We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convient and friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Aikens Center

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Aikens Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1872 Edwin Miller Boulevard, Martinsburg, WV 25401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Martinsburg
Camp Hill
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Convient and friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The renovations go on at a slow pace. No one was working the day after Christmas or the next day. Friendly staff that was helpful in choosing a restaurant and a room. The room was clean but crowded-too much furniture. All worked well. The breakfast was mediocre. Bread was boring, sweets-stale, eggs-dry, bannas-brown. All covered but not special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    9
    11
    3
See reviews for
17
15
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ripley, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have been contemplating writing this review for awhile now, so I decided to finally have a go so that other people know to never stay here. I stayed at the Comfort Inn Aikens Center for my best friend's wedding. The couple had set up a block of rooms at a group rate, otherwise I would have stayed at the Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn the next exit up I-81.

We checked in on a Friday and were given a King room on the top floor. When we brought our belongings into the room. It seemed clean enough but seemed worn. However, here is when the craziness started. My finance set down at the desk to check his email and found illegal drugs sitting beside of the lamp. Apparently the last occupants forgot them and housekeeping must have missed them! We flushed them immediately and were afraid the rest of our trip of what else could be hiding in this room.

However, luckily the rest of the stay was pretty uneventful until checkout. The only major issue was that our internet connection was extremely slow. We had such a poor connection that we were unable to watch Netflix or even to check Facebook.

On Sunday morning, we went downstairs to check out around 10:30. The woman working behind the desk was so high on drugs that she was unable to check us out of our room. She was stumbling around, told me that she couldn't remember how to operate the computer, and that it hurt to open her eyes. When she did try and open her eyes, they were extremely red and blood shot. She said she'd get around to it later and would email me my bill. I never received my bill.

I was HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED in this stay and would never stay here again. I recommend the Holiday Inn at Exit 14--the beds are wonderful and the employees are truly excellent. The Hampton Inn at Exit 15 is also very nice. It has been awhile since it is remodeled, but the staff always treats the customers like family and the hotel is still "Hampton" worthy. .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip B, Assistant General Manager at Comfort Inn Aikens Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
MissBWV,

Thank you for alerting us to the issues you encountered during your stay in July 2013.

Our goal is to make our guests feel relaxed and comfortable in a friendly atmosphere. We are terribly disappointed that we did not deliver on this during your stay. Since your stay we have made many changes in our hotel, starting "at the top". We have a new manager with 30+ years of experience in the industry sharing his knowledge and retraining the staff. He is a valuable asset and will certainly bring positive change.

We are also undergoing a major renovation. During this renovation every room will receive new carpet, bedding, mattresses, furniture, fixtures and a newly designed bathroom with our guests comfort in mind. Our lobby area is also receiving a completely new look.

We hope you will visit the hotel again and give us the opportunity to not only meet your expectations but exceed them with our "new" hotel!

Thank you again for your comments and for making us aware of the issues you experienced.

Sincerely,

Phillip Betts
Assistant General Manager
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here two separate nights and had a pleasant and quiet stay. Spacious room and bathroom. The front-desk staff was super friendly. They also accommodated my request for a room on the top floor and put me in the same room when I returned a few days later. Glad there was an elevator, as I had several large bags with me.

Just a couple minor issues: 1) The A/C unit was very noisy. I reported the problem upon checking out after the first night, but didn't see if it was fixed during my second night. 2) The orange juice at breakfast was very watered down and pretty gross.

Bonus: Lots of fresh fruit available both during breakfast and throughout the day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for a 3-day weekend at the track. Decent place, nice-sized rooms, TV's upgraded to flat-screen and WiFi fast enough to run NetFlix with just a few pauses for buffering.
Furniture was pretty dated, but the room was clean and linens were fresh and appeared recently replaced.
Outside front fascia was being renovated. Entrance area needs to be cleaned up. Wrappers and cig butts blowing around.
Not a bad place for the rate paid. One gripe: Big space under the door let hallway noise in. Covered it with a towel :)

Room Tip: Higher floors probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Comfort Inn in Martinsburg is a good distance from Harper's Ferry & Charles Town Race Track, which is where we went for entertainment.

The room was spacious and the bed was huge, but the bed felt as if there was a filmy layer on it. We had two rooms for the family and one shower backed up and wouldn't drain properly, but the shower for the other room was fine. There's a microwave and refrigerator which is nice as these are not standard parts of hotels these days. We had a problem with the phone ringing every morning at exactly 5:56 am. I believe there was some sort of alarm system in place, but we didn't realize this until the second night when we were already going to leave.

The service at the front desk was very good. The man who was there at nights was particularly pleasant and helpful with food choices in the area. There's also breakfast in the mornings at the inn.

Overall, good value for the amount of money spent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our room was spacious, clean and the furniture in good condition. There was a large, flat panel TV with good reception and a lot of channels. I liked the bathroom because it was totally closed off from the res of the room and the sink counter was the entire length of the room. The bathroom lighting was great. Only complaint is that didn't have a vent, which I think is needed.

This motel is on a fairly busy highway, near the interstate.I was happily surprised at how quiet it was inside the room. I slept great, due to lack of noise and the comfortable mattress with good quality linens and lots of pillows.

The breakfast was very good. Hot eggs, sausage one day and bacon the next, 3 kinds of fresh fruit, along with the usual pastries, breads, juices, cereals, etc. There was also hard boiled eggs and yogurt. Although the coffee was good, there was no non-dairy creamer, a must IMO.

All employees we spoke with were very nice and knowledgeable. A special Thank You to Barbara at the front desk, who was very helpful in getting us the room we wanted at the right price.

It was nice to have two restaurants very close to the motel.

Room Tip: Martinsburg and Berkley County are great for geocaching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Coming back from North Carolina, we took the scenic route back to New England rather than 95. We ended up in West Virginia, and stayed the night so we could recover.

Pros:
* Right near the highway
*nice looking lobby

Cons:
*Bathroom looked like it was cleaned with a human hair mop
*Hair in beds, uncomfortable
*Pool filled with dead bugs, no pool cleaner seen
*elevator rusty and nearly broken down.
*crumbs everywhere

So, in short, we left at four am because we didn't want another minute. Don't go here if you like clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Aikens Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Aikens Center

Address: 1872 Edwin Miller Boulevard, Martinsburg, WV 25401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Martinsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Martinsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Aikens Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Aikens Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Aikens Hotel Martinsburg
Comfort Inn Martinsburg
Martinsburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Aikens Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.