We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Someone dropped the ball.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Martinsburg

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Martinsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Martinsburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2048 Edwin Miller Blvd, I-81 Exit 16E, Martinsburg, WV 25402   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Martinsburg
Trion, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Someone dropped the ball.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

One of the worst places I've stayed. Walls were very thin. I could hear the cell phones of the people next door ringing all night and every word of their conversations. Nasty looking people hanging around outside by the front door at all hours. Doors slamming shut and people yelling until the wee hours of the morning. An alarm started going off down the hall in the early hours of the morning and no one shut it off after I called the front desk. Had to turn my TV up to drown out the noise. The room itself was really run-down. The comforter was covered in cigarette burns. The carpet was similarly damaged in a large area. The remote control for the TV was completely filthy with smeared and dried food and other residue. The room stunk terribly. There was mold all over the bathroom. Hard to believe Super 8 would allow one of their properties to become this despicable.

Room Tip: Avoid stairways and try to get a room that is away from doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    11
    4
    28
See reviews for
15
11
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hood River,Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I was unaware that dogs were allowed in motel rooms-and one across
the hallway from me kept barking every time I'd leave my room. Not
something I appreciated. But the staff at the motel was friendly and
polite-very helpful folks. Helped me with directions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southchesterfield
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The health dept need to check this flea bed motel it is NAsty cum on the dirty sheet it isnt fit for people towel look hand wash and left dry the hole was dark floor was dirty need vacuming No breakfast served I woludnt eat any way

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Martinsburg hotels

Martinsburg
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Small but easily fixable things made the stay unimpressive. Cigarette butts on floors, missing ice bucket lid and cups, no shower liner so water went all over bathroom floor, one light didn't work. Service was pleasant, but couldn't make up for the disappointment after paying for a suite. Was surprised to find out that room is used for both smoking and non-smoking. Will most likely travel to Hagerstown Super 8 again if in need.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We chose this hotel from a tourist brochure which stated the hotel had been ''newly renovated''. When we arrived, this was clearly not the case. The hallways were filthy and the room was in dire need of renovation and gave you that feeling you are glad you are only there for one night! When we pulled the bedspread back it had a massive burn hole in it. The bathroom drain also came up when having a shower.
I think the previous reviews for this property are spot on and had I checked on Trip Advisor beforehand, I would never have stayed at this motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were on on our way to SC and stopped to rest. I hardly slept. Old nasty comforters on bed. Sheets had holes in them. Room smelled VERY musty. Towels were very thin with stains on them.
When I used bathroom, whole toilet moved, thought I was gonna fall through the floor.
The people who ran the hotel were very nice. I think it needs to be overhauled.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The photos on here were taken by professionals and I assume in the best rooms. Nothing in my room looked like the photos. The bed linens had holes in them. There was a musty smell in the room. The window was open when I entered the place and it would not lock. I was planning on staying two nights, but I would not leave anything in the room because it felt unsafe. I decided to go somewhere else. The towel rack almost fell off the wall when I replaced the towel after drying my hands. The ceiling in the bathroom was patched and paint chips fell on me when I showered. The bathtub was also chipping under my feet, When I stepped out of the shower I looked down and saw the drain was clogged with chips from the ceiling and the flaky tub parts. Oh and a funky mold on the bathroom wall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Martinsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Martinsburg

Address: 2048 Edwin Miller Blvd, I-81 Exit 16E, Martinsburg, WV 25402
Location: United States > West Virginia > Martinsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Martinsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Martinsburg 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Martinsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Martinsburg
Martinsburg Super Eight
Martinsburg Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Martinsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.