We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Martinsburg

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Martinsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Martinsburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1937 Short Road, off Short Road exit, Rt. 9 East, Martinsburg, WV 25401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Martinsburg
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Despite this hotel being a "smoke free' hotel, my in-laws' room and our room reeked of cigarette smoke. The lady at the desk offered us new rooms, which smelled clean so we swapped to the new rooms. The door latch didn't work well in my in-laws' room and both bathrooms looked like they hadn't been remodeled in a good 20 years. One of our beds also had a cigarette burn in the bedspread. However, these were minor complaints we could have dealt with. Shortly after getting into our rooms, my mother-in-law asked if I could come to her room to see something. I didn't even have to set foot in her room before I saw a giant bug on the wall above their beds and a cockroach on the ceiling. Needless to say, we grabbed our suitcases and high-tailed it out of there for another hotel. The lady at the desk tried explaining that the bugs were stink bugs that were everywhere in the area and were harmless. I replied with "that's nice, but there are still giant bugs in our hotel room and that's why we won't be staying in the area." If you're traveling north, drive 30 minutes further and stay at the Comfort Suites in Hagerstown, Maryland. It's blissfully bug-free!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
14
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is located about 5 miles from I-81. It is a very quiet area. Room was nice and clean. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was well stocked. Easy drive to Harpers Ferry or Charlestown Race Track Casino. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Wonderful place to stay! I stayed 2 nights and had no problems at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful! The price was right! I will stay there again the next time I am in town, esp if the prices are the same!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is clean and friendly but three problems were enough to make me not come back. First, the "free"' in room wifi was very poor and most of the time I was unable to connect. Second, the door did not lock/latch properly, something we found out only after leaving our room and coming back to an ajar door. Finally, we could clearly hear the occupants in the floor above us and their floor (our ceiling) squeeked every time they walked around. Will look elsewhere next time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Martinsburg hotels

Boxborough, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Although slightly off the beaten path, this was a most pleasant stay. Check-in and check-out were smooth and friendly and the room was large and well layed out. An excellent value. I only stayed one night, but if in the area again I will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel was decent, nothing spectacular. The person at the front desk the first night of check in was very nonchalant. This hotel needs some plumbing work, the walls are paper thin. We could here the people next door talking as if they were sitting right next to us. The gym at the hotel was under renovation, so they gave us a voucher for the Clarion in Sheperdstown, WV. We were so impressed with the Clarion, that the next time we will be staying there. We only stayed at the Comfort Suite for two nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I just saw the other review for March 11th. We stayed the same night and didn't have any problems with "stink bugs." No bugs at all...which is always a positive thing! There were some stray cats right outside the door that look like they are being fed by the staff. Not sure that's a great idea. The fitness room was being painted. Overall, the hotel was good, room/bathroom clean, breakfast was adequate, staff were very friendly and helpful. I'd stay again. Only real drawback is the proximity to restaurants, there isn't really anything within walking distance, unless you consider "Sheetz's" a suitable place. (Where'd they come up with a name like that!?)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Martinsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Martinsburg

Address: 1937 Short Road, off Short Road exit, Rt. 9 East, Martinsburg, WV 25401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Martinsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Martinsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites Martinsburg 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Martinsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Martinsburg Hotel Martinsburg
Martinsburg Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Martinsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.