We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy rooms with mini-fridge, bare bones amenities, thin walls, off the beaten path” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Martinsburg

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Martinsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Martinsburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1937 Short Road, off Short Road exit, Rt. 9 East, Martinsburg, WV 25401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Martinsburg
Groveland, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Noisy rooms with mini-fridge, bare bones amenities, thin walls, off the beaten path”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because of its proximity to work as this was a business trip. There is nothing around this hotel other than a Sheets gas station and the Government Building where I had to work. I stayed 2 nights and the only hi-light were the people who worked there, they are very nice. This place is run-down and the rooms do not have internet. There is a mini-fridge and free continental breakfast with waffles, eggs, sausage, coffee, juice, etc. The rooms on each of the 2 floors share the same hallway so if someone slams the door (like mine did at 2:30AM) it will wake you up. The next time I will drive further to get a place with better facilities, amenities, and more to do in the area, including restaurants.

Room Tip: Room at the end of the halls are quieter as you don't hear as much door slamming. Keep your fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
14
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have stayed here in the past. Wonderful staff and they cater to your needs. The facility is now in need of some work though and it's not getting the maintenance it needs. Weeds growing in the gardens. Dirty carpet and frayed towels.

It's not horrible and we'll give it one more try when we are back in the area...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Despite this hotel being a "smoke free' hotel, my in-laws' room and our room reeked of cigarette smoke. The lady at the desk offered us new rooms, which smelled clean so we swapped to the new rooms. The door latch didn't work well in my in-laws' room and both bathrooms looked like they hadn't been remodeled in a good 20 years. One of our beds also had a cigarette burn in the bedspread. However, these were minor complaints we could have dealt with. Shortly after getting into our rooms, my mother-in-law asked if I could come to her room to see something. I didn't even have to set foot in her room before I saw a giant bug on the wall above their beds and a cockroach on the ceiling. Needless to say, we grabbed our suitcases and high-tailed it out of there for another hotel. The lady at the desk tried explaining that the bugs were stink bugs that were everywhere in the area and were harmless. I replied with "that's nice, but there are still giant bugs in our hotel room and that's why we won't be staying in the area." If you're traveling north, drive 30 minutes further and stay at the Comfort Suites in Hagerstown, Maryland. It's blissfully bug-free!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Martinsburg hotels

Henderson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is located about 5 miles from I-81. It is a very quiet area. Room was nice and clean. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was well stocked. Easy drive to Harpers Ferry or Charlestown Race Track Casino. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Wonderful place to stay! I stayed 2 nights and had no problems at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful! The price was right! I will stay there again the next time I am in town, esp if the prices are the same!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is clean and friendly but three problems were enough to make me not come back. First, the "free"' in room wifi was very poor and most of the time I was unable to connect. Second, the door did not lock/latch properly, something we found out only after leaving our room and coming back to an ajar door. Finally, we could clearly hear the occupants in the floor above us and their floor (our ceiling) squeeked every time they walked around. Will look elsewhere next time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Although slightly off the beaten path, this was a most pleasant stay. Check-in and check-out were smooth and friendly and the room was large and well layed out. An excellent value. I only stayed one night, but if in the area again I will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Martinsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Martinsburg

Address: 1937 Short Road, off Short Road exit, Rt. 9 East, Martinsburg, WV 25401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Martinsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Martinsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites Martinsburg 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Martinsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Martinsburg Hotel Martinsburg
Martinsburg Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Martinsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.