We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such Serenity...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Mountain Quest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mountain Quest
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Mountain Quest to your Saves list
303 Mountain Quest Lane, Marlinton, WV   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Beckley
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Such Serenity...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at Mountain Quest for the first time. I had family in for a funeral and this was the closest place to the homestead which is also in Frost. When I arrived I could not believe the setting. I got checked in and immediately fell in love with my room (The Rustic Retreat). I looked around a little and fell in love. After everyone returned we set outside with some friends and talked until well after Lights Out and no one seemed to care. Had a great nights sleep (given the circumstances) and what I woke up to in the morning I cannot put into words. I am very familiar with Pocahontas County and spend a lot of time there...but the serenity and solitude that awaited me in the morning is indescribable. My cousin and I took a walk early that morning, watched the deer, birds, and the fog slowly lift above the mountain as the sun came over the hill. What a way to clear your mind.
This was a perfect place to remove yourself from the hectic pace of normal life. Not being bothered by the cell phone ringing and having a hundred emails screaming at you daily was worth the trip if nothing else was (but it was!!). Having the opportunity to reconnect with nature and the gifts that God has given us was wonderful.
I do plan on going back and staying for a long weekend. While I didn't have the opportunity to participate in any activities on the farm this trip, I do plan to on the next trip and look forward to getting involved.
I cannot recommend this Inn enough. Especially if you are looking for a place to disconnect, unwind, and relax.

Room Tip: The rooms all have different bed configurations in them, so call and ask about them. There is someth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
28
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen! The property owners were very sweet and informative and very helpful as well! They went above and beyond! The rooms were fantastic, very clean. Love the idea of themed rooms! Spectacular views all around! We had an amazing time! Definately worth every penny! What a "gem" Mountain Quest truly is! We hope to return soon! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It is rare to find a B&B where you are welcome with kids. But the Inn at Mountain Quest could not have been more welcoming to our family with our 5 and 3 year old boys in tow. The location is wonderful. Though located in the National Radio Quiet Zone, which does not allow for cell coverage, we found this to be a positive. More conversation and less staring at screens.

Of course a B&B is only as good as its hosts, and Alex and David are terrific. Alex met us upon arrival and gave us a personal tour of the grounds, including the massive library, game room and dining room. In the morning, David had our kids help with morning farm chores. Their story is inspiring and convinced me to buy one of their published books to read at home.

Pros:
Great for families with kids. There was plenty to keep our little ones occupied.
Great hosts that will really invite conversation and discussion.
The accommodations were all of the highest caliber.
The library. As other reviews have stated, it is better than most small town libraries.

Cons:
No cell service, if this is vitally important to you. Personally I enjoyed not having it (and I use my smartphone a LOT)

Room Tip: Don't miss the morning farm chores and tour with David and Alex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were looking for some place special for our 45th anniversary and we certainly found it. The surroundings were beautiful. Our room was lovely, spacious, and very clean. The food was delicious. Our hosts were welcoming and very friendly. We even had some special time with Alex to relax and open our minds. We will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: The playhouse is a beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just echoing the previous excellent reviews... this place is wonderful! From the setting, to the keepers and managers of the inn, to the wonderful food, to the beautiful animals... everything was amazing! We stayed two nights as a family of five, and my daughters are already asking when we can go back to Mountain Quest and see the horses.

I am always hesitant to take my children to "inn" and "bed & breakfast" type places because the environment is not typically suited for children and/or large families, but I was assured that was not the case for the Inn at Mountain Quest. And boy were they right... the children (ages 10, 6, and 2) loved the place, and were made to feel right at home! There was plenty for the children to do, and not get in the way of (or bother) the other guests (couples/non-families) that were also staying in the inn.

We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

They have a sign that says "Come in Stangers and leave friends," and we certainly did. Alex, David and Andy have created a wonderful sanctuary where one can go to clear your head and lift your spirit. The staff of Mountain Quest went above and beyond. (We even had a special moment with Alex.) *Note to travelers: no cell service in nearly all of Pocahantas county and internet is not consistant. This is a place to unplug!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We cannot begin to express our love for Mountain Quest. Our first stay occurred earlier this week - and we are already planning our next trip. Alex and David are wonderful hosts. From the moment we arrived we felt at home - we had not eaten all day due to our hectic schedule - so the first thing that happened after we checked in was an impromptu dinner offer of "leftovers." Not just any leftovers though - these were tasty items of distinction made by Chef Andrew (son of Alex) that Alex pulled from the fridge. We filled our tummies and chatted with our hosts. We had fun in the library (amazing! Some trivia - this library is part of the WV library system) and played games in the game room that had EVERYTHING from games to movies, to a small bar with beverages. Everything is on the honor system -- there are items of convenience at the inn that have small fees or are just plain complimentary.

We then retreated to our room. We stayed in the Scholar's Corner room -- which was tastefully appointed with scholarly-themed items. The highlight of the room though was the amazing king-sized bed. It was a bit of heaven. So comfy - we both agreed that it was the best night of sleep we had all week after being on the road throughout the state of WV. We were truly a part of nature that night - listening to the outdoor concert of nighttime creatures as they coaxed us into our slumber-like state.

Morning arrived with a hot and hearty delicious breakfast, followed by a fun and educational tour of the farm. We were so lucky to be able to participate in the morning farm chores with Alex and David. They have a wonderful menagerie of animals -- horses, mini-horses, llamas, goats, a sheep, and cats -- that all lovingly co-exist together and seem to just love living at Mountain Quest as well.

We checked out and bid farewell to our new friends. We chatted all the way to our next desitination about our experience at Mountain Quest. Alex, David, and staff are class acts. They are intelligent, warm and caring folks -- that you just don't find everywhere.

Whatever you do -- make it a point to get to Frost, WV sometime -- go visit the Green Bank Telescope/NRAO Center and Snowshoe -- and then retire for a peaceful evening of solitude at Mountain Quest. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We peeked into several of the rooms --- they all look great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Mountain Quest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mountain Quest

Address: 303 Mountain Quest Lane, Marlinton, WV
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great choice for those looking to relax in a quiet country setting. More than just a Bed & Breakfast, our Inn is unique to the area with a modern wing of twelve individually themed guest rooms, each with a private bath. The luxury accommodations offer an array of amenities to guests. The 450 acre farm is centrally located in Pocahontas county and surrounded by National Forests and amazing local attractions. An overnight stay includes a heartycountry breakfast either served or tempting buffet.Mountain Quest also welcomes conferences, groups, retreats,family reunions, weddings and special occasions both large and small. • Community room featuring a bar, large screen TV, billiard table and fireplace • Four story, glass-domed Observation tower • Jacuzzi & Sauna • 23,000 volume Library • Labyrinth • Hiking trails • Farm tour - "Meet & Greet the Animals" horses, llamas, goats and longhorn cattle ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Mountain Quest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.