We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap does not mean DIRTY!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carefree Inn

Carefree Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carefree Inn to your Saves list
Carefree Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   94 McMillan Court, Martinsburg, WV 25401 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Martinsburg
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Cheap does not mean DIRTY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

When I was quoted the price for the room at this motel, I knew that I was not staying anywhere fancy. That was okay. I was traveling with my sons basketball team and we where only going to be there for one night. Cheap to me meant, I would not have some of the standards I would get for higher priced accommodations at more reputable establishments. Cheap should never mean "just plain dirty." I checked in an out in less than 30 minutes. Everything was old and stained and smelled musty. I pulled the covers back on the bed and the linens were dirty. The bed comforters had cigarette holes and even blood stains. This was just nasty. Thank god we never brought our bags into the room, I'm sure there were critters there that would have tried to catch a ride with us to get out of the filth! The one good thing about the place - the lady that checked me in. She was very friendly and very understanding when I wanted to checkout!
I'm not sure who owns or is running this place but cleaniness is not on their radar!

Room Tip: Never settle for dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    4
    10
    20
See reviews for
21
11
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Me and my faince had a very nice time we went to just get away from our home town and the staff was very friendly the food was good loved the room service. The room was a little dirty with ashes under and behind the bed but no big deal really the hot tub and pool could have been cleaner but it still was nice to be able to have those options which we got in the hot tub and enjoyed ourself. We had a nice time and it is what you pay for. so just depends what kind of person you are to make the best of things or not i mean it's cheap hotel they had alot to me for how much i paid

Room Tip: rooms on the far left def hear the train but it really aint to bad. Kings size room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Room was good staff excellent continental breakfast ok.
The smiling face priceless nothing like starting your day with a smile.
The front desk was great and Gina was very helpful. Also the staff member Jenn Was so nice
And always had a smile. The smile was a great pick me up in the morning
It was nice to have people that genuinely care.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were traveling south and decided to call it a night so pulled off 81 here. I usually don't have a problem with "old" but I definitely don't care for "dirty"! This hotel is definitely old and worn out but unfortunately it is also dirty! Our room key didn't work and they told us they have problems with the doors and the key card connections - it took the front desk clerk 3 try's with the master key! The toilet seat hadn't been wiped, the coffee maker was dust covered, there were cobwebs hanging from the ceilings, and the pillowcases had not been changed!! We called the front desk and they brought us clean pillowcases and they were very apologetic. The continental breakfast was equally sad and dirty - the coffee pot and juice container looked like they had never been washed, they only had sugary cereals, a baggie with old looking pancakes and orange juice that was a very strange color orange - needless to say we didn't eat here! Next time we will keep driving and try to do a little research beforehand!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Can not really add much new info to what has already been posted about amenities. However, this is the second time we've stayed here. I felt that we more than got our money's worth here. The facility and room was clean and well maintained. Yest, the mattresses were firm, but of course, some people prefer a firm mattress. The breakfast was basic, but remember, it's advertised as a continental breakfast-not a breakfast buffet. The location was safe, and I didn't hear any trains at 6 am. But, it's true. If you are accustomed to the fancy life, where you stay at a hotel that nickel and dimes you for everything, you won't like it here. The free WiFi was fast, and consistent. The free breakfast was filling. Didn't use the pool this time, but last time we were here I did, and it was too cool for me. But, I prefer bath water temp! Staff was also consistently friendly. Stay here, and use your savings to spend on gasoline. Oh, almost forgot. They have flat screen tv's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This was a very affordable & decent hotel. The rooms have doors to the outside & to the hallway. Rooms are large. Two queen beds & table with two chairs. There is a fridge & microwave in room. Pool is cold for an indoor pool, but nice. The hot tub is an older model, but nice. The pool is open 10-10pm. The pool area is nice, but needs more light. The staff were friendly. The breakfast is minor. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westernport, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel to stay at if you are on buisness, or are traveling for pleasure. They have a very nice indoor pool and jacuzi. The restaurant and bar on the property serve good food and drinks. The staff at the hotel are very friendly. They always smiled at me. The only downside was the doors to some of the rooms needed to be painted because of blackmarks, and their directory needs to be updated. I certainly wood continue to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carefree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Inn

Address: 94 McMillan Court, Martinsburg, WV 25401 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Martinsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Martinsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Carefree Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carefree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Martinsburg Hotel Martinsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carefree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.