We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&B experiences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Mountain Quest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mountain Quest
Save
You added The Inn at Mountain Quest to your Saves list
303 Mountain Quest Lane, Marlinton, WV   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best B&B experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wonderful fiancee bought a groupon for a two night stay at the Inn at Mountain Quest. At first, I wasn't sure what to expect, but as soon as we stepped into the Inn we were greeted with a smile. I cannot express how welcoming the owners and their family made us feel, they completely went out of our way to give us advice about restaurants in the area, and hikes around the Inn. We started off our stay with Alex giving us a tour of the library, game room, sauna and gym.

Farm: The best part of the whole experience was probably getting to know the horses and llamas. You can really tell that the owners truly love and care for the animals. I personally loved to see how each horse had such unique personalities.

Our room: We stayed in the Astronomy room, which had great views of the property, however, the decor wasn't as exciting as other rooms like the African Safari. The bathroom was spacious as was the room. Overall the room was great. Definitely would fit 4 people comfortably.

Food: The options around the Inn for food are limited, however, the Inn itself provides great buffet options. The breakfast consisted of sausage, bacon, eggs, pastries, cereal (cold and hot), toast, some sort of fruit option (we had grapes and strawberries), and pancake or waffles. In terms of the dinner buffet which was not included is only $22 per person. You really can't beat the price if you think about it. The options we had for the buffet was pork roast (which was my favorite), vegetarian stir fry, brown rice, steamed broccoli, steamed baby carrots, macaroni and cheese, sweet potato, chicken alfredo, pizza, garden salad. For dessert we had the option of flan and brownies. Outside of the buffets, the Inn has several of snack options available that a relatively good price, while tea and coffee are complimentary.

Amenities: I cannot express this enough when I say that you will really be unplugged from the world. There is absolutely no cell signal (which I loved), however, there is complimentary wifi for guests in the library. The library is simply amazing. You can literally find any book on any topic you would like. I love maps and found plenty of map books to look through while I was at the Inn. If reading isn't your thing, there is a large game room that includes a bar. There is a wall filled with DVDs which you can either take to your room or enjoy in the game room's 3D TV. Although we did not use the sauna or hot tub, the options are there, so if that interests you, definitely remember to bring along swimsuits. In terms of hikes, there are a several hiking routes in the property, however, keep in mind that finding some of the trails can be a little difficult.

Overall the experience at the Inn was amazing. My fiancee made a pack that in like 10 years we'd be back once we have kids (if we don't return before then). From a city gal, I think having the experience of unplugging from the world and simply enjoying nature is a necessity from time to time, especially for children.

Room Tip: Each room has a theme built in, which makes each room unique. We stayed in the astronomy room has g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
32
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I found this place using Groupon and we were extremely pleased. It is in a beautiful location in the WVA mountains. The drive in from the Baltimore area is a bit stressful (mountain passes with switchbacks and no cell service), but we made it in and out with no issues. The place is in a remote area, so come prepared. Bring snacks and get gas before the mountains (it is more expensive in the region around the B&B). The B&B is run by a family who believe in providing wonderful hospitality, clean rooms, and a comfortable atmosphere for all that stay there. They use the honor system for the bar and snack area, which is refreshing (bring cash). They truly open their home to you, encouraging you to make yourself at home. All of the amenities are available to use at any time, including the library, game room, bar, sauna, gym, snack area, and the grounds. The only place really off limits was their residence and the farm area, which is understandable and expected. The food was great - breakfast was made to order. We ate in the dining room with other guests and really enjoyed it! We took a guided tour of the farm which was really nice. They have amazing animals and you can tell they truly care about them. We are already planning our next trip back!

Room Tip: The Fantasy Room had a king bed and a sitting area. It was close enough to the conference center tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My fiancee and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. I wound up finding it on groupon and thought we would give it a shot. Lets just say we can't wait to go back! This is the BEST find ever! If you are looking for a quite place to escape reality this is it. The scenery is absolutely beautiful and yes, you are in the middle of nowhere. We came all the way from Philadelphia and it was worth the trip. The owners were so welcoming and really made us feel like this was our home. They made it very clear from the second we got there that the whole place was open to us, they even let use the kitchen! The food is to die for! I can't say enough great things about David Alex and Andy. The farm is beautiful and the animals are very well cared for and loved. Take the farm tour they offer, it's very cool! This was a trip to remember and we can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a different theme, when booking make sure to say what you are looking for. We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st albans, wv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My 2 kids (12 & 15 ) and I were looking for a place to stay near Snowshoe and found this amazing and awesome retreat.

Barbara the Inn Keeper, David and Alex the owners and Andy the chief were all so nice and helpful. Great breakfast included !

The kids were so surprised and pleased with our stay in the African Safari room !

We already have another trip planned for the spring.

You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: African Safari - the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Yes, it's out in the middle of nowhere-- about 17 miles from Snowshoe ski resort but it's PERFECT!

Rooms are so clean and beautiful-- you're free to roam the property, game room, library, kitchen and grounds without feeling "awkward". My 6-year LOVED the game room, huge array of DVDs, snacks and of course the pac-man arcade! My husband loved the "integrity" beer bar-- just keep your own tab and pay for your beer at the end of your stay. We did nothing except relax, tour the farm, go skiing, and simply enjoy being together for quality time. I do suggest you bring any snacks/food because the nearest little mart (which only carries basic items) is about a 20 minute drive. We loved this place!!!

Room Tip: Bring food and snacks-- the inn has some but not a huge selection. The dinner (we paid for) was AMA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our wonderful experience started before we arrived. When I called for availability, the innkeeper very patiently described each room available, noting the views and features of each and helping me pick the one I would like the best. The rooms have different bed configurations, and each has a separate theme- safari, nautical, outer space, etc. The owners, David and his wife Alex are very welcoming, and your arrival always starts with a tour of the inside of the property. This is a place to unplug and relax. The inn has wifi, but you will not have cell service, which was nice, it led to a lot more interactions with people. The rooms have tv, but they only play DVDs from the inn's 500+ collection. There is a wonderful family room with plenty of low tech entertainment- pool table, fooz ball, Arcade games, and satellite tv. The library is amazing, over 26,000 books. Breakfast is delish, Alex's culinary trained son is the chef. Kid's and adults will love the farm tour, where you can feed and interact with the horses, llamas, goats, cats, sheep, cattle. There's 6 miles of hiking trails on the property, and nearby the Greenbrier river trail offers 26 miles of biking and hiking. This is a wonderful and unique property, you will have a great time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wonderful, secluded inn. My husband and I travelled here from Pennsylvania with our 1 yr old. Was a lovely experience that we will never forget. The Inn is located about 20 minutes from marlinton and has beautiful mountainous vistas. We travelled in a snowstorm and arrived very late. The owner was still awake to greet us upon arrival. Very caring innkeepers who are passionate about their work and are very accommodating to your needs.
The room was cozy and clean. We stayed in the Rustic Retreat which allows pets. They even have a giant dog bed available if you bring your pet with you.
They had a pack and play set up for our baby, and many extra blankets and toys set out for him as well. Very thoughtful

Breakfast was wonderful. The other reviews had said that they speak alot about spirituality during breakfast. This isn't true. They are very intelligent people who are educated extensively in the areas of neuroscience and awareness, but in no way do they push it upon you.
This retreat can be all about you doing what you want, relaxing, enjoying the scenery, animals and surrounding activities on your own. No one will bother you.
If you are interested in their services, it is also available to you and we highly recommend it.
My husband and I did a meditation exercise called hemi-sync. Alex prepared us for the exercise, and provided us with an ipod download of a guided imagery exercise for us to do on our own in the room. We found it to be very relaxing and enjoyable. We left feeling rejuvinated and more in touch with our personal spirituality. I also did an exercise with Alex called Quick pulse which I highly recommend.

The farm tour was fantastic as well. They let you feed the animals and talk about each one individually. The baby loved it
Wonderful experience! Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Rustic Retreat great for pets. Has bunk beds and a Queen, so great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Mountain Quest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mountain Quest

Address: 303 Mountain Quest Lane, Marlinton, WV
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great choice for those looking to relax in a quiet country setting. More than just a Bed & Breakfast, our Inn is unique to the area with a modern wing of twelve individually themed guest rooms, each with a private bath. The luxury accommodations offer an array of amenities to guests. The 450 acre farm is centrally located in Pocahontas county and surrounded by National Forests and amazing local attractions. An overnight stay includes a heartycountry breakfast either served or tempting buffet.Mountain Quest also welcomes conferences, groups, retreats,family reunions, weddings and special occasions both large and small. • Community room featuring a bar, large screen TV, billiard table and fireplace • Four story, glass-domed Observation tower • Jacuzzi & Sauna • 23,000 volume Library • Labyrinth • Hiking trails • Farm tour - "Meet & Greet the Animals" horses, llamas, goats and longhorn cattle ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Mountain Quest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.