Avenue, Martinsburg, WV 25401-1668
Location: United States > West Virginia > Martinsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Martinsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.